We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memorial ”

Community Veterans Memorial
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Munster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Community Veterans Memorial is a 6.5 acre park featuring bronze and granite sculptures, and life-size monuments to depict the major military conflicts that shaped the 20th Century. The memorial imparts a reflective and provocative vision for peace. From the trenches of World War I through the Pacific beaches and European battles of World War II, the extreme weather and combat conditions of Korea, the rugged brutal fire fights of Vietnam, and the sandy sea of Desert Storm, the memorial pays the highest tribute to all veterans. A commemorative brick pathway leads visitors on their journey through history. Individuals and groups are invited to take self-guided tours in which several stations provide pre-recorded information about the defining wars of the 20th Century. Guided tours are also available.
1 review
“Great memorial ”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great memorial, very informative, makes you appreciate all the brave soldiers that fought for our great country

Helpful?
Thank JAMES D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a unique experience to see this memorial. It is dedicated to all servicemen from all of the wars

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Historic Timeline”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Community Veterans Memorial is a wonderful way to learn about our country's history. The display is beautifully landcaped and the art work and sculptures are well done. Along the perimeter of the park is an historic timeline. This park is well worth the visit, especially if you have served or know someone who has served our country. Restaurant choices nearby include The View, located in Centennial Park Clubhouse across the street (soups and sandwiches), and Cafe Borgia (Italian, next door, for more upscale dining).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny37357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well done and thought provoking”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

WOW! That is the best way to describe Community Veterans Memorial. What a great way of honoring our vets and educating visitors. On the highway leading up to the memorial are pole banners that read "For Freedom, They Fought. For Freedom, We Remember". There is a monument to each war, including WW I, WW II, Korea, Vietnam, Persian Gulf and today. The sculpting is fabulous, and the monument of the soldier at the Vietnam memorial was particularly haunting. I visited on a day when it was raining and seeing the water drip from this sculpture was eery. Each monument has 2 plaques, providing an overview of the war and an explanation of the monument. There is also a recorded overview at each stop, which is great. Also along the walk are many benches, trees, plants and walkway bricks that were given in honor and memory of loved ones.

Make sure to pick up one of the brochures at the beginning of the walkway to read more about this memorial too. I was really, really impressed with this memorial!

Also cool was the Munster water tower just a block away that has "United We Stand" painted on it.

I'm so glad I planned this short excursion from Chicago!

The memorial is free and open from dawn to dusk. You can go through as quickly or as slowly as you wish - obviously the slower you go the more you will see. But even if you don't read every brick, and just read and look at the monuments, an hour should be enough time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This review will be short. All I have to say is that going to this memorial is an awesome venture. To see the various names and events from the Civil War on up to the present is a touching experience. Expect to stay 2+ hours or more to view and enjoy the experience. It would be a great teaching experience for the young children and an inexpensive day out with the family.
As a veteran, kudos to Munster, Indiana

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lemonaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Community Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Community Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing