We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown County Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brown County Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

After reading some of these reviews, I was a bit nervous about our reservation at the Brown County Inn. Just goes to show that it is all about perspective and expectations.

If you're looking for a Hilton or Hyatt, you will be disappointed. This is an older hotel -- the furniture is a little worn, and the decor is a little dated. But truly, these are the only downsides. This is a clean, comfortable, affordable, and pleasant place to stay.

We paid $99 for a friday night stay in a non-smoking room with a king-sized bed. Contrary to other reports, there were no signs of previous smokers, no foul odors or other cleanliness issues. The linens were fine -- not luxurious, but not paper thin or stiff, either. The shower had decent pressure and we had no problems with temperature.

The Inn is about two blocks south of the southern most shops in downtown Nashville. I've been fooled by hotels claiming a "short walk to ____" before, but this was maybe a 100 yard walk. With a two-year-old in tow, it was nice to know that we could get back to the room very quickly if necessary during the day.

During our stay, we checked out the indoor pool, which was was clean, warm, and plenty large enough. There were three or four other families in the pool at the time, but we barely noticed. We also saw that the property has a small putt-putt course and playground, but it was a bit too cold for us to try it out.

We also ate at the Harvest Room for dinner and breakfast. It wasn't the greatest meal I've ever had, but it was tasty enough, and an easy alternative to fighting a restaurant crowd downtown. If you do eat here, I would definitely recommend the fried biscuits and apple butter.

All told, I would certainly stay here again. I would recommend this place for families with children. For us, we couldn't beat the location, the kid-friendly amenities, and the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    91
    53
    45
    24
See reviews for
91
117
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

My wife and I and our twin daughters (11) had a nice two day stay at the Brown County Inn for a cheap little spring break getaway. The hotel is a little worn,but has some nice old family features (shuffle board, mini-golf, swings) and a large indoor pool that make it nice for tweeners who like to stay active.

It very close to downtown Nashville for shopping at the country-type stores and to Brown County State Park. The state park has some great mountain bike trails and some good hikes in the hilly park. The views are also great.

The hotel has the downhome cooking that has been described here before. The prices are a little high, but that seems typical for hotel restaurants. The beds were good and the service was adequate. It wasn't too crowded during late March. That made it nice.

It was a good getaway for us. I'm sure it would be a little crazy and more expensive than the peak leaf season or during the summer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcbindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

This was our first stay @ BC INN. We were looking for something to do in the area for New Years. The BC Inn had a package deal so we decided to try it. The package included 1 night stay (New Years Eve), Prime Rib Buffet, Bottle of Bubbly, a New Years eve Party with Live entertainment, and a breakfast Buffet on the 1st. The check-in was great with detailed instructions for the events. The staff went above the call to ensure we had a great time. The band was very good. There was ample space for dancing. The only annoyance was the rude smokers scatter throughout. The wait staff was very efficient and quick. The Buffets were excellent.
We were also celebrating our anniversary, and chose to stay 2 additional nights. Yes the Inn is a little worn and rustic. The beds were very good, but the furniture was in poor repair and very worn. Most of the rooms are non-smoking, however it was evident that this wasn't enforced. Again smokers have no respect for those that don't. The housekeeping was so-so. Mostly quick cleaning. The vents in the bathroom were very dirty, Showers were clean and functioned great. The pool was good and maintained well. It was very well decorated for the holidays. We have already invited friends to go next year for the events. With a little work this could be a five star establishment.

  • Liked — Staff and events
  • Disliked — Furniture (worn, broken)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trekster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

I spent two nights here as part of a girlfriends getaway. Staff was friendly and helpful. They honored our request for two adjoining rooms on the first floor. The rooms were clean but worn. Furniture was mismatched in one room; mattresses were a bit saggy; decor is dated. Bathrooms were clean and have new fixtures in stark contrast to fairly worn linoleum floors. Would not recommend to anyone who is particular about the look of surroundings. Would recommend to those who are willing to overlook some obvious cosmetic blemishes and enjoy the place in spite of them. Restaurant is typical of the area -- down-home comfort with food to match: high calorie, high carb and high cholesterol. Delicious if you enjoy old-fashioned Southern Hoosier cooking; probably would not be appreciated if you are more health-conscioius.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exploresbyterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Because we were the hosts for our annual Thanksgiving family reunion, we were resposible for reserving the location for our get-together and dinner for 18 people in all age groups. The negative reviews worried me, but we needed to keep the event on a modest budget, so we decided to stay at the Brown County Inn.
Yes, the hotel is old and needs refurbishment and updating, especially the old, worn carpeting. However, our bathroom was very clean and the maid service was excellent. The furniture was old, dated and worn, but the mattesses were good. Everyone working at the hotel was very helpful, friendly and positive. The Thanksgiving buffet was well prepared and had a good variety of items at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was good, plentiful and worth the price. The front desk personnell were very helpful and informative. The pool was large, warm, and very clean. The hotel deserved a prize for it's wonderful outdoor Christmas lighting. A big plus is that we did not have to fight for a parking space, as is the case with two of the downtown hotels and that we could walk to the village and nearby stores, avoiding the dowtown parking fees. I felt very safe in this hotel. Everyone in our multi-generation group agreed that this was a very good choice for this event and would choose to stay there again.

  • Liked — Good food. Big, clean, warm pool.
  • Disliked — Shabby furniture, dated decor.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

My fiance and I reserved our one night stay for $149, which included dinner and breakfast voucher, and tickets at a theatre down the road. the bar was good, restaurant was ok and the location was ideal. the main strip of shopping was within walking distance. However, the rooms were so creepy, I wanted to check out immediatly, but we were tired and decided to stay anyways. the carpets are dark red, the furniature is out of date and the walls are dark wood paneling and every room has pictures of creepy kids right above the beds. we tried to spend as little time in the room as possible. I felt like I was in the movie "the shining". If you visit Brown County, check out some of the cute Inn's in town. they might be a little more pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin-mama87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nashville hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

We looked on the web site and booked it because it looked nice. All hotels should meet minimum standards. This one did not and we refused to stay once we saw the facilities and the room. The room was damp,dirty,and unkept. We saw silverfish and that's when we called the after hours number and refused to stay. Be careful.

  • Liked — Getting away from it.
  • Disliked — The dirt, the smell, the insects, the dampness, the service.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pittsburghpaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rawhide Ranch
Rawhide Ranch
#1 of 7 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown County Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown County Inn

Property: Brown County Inn
Address: 51 State Road 46 E, P.O. BOX 128, Nashville, IN 47448-7014
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown County Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Brown County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown County Hotel Nashville
Brown County Nashville
Brown County Inn Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing