We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad don't go but please read”
Review of Brown County Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brown County Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we have been coming here for many years, we got married here, it hurts us to see bci falling apart, the cleaness, the structure is coming apart, we were here in aug, 2012 us and our grandson pick up alot of trash outdoors, one day we were on the deck and did not hear the knock on the door the housekeeping came on in without our permission, in the past years if we forgot to put the maid sign out door knob, the front desk would call to see if we needed anything, i believe it is against the law to go in a room without permission, i could have been in the shower and did not hear the knock, i have always loved brown county inn and i have alot of respect for so many people there through all the years there has been so much caring, making sure every thing is good, helping with any problems, i hope what ever has gone wrong will get fixed, i wish everyone that works at brown county well, my heart hurts from what has happened

Room Tip: choose room 202 or 204 the view is beautiful ,the service was great in the lounge or restaurant but...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Brown County Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed there last fall, for two night and the noise above was horrible, that kept us up most of the night and it seemed no one really cared. The rooms are what they are old and not updated. The staff was courteous and food at the restaraund and the tavern were the best part of the stay which includes not being in the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After reading some of the reviews below about the musty smell in the rooms and all I almost wished I had canceled my reservation. But we all know it is tough reserving any room at this time of year I have stayed there many times in the past as it is my favorite place. Two main reasons the location to all the shops and I love their swimming pool! It is one of the best! It is heated and feels really good to take a morning swim in. Saturday my girlfriend and I had the entire olympic size pool to ourselves! I did not smell any musty smell anywhere in the hotel. I suppose if I looked hard enough I could have found something wrong. In all we totally enjoyed ourselves and had a very nice breakfast there following our swim. I would reccommend to my friends and family to stay a nite or two!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the BRI on an impromptu visit to Nashville. It was not a good experince! The bathroom floors had lots of hair on them, clearly they had not been cleaned from previous guest. The sound from the room above was so loud it kept me awake all night and morning, no sound proofing between the floors. The rooms are very dated and grimy, the bedding didn't stay on the bed, the box springs were exposed and the pillows were flat. The phone in the room had a static problem so couldn't use it to call out when cell phone went dead, the front desk said would just have to come to front desk if needed to use a phone. It just didn't seem worth the price! Needs alot of TLC!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessiejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I were going to Nashville to watch a show at the Palace Theater, and thought a dinner would be nice before. We looked at some other places before settling on the BCI, and it was not to bad. My wife ordered the fried chicken dinner and I ordered the roast pork dinner and they were both good. Both dinners came with salad, soup, and dinner roll basket. The salad was okay, not many choices to add to it, the soup was a Taco soup and the rolls were store bought, but not bad.

My wife said the chicken was better than other places she had been to and the roast of pork was not bad, came with a dipping juice. The baked potato was good, and the table water had a good taste, no after taste.

Both meals were $15.00 each and the waitress was super nice even for a busy night they had, we were seated quickly, order taken quickly and severed quickly. I wish we had more time for desert but we had a show to catch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackYardDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were told the restaurant at the inn had excellent food. We must have ordered the wrong thing, but the server recommended the pork loin. The pork was very very dry and tough to chew, the baked potato was not baked long enough, the salad bar was the best part of the meal. The carpet could really use a shampoo, it's absolutely filthy and the wall behind the cash register is stained and grimy. I can appreciate quaint but as we sat there I started to wonder if the dining room is so dirty what does that kitchen look like?

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank okbyila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and found it rustic and quaint so I wanted to do something special for my best friend who was spending a few days back in the Midwest that she is missing so much. I thought it would be great to stay here and be close to all the boutique shopping in Nashville. I was so embarassed by the conditon of the hotel. Upon entering the musty smell will knock you over. We had several hallways to walk down and the carpet was stained and the hallways also smelled very musty and mildewy. The furniture in the room was scuffed and needs to be replaced. The chairs on the patio were filthy. The room and bathroom overall was clean, which surprised me after seeing the lobby and the hallways. Was hurried out of the restaurant because they wanted to shut down for the evening at 8 PM. Was sure sad to see such a great place go to pot, but I won't be returning or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkmingomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
1.0 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
77 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rawhide Ranch
Rawhide Ranch
#1 of 8 in Nashville
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown County Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown County Inn

Address: 51 State Road 46 E, P.O. BOX 128, Nashville, IN 47448-7014
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: $99 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown County Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Brown County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown County Hotel Nashville
Brown County Nashville
Brown County Inn Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing