We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
30
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fabulous guide chongwe river icing on the cake second visit game drives canoe trip hosts alan architecture heaps warthogs africa riverbank safari activities trips animals
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 32 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My first trip to Africa and a Safari. The Chongwe River house was perfect...private, rustic luxury, and wonderful,attentive staff. The house and staff make you feel as if you are lost in Africa but with all the comforts of home at hand. Matt and Anet were the best host and you could feel their love for Africa and wanting us to feel it too. I don't know what I enjoyed more, seeing the exquisite animals and terrain or seeing Matt so excited about seeing all the animals too! You can tell he loves his job, showing others the treasures of Africa, and each and every animal he encounters. Anet coordinated fabulous meals in the national park, sunset boat rides, and food beyond compare. Looking forward to returning- taking our kids and friends. This location will not disappoint you!

Room tip: All rooms at the house are spectacular.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at Chongwe River Camp last week and love it.
The setting is stunning - on the confluence of the Chongwe River and the mighty Zambezi.
Their guides are excellent - we did a walking safari, game drive and canoeing, all of which were fantastic. The park is full of game and empty of people - just the way you want it! Compared to other national parks elsewhere in Africa this place feels like a private oasis.
They also treated us to a wonderful out of camp dinner, on the banks of the river, with an amazing bbq and white linen table all set up in the wilderness. The star constellation guide was a great touch - you will not see skies as bright as this in Europe!
The rooms are very comfortable and luxurious and the staff are very welcoming.
A wonderful place to stay that I highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACAGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our third safari and our second time to Zambia. We stayed at some excellent camps but Chongwe House is magic.
We travel at least 4 to 5 times a year to luxury places in Asia, M.E., Africa and Europe but the House is in my top 3 of most favorite ones ever stayed at.
Staying in a private house gives you a complete different feeling of safari. It’s like being on your own in the wilderness, you feel vulnerable to everything what is outside as the house is completely open but it doesn’t really matter, you feel very safe and well looked after.
Perhaps for people going for a first time on a safari they would feel more comfortable (safer) in a lodge or tent as part of a camp.
For our children 12 and 14 years old, it was their first safari experience; they stayed the first 2 nights in a lodge nearby the falls, then 2 nights at the albida suites at Chongwe camp before moving to the house. They felt very safe.
The hosts Janie and Sean are so nice and warm and doing a wonderful job. They gave us the feeling that we spend 2 nights at the house with some old friends although we were just the 4 of us, myself, wife and 2 daughters,.
We should not forget about all the other people who took excellent care of us. The guiding by Victor was very very good.
What’s so nice about Chongwe house is that you have a variety of activities at your own choice, which is not always the case when going on a safari. We had the game drives, the night drives, the walking safaris (we did some excellent hiking by one of the small mountain rivers), fishing from the shore on one of the small branches of the Zambezi river, there are river cruises and river fishing and canoe trips and a village visit belongs also to one of the possibilities.
If we are going back one day to Zambia, Chongwe house would be a must for us to stay at.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Incredible place to stay on your travels, the wildlife comes to you including an elephant coming to have a drink from the pool. If you want a choice of what to do and when to do it - this is the place for you. Wonderful setting so close to everything with knowledgable and hospitable staff - we are planning to go back for a celebration in the future.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktofwhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

When we first arrived at Chongwe, we were greeted by a herd of elephants ambling around the grounds and one was even drinking from the pool! The next night we were called in early from our lovely "Sundowner" river cruise because there was a leopard a few minutes drive from the house up in a tree feasting on a kill. The daily game drives, canoe trips and walking safaris were expertly guided by our very knowledgeable and friendly guide, Victor. The house itself was a unique and amazing experience with its incredible architecture and more than comfortable rooms. Sean and Janie were exquisite hosts and ensured that everything was taken care of and even anticipated our needs before we knew them. The food was delicious and plentiful. We were spoiled rotten for our entire stay and didn't want to ever leave.

On a side note: If you get the chance, consider visting the local village and meeting the people there. We toured the school and medical clinic there and received a little taste of what it would be like to live there. There are many ways to help this (and other) village if you are interested. Visiting the local villages made us feel very connected to the people and was a highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamiCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews