We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornerstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and quite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed 1 night. We found it very nice and clean and well maintained. About 1 block off the main street, which made it quite. Prices seemed ok, we got into town a little late and most of the rooms were full, so we stayed in what is referred to the cottage. It had a jacuzzi, large tv, fireplace and balcony. They served delicious deserts and snacks in the evening. Breakfast had microwaved bacon and eggs and what seemed like homemade pastries. Over all our experience was very good and if we return to Nashville we will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    46
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
61
245
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the cottage suites. The location was wonderful for shopping and restaurants (within walking distance) and a short drive to the Brown County State Park. The rooms were top-notch and comfortable. The bathroom had a huge whirlpool tub and a separate shower, there was a small wet bar area with microwave and mini fridge, and the room had a large flat screen TV and a gas fireplace. I especially liked the screened deck area with chairs for two people. The breakfast was very good and the snacks and desserts were great. The owner and all of the employees were very friendly and helpful. I hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RatherBeDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Very nice. The place was really centrally located, pretty swanky rooms. Breakfast was yummy, and all the extra snacks and desserts were pretty awesome. Really enjoyed our stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our party consisted of 6 adults and 1 child. We had 3 upper rooms on a Friday and Saturday night. We loved everything about the Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was outstanding and the location was right in town, so we could walk to the shops. The only drawback was the cold weather and Mother Nature just didn't behave that weekend. The staff were all very friendly and did everything to help make our trip one to remember. We had the 3 men with us, so the food served all day really made them happy!!! I will definitely go back to Cornerstone, in fact, we have told another couple about it and we plan to take them this summer. Don't be afraid to book your room here, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosedale_INLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Wow, where do I start. We picked this property after reviewing other properties and comments from others on this forum. In a few short words, don't hesitate to stay here.
We stayed in one of the cottages behind the main inn. It was one of the top places we have stayed anywhere. Everything was first class. It's to bad they don't have pictures of the cottages because they are definitely 5 star. We had a double bed and a murphy bed. Both were very comfortable. My wife said we had 600 count sheets and large fluffy towls. Large flat screen TV. Jacozy tub in a bath room that was extremely large. Small kitchen with frig and microwave. Small screened porch. The only complaint we had was there was no easy chair to set in. The murphy bed was to high and deep to sit in comfortably. The place was absolutely spotless! Very quiet. Nice lawn out back. Great location one-half block from all the stores. We checked in early so the room was not clean yet. They suggested we go have lunch and offered to call us when the room was ready.... and they did.(How's that for service in this day and age) The people were all very friendly and helpfull (even the girl who worked in the breakfast area and cleaning lady) The room they serve snacks and breakfast in is downstairs but while others thought it was not a very pleasent environment we thought it was fine. The snacks were out of this world. They change every day. The breakfast was great with a lot of variety. I couldn't get logged on to the internet in my room and called the front dest. They offered to have the owner come back to the Inn to help me. As I said earlier. this is one of the top five places we have ever stayed and we have stayed at a lot of top rated resorts and inns. The stores were great and the Brown County State park is beautiful. The food was average at the restraunts in town. The only real negative was the little trolley tour that drives around town. They charge $5.00 per person and are basically an infommercial about the shops. Very little discussion about the history of Nashville. The bottom line is don't hestitate to stay here. It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

My review is on the morning buffet breakfast. With the evening treats and the breakfast as a focal point of the hotel; my wife and I were excited about the pending breakfast as we retired for the night. We got up and proceeded to the basement eating area. Once there we found one serving pan of hot eggs mixed with a number of fixings. Everything else was what one would find any Holiday Inn Express and I started to say Comfort Suite but they have a much better breakfast. I traveled with an insurance company for 1.5 years and stayed in hotels every week with all of them offering a breakfast. I would consider the Cornerstone not even par with them. We were very disappointed. We were expecting things such as bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, just as a start when it is advertised as a "Buffet". This was extremely poor. I paid $200 for one night and expected a great breakfast not what every other regular hotel/motel offers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxinvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

When my 3 IU dorm friends and I looked for a place to share the celebration of our 40th year of friendship, we searched the web for places that would let us have comfortable surroundings, proximity to interesting shopping and places to eat, and the opportunity to leave the car parked for the entire weekend. Oh - and if it promised afternoon treats (in addition to breakfast), that's always a plus. We chose the Cornerstone Inn in Nashville, and all four of us are positively thrilled with the result.

We arrived a little before 3, but we were able to check into our 2 rooms right away. The staff at the Cornerstone are so warm and helpful. After we dropped our belongings in our lovely and clean rooms, we sneaked downstairs for our first (of many) raids on the "goodies" served from 3-10 every day. Oh my gosh - it was like visiting my grandmother's kitchen. Some sort of fabulous chocolate concoction nearly brought tears of joy. And one of my friends who has lived in and traveled throughout Europe swore those scones were the best she'd ever had.

After our sugar high, we headed out to start exploring Nashville's bountiful shops and galleries. The Cornerstone is in a perfect location - within 2 blocks of all the stores and good places to eat.

If you've never been to Nashville, you're in for a real treat. I remember that it had lots of great crafts shops, when I went to IU. But there are many more now. And we loved being able to visit the galleries (most host work from a collective of local artists) and talk to the painters and crafters who made what we bought. Honestly, it will take you 3 days to explore all of the shops and galleries. Just when you think you've finished, you spot another little alley with - yep - more great possibilities. And you're close enough to the Cornerstone so you can run back there and deposit your purchases...then head back for more.

During the weekend, we ate at The Artist Colony (right across the street), the Daily Grind (generous sandwiches and a really great owner who is able to tease the customers even while he keeps things moving), and Big Woods Microbrewery (where we watched the IU football game with like-minded people). I recommend the artichoke and spinach pizza at Big Woods and the wheat beer. Really good! And Jeff and "Coach" made us feel like we were at Cheers.

And - of course - the fabulous breakfasts at the Cornerstone...the offerings are different each day, but you can count on something with eggs, several pastry and muffin options, fresh fruit, and then all the other breakfast foods you could possibly want - cereals, toast, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea. We found that getting down to breakfast at 8:30 put us just ahead of the 9:00 crowd. Oh - and the crowd our weekend was a great mixture of couples about our age, a couple of families with teenage children, and at least a couple of other groups of women like us. Everyone was friendly and fun.

If you go to Nashville, check out their frequent festivals. During our weekend, one of the churches held a festival and flea market in the downtown center area. We really enjoyed picking through the treasures and seeing the friendly local crowd.

At the end of our stay, all four of us agreed the Cornerstone will be our meeting place again soon. I felt as if the entire weekend were a big dose of comfort food, both literally and figuratively. We highly, highly recommend the Cornerstone Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arizonacandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#1 of 6 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#4 of 6 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.0 mi away
Artists Colony Inn
Artists Colony Inn
#8 of 25 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rawhide Ranch
Rawhide Ranch
#1 of 7 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Inn

Property: Cornerstone Inn
Address: 54 E Franklin St, PO Box 1765, Nashville, IN 47448-7004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Inn is tucked among the inspiring hills of beautiful Brown County - Indiana's premier getaway destination. Located in the heart of downtown Nashville, Cornerstone Inn is just a few steps from Nashville's treasured shopping and dining experiences, galleries and entertainment. Cornerstone Inn is also just two miles from renowned Brown County State Park, 16 miles east of Indiana University Bloomington, 16 miles west of I65 at Columbus, and 50 miles south of Indianapolis. Offering an outstanding collection of 38 different guest accommodation options, Cornerstone Inn is perfect for couples, girlfriend getaways, reunions, corporate, church and crafting retreats. Whether your purpose is pleasure or business, you will discover a balanced atmosphere for restorative relaxation, recreation and clear thinking. You'll head back to your world recharged, refreshed, and resolved to return to the Hills of Brown and Cornerstone Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cornerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing