We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
180
19
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
19
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews albida suite game drives chongwe river canoe trip first stop lower zambezi norman carr blown away walking safari wonderful location early morning magical place motor boat incredible experience night game our honeymoon trigger fish
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 202 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2015

I visited Chongwe River Camp with my family last month and we had a great experience. The best thing about the lodge is the service, really friendly staff and great food. The tents are very clean and comfortable, perfect place if you are visiting Lower Zambezi.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed at Chongwe for three days - and could not have had a better time. The staff - Flossie and Alan, Caroline, Serena and Shane, chef Michael and George - did everything they could to make our stay such a fantastic experience. The location, at the confluence of the Zambezi and Chongwe rivers, is stunning and ensured daily visits from hippos, fish eagles and elephants. The food was excellent, our lodge/tent comfortable [with the best hot water bottles ever!] and the activities varied - from walking to canoeing. The game viewing was spectacular, and we even saw a leopard while on a boat trip - thanks to our fantastic guide, Sam. We were saddened to leave after three nights

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X3513VYsimonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015

Chongwe River Camp was PERFECT in every way. I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

We had a fabulous 4 night stay recently - our only regret was that we didn't have longer. We absolutely fell in love with every aspect of this property.

The location is stunning beyond words - superbly situated at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi Rivers in Lower Zambezi National Park.

There are no fences surrounding the Camp, so that wildlife is able to wander through the camp at will and be a part of the whole experience.

Our permanent tent was stunning in every way. There were two extremely comfortable twin beds with gorgeous pillows and duvets. The in-room safe was useful and there were facilities to have a lovely hot cup of tea or coffee when your wake-up call is delivered each morning.

The ensuite bathroom was divine - open air so that you really felt a part of nature. The rustic bathroom was spacious with excellent shower and everything we needed.

The lodge bar, dining and lounge facilities were gorgeous - words are inadequate to convey how beautiful they were. There were very comfortable seats for you to while away the siesta hours if you preferred not to enjoy a siesta.

The food was something special - the Chef is Italian trained and even comes with an authentic Italian accent. Very amusing. My Vegan requests were very well catered for.
The Dining table was set up in the open overlooking the river - sublime.

The swimming pool looked amazing - sadly we didn't have time to take advantage of this.

The complimentary laundry service was so much appreciated.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and the service excellent. The Management team was also fabulous - we were made to feel part of the Chongwe family.

A special mention must go to the BEST guide we have ever had. His name was Joseph. We were extremely sad to say goodbye - tears were flowing when we watched his wild waving and beaming smile as our plane took off. Joseph will remain in our hearts forever. We could not recommend Joseph as a guide, highly enough.

Our stay at Chongwe was memorable in every way.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015

I just left the camp this morning, and the best thing about Chongwe River Camp is the people who work there. Shane Hodges (guide extraordinaire!!) is an amazing tracker, and he's able to track lions, hippos, leopards, wild dogs.....you name it. He is also a fountain of knowledge about the animals, fauna and stars and seemed to be as excited as me when we saw interesting game! The rest of the crew - Flossy and Alan, the lovely Serena, everyone who works there....were all wonderful hosts. Oh, and to top it off, there was readily available wifi and great hot water showers - (not always found in safari camps!) Highly recommend this place!!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madk325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015

We finished our two week stay in Zimbabwe and Zambia with four nights at the Chongwe River Camp in Lower Zambezi National Park. It is located directly on the Zambezi River, across from Mana Pools in Zimbabwe. We saw lion, leopard, hippos, ccrocodile, and a few tiger fish, one of the world's top freshwater fighting fish species.

The camp is awesome. The staff, the food (I told the chef Vincent he belonged in a restaurant in Paris or New York), was over the top.We had two outstanding game drive guides, Shane and Bob. We were busy from morning to night on a great variety of drives, canoe trips, fishing on the river.

We have traveled extensively on all seven continents and this was the best trip ever. A special thanks to Flossy, the camp manager.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100-50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews