We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second Stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. We had the Dogwood room this time. I really liked how the hot tub was separate from the bedroom but still completely open. The colors are more modern. It has a nice and relaxing feel to it, like a spa (not your average bed and breakfast feel!)
A couple of downsides, it is supposed to be a couples only place but my husband and I heard 2 small children running up and down the hall before a wedding. We left home to get away from that sound! Also, the bed is incredibly hard and lumpy. We didn't go there to sleep, per se, but it would have been nice to actually have a soft, comfortable bed. Lastly, our door was terribly hard to open and close. I have not yet contacted management to make sure they are aware of the problem, but it was a serious pain in the butt and a potential fire hazard.
We will almost certainly be going back again! It is wonderful to be in amongst the woods and just a couple miles from town! Although with their prices so high, we might wait until off season to save a few dollars!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole4790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    10
    13
    17
See reviews for
3
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Abbey Inn advertises itself as a peaceful get away for couples or as a wedding destination. It was definitely peaceful and secluded but old. We stayed in the honeysuckle suite. My biggest compaint was that the room was freezing cold in the beginning of June! I had to turn on the fireplace to get heat into the room and there were no individual controls for the room (all we could do was the close the vents).The carpet was old and the grounds need maintenance. I agree it was overpriced for the amenities. The patio was advertised as offering some privacy but there was none since it was a shared patio. The lake was not all that romantic. I found the bed was comfortable but the couch was lumpy and the bathroom shower leaked water on the floor with the doors completely closed. Location is good - far enough away from the hubbub of Brown County but close enought to get to. And don't buy into the buffet brunch at Artist Colony Inn - terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cincybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Anderson, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for our 10th Anniversary because I read that it was a nice and quiet place, which it was. Good location. Very clean room. Hot tub was nice and clean. A little bit overpriced I think. The bed was very uncomfortable. My wife and I both only slept a few hours both nights we were there. She slept in a chair the second night. For $200 a night, you should have a comfortable bed. Especially when you take into consideration why most people are there. Wink Wink. The bed was so bad, I doubt I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgraves310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I took my husband on a surprise Birthday Night to the Abbey-Inn and we had a wonderful time. Check in was very simple. We stayed in the Peach Blossom suite. It is a nice suite in the back of the property with a beautiful view of the Gazebo and Brown County Park. The room is a great size with a King bed, sound machine, Ipod docking clock station, flat screen, DVD and an electric fireplace. The bathroom was very spacious with a shower and the hot tub. We had no problems with chlorine smells or loud noises coming from the hot tub (as mentioned in previous posts.) I would agree the sheets could be updated as felt a little worn with some pilling. The room did get cold at night and since there is no room thermostat it was a little uncomfortable-until we figured out to put the electric fireplace on to throw some heat. The common area did not have extra towels, movies or coffee as listed per their website but I was able to get an extra towel easily before the clerk left for the evening. We added the breakfast buffet for 2 at the Artist Colony when we booked online and that was fabulous-especially for $4/ person which is a steal!! Overall I would say we thoroughly enjoyed our outing and will definitely be back again in the future. The other room many have recommended is the Dogwood Suite so we may try that.

Room Tip: Peach Blossom Room is in the back of the property, faces the woods, nice and secluded. Breakfast Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRZgirlOHboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Abbey in as a quick get away after Christmas. We booked with the 'get a second night free' promotion for week days in the winter. The inn was wonderful, the staff was helpful as well. We stayed in the Ivy Solarium Suite. Aside from the room being nice we also liked that the hot tub was in a separate room, which kind of drained out the noise of it. This was our first visit to Brown County and we enjoyed it. We did stay in the middle of winter including New Years Day, so a lot of Nashville was closed so we could not do too much there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Abbey Inn to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We definitely would stay here again. It was so close to Brown County Forest and were able to enjoy hiking. We drove to Columbus and ate at Bistro 310. It was a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgray143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Enjoyed the quite clean room, loved the hot tub in the room. Close to Nashville, but plan on driving. Not close enough to walk. Did Zip lining at a local ranch. that was a lot of fun. The Hot tub did run 24/7 but it was a low steady sound. It did not keep us awake at all

Room Tip: Room 12 backed up to the woods, nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saraandsteve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.9 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
336 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
445 reviews
3.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.8 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing