We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
180
19
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
19
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews albida suite game drives chongwe river canoe trip first stop lower zambezi norman carr blown away walking safari wonderful location early morning magical place motor boat incredible experience night game our honeymoon trigger fish
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 202 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

I stayed at Chongwe River Camp with my mother in July. The location is just amazing right on the river and waking up looking at Hippos, buffalo etc etc was simply amazing. All the staff were just wonderful and our guides George and Sam were fantastic and very informative. We also saw a African Wild Dog kill which is very rare. I can not thank all the staff enough for our wonderful experience. Next time I definately want to stay at the chongwe River House!!

PS I loved the outdoor bathrooms

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janec71Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

The Lower Zambezi river in Zambia has an ideal safari camp . The staff is welcoming and the super guide Moses set the bar high for other camps. It felt like visiting relatives in Africa. Activities like game walks with guides, fishing for tiger fish and Vundu,and exceptional game viewing made our stay special. We were sad to leave but our guide got us up early before we flew out to see if we could locate the rare painted dogs. We marveled at these dogs returning from their hunt. What a fitting end to our visit. We would gob back in a heartbeat

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank estaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

I have been coming to stay at Kasaka/ Chongwe for 15 years. The biggest compliment I can pay is that we come back every single year, simply because we don't want to be anywhere else. Stunning location, beautiful views, great wildlife, luxury accommodation and fantastic staff. Do yourself a favour and go and stay at Chongwe, you won't regret it

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

I visited Chongwe River Camp with my family last month and we had a great experience. The best thing about the lodge is the service, really friendly staff and great food. The tents are very clean and comfortable, perfect place if you are visiting Lower Zambezi.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed at Chongwe for three days - and could not have had a better time. The staff - Flossie and Alan, Caroline, Serena and Shane, chef Michael and George - did everything they could to make our stay such a fantastic experience. The location, at the confluence of the Zambezi and Chongwe rivers, is stunning and ensured daily visits from hippos, fish eagles and elephants. The food was excellent, our lodge/tent comfortable [with the best hot water bottles ever!] and the activities varied - from walking to canoeing. The game viewing was spectacular, and we even saw a leopard while on a boat trip - thanks to our fantastic guide, Sam. We were saddened to leave after three nights

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X3513VYsimonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews