We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SURPRISE is no surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
926 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“BEST SURPRISE is no surprise”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Muncie, and have tried almost all of the hotels. We come to find this hotel, overall, the best. 1st off, it isn't the newest, most modern, but it is VERY adequate, clean & reasonably priced. The staff of workers are CLASS people !!! As an explanation, the hotel nearby was new, more expensive, but we tried it. That brand new competitive hotel already had mold in the bathroom, trash on the floor of the lobby, which I picked up, myself, as workers "lounged" nearby. This HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS hotel, doesn't yet have automatic opening front doors, but they have "JR" & others there, anxiously waiting to help & serve customers. ALWAYS a friendly, Class front desk person, to assist. They usually upgrade our room, at the same price, and accommodate our wishes. The make this our Muncie HOME.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JpDrumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn T, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear JpDrumr,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on having an excellent staff of people who put the guests first! JR is quite a hospitable fellow and I am glad he made your visit that much more enjoyable! We are honored you can call us your home away from home when you visit Muncie! We look forward to your next visit! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
17
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff really set this hotel apart! We were greeted at the door and again at the front desk by very friendly, personable people. Our first room wasn't as clean as we expected but the girl at the front desk promptly and very apologetically moved us to another room which was just fine.

Breakfast is excellent and the lady who runs it is very conscientious and welcoming. All of the housekeeping staff are friendly and speak to each guest in a friendly and professional manner.

Although the rooms are a bit dated the staff more than make up for it with their friendliness, professionalism, attentiveness to detail and genuine desire to make each guest's stay as perfect as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn T, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Finally Flying,

Thank you for taking a moment to give us your feedback! Your opinions matter to us and we appreciate your kind words. I am sure our staff will be delighted at such a great review of your stay! They work really hard to provide a great service to our guests. We hope to host you again during your next stay in Muncie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am an IHG employee myself, and when I walked through the doors, Kevin greeted me as I would have greeted myself. He gave us a quick and easy check in and offered his help multiple times. He was attentive and very understanding when we had a need and he took care of it as soon as he could. When we arrived to the room, I scrutinized the room for anything out of place or not clean. All was in order and housekeeping did a great job on our room! The breakfast in the morning was convenient and delicious. This hotel makes me proud to be associated with Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently stayed during Ball State's homecoming. The front desk, breakfast and housekeeping staff were very friendly. Great location for going to football game. Front desk staff gave great suggestions for local restraurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was passing through on my way from Chicago to Cincinnati and had my kids with me. I chose this property because it was in a good location. The staff was pleasant and the room was nice. I also tried the pool and even though it was late in the evening, the staff let us stay in the pool for 20 minutes past closing time. That gets a lot of points in my book.

The town of Muncie also has a lot of food choices and the staff helped us find something to our taste and price range.

If I'm in the area again, I'll look no further than this nice property run by friendly, generous and attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years we have visited Ball Sate University. It is located near campus, and many area restaurants and shopping. The rooms are clean. The front desk/ breakfast staff are very friendly. The breakfast is basic Holiday Inn Express offering, but this time there was a breakfast turkey meat to try, as well as a new type of oatmeal cup. They have a nice looking pool and whirlpool, although we have not ever had the time or chance to use them. We have used the fitness room equipment, which is up to date and functioned well. Overall, we are very happy with this hotel. We are often upgraded-a nice perk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a Yorktown High School reunion and to visit relatives. This is a great location not only to get to Yorktown but for Ball State and numerous restaurants.

Due to previous reviews we requested room with fridge which they accommodated; and it worked great. Room was nice, unfortunately a clumsy previous guest dropped the iron flat on the carpet leaving an imprint in room 216. It would be nice to have a floor or wall lamp by the chair in order to read the paper or a book. Beds were comfortable with 4 pillows of various firmness. Bathroom was roomy but lighting wasn't bright enough for me. Also would have been nice if housekeeping had replenished the lotion & shampoo as well as extra towels. There was exactly 2 bath towels (I like one for my head after shampooing), 2 hand towels but there were 4 wash cloths. Husband thought the tub was a little slick and only thing to hold onto was outside the shower curtain.

Breakfast had the usual eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits & gravy, variety of cereal and individual containers of oatmeal with hot water available for "cooking" as well as toppings. The hot cinnamon rolls were tasty, yogurt & milk in the fridge and an automatic pancake maker that made whatever number you entered on the machine. The usual juices as well as a flavored water. One drawback for me was the lack of salsa for the eggs.

Didn't use the pool or fitness room.

Staff was courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay here again upon our return to Muncie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muncie hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Muncie at Horizon Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Muncie
Fairfield Inn Muncie
#6 of 13 in Muncie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Muncie
Best Western Muncie
#4 of 13 in Muncie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Muncie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muncie Near Ball State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie
Address: 4201 West Bethel Avenue, Muncie, IN 47304-5446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Muncie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie is conveniently located one mile from Ball State University and just 6 miles from I-69 in Muncie. The hotel is close to shopping and within walking distance of several restaurants. Visit historic downtown Muncie just minutes away; also located close to numerous local businesses in the area. With several museums and attractions nearby, you'll have plenty to do before you return to the hotel to swim in our indoor heated pool. Rooms are equipped with free high speed internet and complimentary wireless access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. The Holiday Inn Express in Muncie has suites, as well as standard rooms with microwaves and refrigerators available. You'll find our rooms clean, comfortable and just the place you need to prepare for the day ahead. Start your day with our complimentary extended continental breakfast served daily. The Muncie Holiday Inn Express has a free business and copy center for your conveniences, and sundry items are also available on-site. From the moment you walk in the door, you will be greeted by our award-winning, courteous and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Muncie
Holiday Inn Express Muncie
Holiday Inn Muncie
Muncie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing