We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average place... Extortionate price!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mvuu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mvuu Lodge
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Below average place... Extortionate price!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was my first experience of wild Africa... The only thing Mvuu has going for it is the natural beauty and wildlife in the Area.


What is wrong with the place? Where do I start...

- US$2000 (yes two thousand US dollars) for one night for three people sharing! For US$1200 you can spend a night at the Burj al Arab (Dubai's 7 star hotel) where I have stayed before so I was expecting similar service and value for money... We had been robbed!

STAFF: one of the staff who collected us by boat Became drunk after dinner and made our Zambian host upset as he kept on bringing up the fact that we arrived late. The rest of the staff were average.

POOR FOOD: cheap quality food and just nasty

ROOMS: nothing special! Our Zambian host said the place had been refurbished but I am not sure what improvements had been made as I had not been before.

Overall a shocking experience. The only positive aspect is the location. I would return to Zambia and the area but would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Totally hands on owners. Staff was great and flexible. Meals were fantastic. Sunsets gorgeous. So much positive aspects for this place....a must for anyone. The drive to it is crazy....but you do encounter small villages. You can see Zimbabwe right across the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGirl78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The campsite clean with a beautiful location right on the river bank. Only draw back is that it took us about 2 hours by 4*4 road to get there, but it was worth it. The place is so peaceful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maike27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Mvuu Lodge - Camp Site, Fishing, Hippos, Elephants, Crocodiles, all within the Camp - Breathtaking sunsets over the Zambezi River - Love this place will be back. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Arriving here by speed boat we stayed for two nights at the Mvuu Logde and enjoyed the wonderful remoteness of this place. Crocodiles on the river bank, a snorting bull hippo in the water directly within sight from the dinner table, wild elephants strolling through the camp and a breathtaking sunset over the Zambezi. Love this place.
The food was excellent and the permanent tents where quite luxurious. Mvuu Lodge was one of the best camps we had during our 3-week road trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 682-682-682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We camped at the lodge's camping site right on the edge of the Zambezi river. One day an elephant came right into our camping site and started browsing around our caravan. It was not threatening and merely wanted to get to the succulent leaves of the shady trees in camp.

The full day trip into the Lower Zambezi park - the morning by boat and the afternoon by game viewing vehicle is highly recommended. The park does not have a big variety of species, but large herds of elephants and many hippos.

All camping sites has private open air ablution facilities with gas heated water. The lodge has a beautiful viewing deck and restaurant and luxury safari tents. Although we did not fish, it is apparently a great fishing spot for tiger fish and bream. Mvuu lodge is only one of many lodges on the Zambian side of the Zambezi and fly-in options are available. The road dirt road from Chirundu is badly corrugated with deep holes in places. Good ground clearance of your vehicle is therefore advisable. The pontoon across the Kafue river is functioning well and can take a number of vehicles.

From July all payment in Zambia are suppose to be made in Zambian Kwatcha and not in US dollars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peetvdyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We camped for three nights in Elly, one of the two sites with river views in Mvuu lodge. River views, with hippos, fish eagles, herons, egrets, lapwings, crocs and monitor lizards made our stay unforgettable. There is no electricity; the generator is switched off after sunset, so we enjoyed amazing sky views and stars reflections on the river. Oil lamps guided us to find the toilet in the dark. The toilet and shower is private for each camp, and there is hot water from a boiler powered with a gas bottle. They are also open-air, which is a very good idea, as anything that comes in can easily get out (you know, all these unspecified multi-leg/wing creatures which fly erratically on your hair and face if they feel trapped but ignore you completely when they don’t).

Friendly staff prepared our camp fire every evening, and also guided us to avoid the elephants that decided to visit our spot one evening! We had our dinners in the restaurant which has marvellous river and sunset views. The food was rather average and quite expensive, we would advise self drivers to come prepared to cook themselves, all the facilities are really good.

We did a 2.5 hrs boat trip and we saw a lot of animals, a very memorable experience.
This is a great place to relax and enjoy a really wild feeling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyDna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiawa Conservancy
0.0 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#9 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
#7 of 8 in Chiawa Conservancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuu Lodge

Property: Mvuu Lodge
Address: Chiawa Conservancy, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Chiawa Conservancy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chiawa Conservancy
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mvuu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing