We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We had our 25th wedding anniversary getaway at The Abbey Inn, we certainly were not expecting the dated shabbiness of the facility-It served the purpose-private,with hot tub but future trips to Nasville IN we will be staying somewhere more up to date -

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jenmom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the "Forget-Me-Not" room the night of May 16, 2008. We had a wonderful time! The outside of the hotel is rather worn down but the inside of our room was beautifully decorated. You could see the age in the room but the decor hid it very well. The carpet appeared to be updated and the room was very clean. We arrived after hours and a note was posted in the entrance with instructions on how to get to our room. They had a notebook on the coffee table to leave a message to other guests, which I thought was a nice touch. This room is a great place to "reconnect" with your loved one! We dined the night we arrived at Harvest Moon Pizzeria in Nashville, Fabulous pizza!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I recently stayed at the Abbey Inn for our 5 year anniversary. We have stayed at the Abbey Inn in the past and truly enjoy each and every stay. We have"sampled" a few of the rooms and most recently stayed in the Peony. All of the rooms are styled differently, so if you have the opportunity you should try a few. The room is very large in comparison to other hotel rooms we have stayed in. There is a canopy bed, love seat, patio, gas fireplace and very large hottub. It all makes for a very memorable time with your husband. The Inn is very quiet, which is one of the main reasons we always return. The staff checks you in and then leaves you alone. I also would love to recommend the Salt creek golf course for a great dinner. The staff at the Abbey Inn recommend this for dinner and it was really good. While there is not a lot to do in February in Brown County, having a hottub sure makes up for it. We plan on coming back next year and can't wait to try a new room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank izzybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Rock on Abbey Inn, Rock on! Had an awesome time chillin with my girl. Told all my roomies about your place, so expect more bookings soon. Loved the rocking hottub. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookfieldct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

My now husband and I got married and stayed at the Abbey Inn. The entire process was hassle free, totally what we were looking for. The staff was great, and the grounds were beautiful in the fall. We stayed in the Honeysuckle suite. The room was enormous. It had a four person hottub which is great to spend time in. There is a loveseat looking out on the patio and grounds. The best part was the total privacy. We were never bothered by staff the entire stay. If you need tons of pampering from staff this is not your place. If you want peace and quiet you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sylvanhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Swetheart Cabin on January 9th and had booked to stay the 10th as well but couldn't because there was no power. When we checked in the carpet in the living room was saturated from the closet by the bathroom out from the wall about 8 feet and the rug in the bathroom was saturated as well. Not wet. Saturated. We called to let them know that we found it that way and were asked if there was water still leaking from wherever it was coming from and we said we didn't know and were just told that if it got worse to call again. It didn't seem to get worse by the next day but it definitely smelled much worse as standing water on carpet tends to. I'm sure this was nothing new to the inn since there was no reaction to what seemed like a pretty big problem us. There were empty Glade plug-ins that I suppose were suppose to combat the smell but I don't think there's a product on the market that can cover up soaking we mildew carpet.

The bed deserves a review all its own. It is miserable. Almost all the entries in the journal that past guests can write in mentioned how uncomfortable it is. I don't understand why a place that caters to couples getaways and charges around $200 a night can't invest in a decent mattress. Even if everything else had been perfect we would never stay there again just because the mattress was so miserable.

The grand finale a bad things was the second night at about 8:00 or so the power went out, not just at the cabin but at the main inn across the street as well. It was completely black. We called and got a voicemail box and left a message that there was no power and what were we supposed to do. We have never heard back from that call or another call we made that week, also leaving a message about what had happened. That night we waited a little over an hour, which looking back on it I don't even know why we waited that long since customer service is obviously of no importance at this place. A little after 9:00 we moved our car so we could shine our headlights into the cabin to see to pack our stuff up and drove home because there was no power and January in Indiana isn't known for it's warm nights and there was no way we could have stayed even if we wanted to try and tough it out.

Overall this was just a giant disappointment. The web site for this place accurately describes the place. It isn't a five star luxury kind of inn and we weren't expecting that. What we were expecting was some place that wasn't soaking wet and without power and even with those things against it I would never have imagined in a million years that we wouldn't get so much as a return call, much less any kind of refund, to at least apologize for the conditions and the fact that we had no choice but to drive home a night early. I don't know what we would have done if we lived more than the hour and half drive away. Be warned if you stay here and something goes wrong no one cares and there are no remedies while you're still there except driving home late at night.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

My boyfriend just took me to stay at the Abbey Inn for our anniversary. We stayed in the Tulip room upstairs. I loved the decor and the mattress was so soft and comfy. The Inn is very quite and private, perfect for a getaway. They have a journal in the room that guest can write notes in, it's full of love notes to each other and how great their stay at the abbey was.. it is so sweet to read.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dulceking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.2 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
0.3 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 24 in Nashville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: $171 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing