We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wow beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great place to take kids, lodge has a pool with slides, and small lazy river. Cabins looked cozy, there are about 4 or 5 cabins in each section which would be great for a family reunion. There are family cabins and single, which they call rustic, but are also modern, with housekeeping. The views in the fall are absolutely beautiful, lots of trails, mountain bike trails. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: check out the patio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    150
    80
    36
    29
See reviews for
221
83
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We asked the front desk clerk at check in to charge the room to another credit card. The front desk clerk ignored our request, said she would charge the incidentals to the other credit card, etc. Then she double charged the original card. Then she refused to sell us an upgrade to a larger cabin (we were in "rustic")--although we offered to pay the rate difference. She said they did not offer a AAA rate (when they did). Finally, she also claimed they were sold out (when they were not). In short, no excuse for such poor service.

The rustic cabins are rustic but ok.

2 night minimum on weekends.

Also, they do not use your credit card to HOLD the reservation. They charge it for the stay.

So beware.

Close to Columbus and Nashville so they have competition.
Plenty of hotels there.

On the plus side, free use of water park, nice fireplaces outside and inside, and the breakfast buffet was ok (but nothing special--the pancakes needed a steak knife).

Room Tip: Get a room near the forest. Arrive on a Sunday or week night to avoid the 2 night minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyMyers, Manager at Abe Martin Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear “Beware of room charge errors”

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing, could you please contact me toll free at (877) 265-6343, so as I can get more information on your stay to rectify the problem for out future guest.
Thank you,
Missy Myers, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friend and I usually take a trip to Nashville several times a year and stay in town. However this time we decided to try the lodge because we wanted to go hiking and ride horseback. What a surprise! The lodge was lovely, rustic, and quite close to town, horse stables, hiking trails, and a delicious breakfast buffet. What more could you want? The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean-a little dated but nice. The hiking trails were great. The wild flowers were blooming and beautiful fall folage was beginning to show the true colors of fall. After hiking we took a trip to town to shop and then back to get ready fior dinner. We will certainly make reservations again as this was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk outside and go hiking, view the beauty of the park, walk down the corrider to the dining hall, and drive less than a mile and a half to town to shop. Try this, you will agree!

Room Tip: The indoor water park was fabulous! We wish our kids were small again so we could have had them expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 5Robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton,Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had to change our vacation plans so we opted for South Central Indiana, Brown County State Park to be exact. The family cabin was wonderful! The view was spectacular and being able to go out on the deck with your morning coffee and enjoy the birds and critters was great! When the park says their cabins are "handicapped accessible" they mean it. The bathroom had a roll in shower, the only problem was the door to the bathroom was too small for an extra large wheelchair, but we made do. The time my husband fell trying to get back in his wheelchair there were rangers that came to our rescue, they picked him up and put him back in his wheelchair. Thank God for the Park Rangers!!! This cabin is perfect and I have already reserved it for a week next October. Next year my Grandson will love coming with us he will be old enough to enjoy the water park. The hot tub is so soothing.

Room Tip: Family Cabins are perfect for up to 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nursekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The lodge is very rustic and in a very beautiful park setting. However, the rooms are in need of updating. The rooms were very dark, the bathroom is fairly small and the beds needed new matresses. Also, cell phone service is very limited and wifi is relatively slow. The restaurant was satisfactory. They have recently remodeled their aquatic area and it is very nice. Great for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio. It's nice to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BitsyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Abe Martin Lodge at Brown County State Park was better than expected. The room was clean, although we did run across a Jurassic-sized spider in the room. The decor is rustic and a bit dated but keeping in mind that this is a lodge at a State Park, it was quite nice. The room had a flat-screen TV, DVD player and satellite but only a handful of channels. The bathroom is a little small and for a family of four, it was hard to lay out all of the toiletries. The shower also did not drain well which led to ankle-deep water by the end of our showers. All in all it was one of the better State Park stays I've had and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lock-Man65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We decided to stay the night at the Lodge but most of it was booked so they had a Rustic Cabin available with much to do it was no biggie that it does not come with a phone or TV. It did have a coffee maker, microwave, and small refridgerator. It was quaint with 2 dbl beds. It was musty smelling but with cabins that are not rented all year long I kind of expected that and sheets could have fit better. We payed $76 + taxes for one night in the cabin which also included wristbands for 4 to their nice little indoor water park. Not bad at all for the area and the kids loved staying in a cabin vs. on the ground in a tent and really loved the indoor water area. It was nice that it wasn't crowded like some of the indoor water park/ hotel combos.... so much easier to watch the kids and relax!! They also provide Terre Green soaps and shampoo - GO Green! Food in the Restaurant was good... $8.99 for all you can eat breakfast buffet. Great Trails!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NikkiNichNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nashville
0.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.0 mi away
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Go...
#58 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Property: Abe Martin Lodge
Address: Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing