We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie
Nearby Hotels
$79
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$101
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
48
47
18
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
47
18
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksenior citizenssales managerbreakfast ladymy niecebreakfast was excellentattending an eventprofessional staffclose proximitystay there againcollege visithiestateballkeurigjessiealumni
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 143 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for a Yorktown High School reunion and to visit relatives. This is a great location not only to get to Yorktown but for Ball State and numerous restaurants.

Due to previous reviews we requested room with fridge which they accommodated; and it worked great. Room was nice, unfortunately a clumsy previous guest dropped the iron flat on the carpet leaving an imprint in room 216. It would be nice to have a floor or wall lamp by the chair in order to read the paper or a book. Beds were comfortable with 4 pillows of various firmness. Bathroom was roomy but lighting wasn't bright enough for me. Also would have been nice if housekeeping had replenished the lotion & shampoo as well as extra towels. There was exactly 2 bath towels (I like one for my head after shampooing), 2 hand towels but there were 4 wash cloths. Husband thought the tub was a little slick and only thing to hold onto was outside the shower curtain.

Breakfast had the usual eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits & gravy, variety of cereal and individual containers of oatmeal with hot water available for "cooking" as well as toppings. The hot cinnamon rolls were tasty, yogurt & milk in the fridge and an automatic pancake maker that made whatever number you entered on the machine. The usual juices as well as a flavored water. One drawback for me was the lack of salsa for the eggs.

Didn't use the pool or fitness room.

Staff was courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay here again upon our return to Muncie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for an over night visit because we were moving our daughter into Ball State. The number 1 reason to stay here?? Simple is answer is the staff. The staff at this Holiday Inn are the best of the best. We had zero issues with any of the staff members and we were treated very well by everyone involved. I will stay here again just because of these employees.
The hotel itself is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed made for a great nights sleep. The bathroom was showing its age a bit. Our suite came with a wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and a fridge. We had two TV's that had very good pictures.
The breakfast was awesome. Everything was well stocked and easy to get to. A great way to start our day.
They do have a pool and a hot tub. We did not use them on this stay, but they seemed well maintained. Maybe we will use them next time.

Room Tip: The suites have a wet bar, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Sigs99,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially because of the wonderful staff we have. Everyone prides themselves in ensuring that every guests stay is memorable. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

Our breakfast bar is always a hit with our guests and with the new healthy items that we have recently added, it is becoming more popular than ever.

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Muncie look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on a trip to BSU to move a family member in. It was nice to receive free cookies and cupcakes upon arrival. The immediate smell of the pool was actually welcoming. In the room the bed was super hard. The water pressure was very low in the shower. The room faced the parking lot and there was no way to close any blinds. There was a see through sheer curtain that could be closed but that was it. So it was bright in the room all night. Due to the price, we would have stayed at the Fairfield Inn and had very comfortable beds and saved about $50. Told the front desk clerk after he asked if everything was ok and she basically said sorry. I will have a very tired drive home.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiseseeker333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Cruiseseeker,

Thank you for the review concerning your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties during your time here. It is our goal to provide superior service to all of our guests, especially those affiliated with Ball State. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy the cupcakes that we provided during the very busy move-in time for the students and families. We know that move-in at the university can be hectic at times and a good nights sleep is very important.

It was surprising to hear that you had trouble locating the blackout blinds that are located directly behind the sheers you indicated in your review. Please be assured, that all of our rooms are fitted with these blackout blinds.

We would love to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express on your next visit to Ball State and encourage you to contact us directly before making your next reservation.

Thank you,

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall this hotel was average. I have stayed at more luxurious hotels for roughly the same price. I was disappointed and sadden to learn that there were no Bible in the room. Why? Also, would have liked to have had a refrigerator and a nice comfy chair in the room. Our room only had a desk chair and a straight back kitchen table chair. The room could easily accommodate a nice comfortable chair with matching ottoman. Why the dinky kitchen chair?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just an average... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Just an average...P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room amenities. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a double queen room for one night when the hotel was full to capacity. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. When we decided that we wouldn't be able to stay for the 2 nights I had originally reserved, the staff was also very pleasant and cancelled our second night with no hassle when we gave them notice before checkout time. Although we didn't use the pool or whirlpool, it looked very clean and well-maintained. The breakfast was well staffed and supplied and the staff person was very attentive. Although the hotel is lacking the automatic front doors, at the time we arrived on a Friday early evening, there was a staffer at the front door to open it for us. The night we stayed, the whole city was full, so the price of the room was higher than I would normally pay, but worth it for the event we attended. Even with full capacity, the hotel was quiet. We had an odd-numbered room and didn't notice any traffic noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embie_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews