We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dive-Food in Muncie”
Review of Savage's Ale House

Savage's Ale House
Ranked #4 of 209 Restaurants in Muncie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Dive-Food in Muncie”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Everything is deep-fried and delicious!

It gets rather loud, so this isn't the place for an intimate get together. However, it's a wonderful place to grab a beer with your friends and watch the game or shoot some pool. The prices are wonderful - and they have some unique options, including nightly specials!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maggiec614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You don't have to be a savage to eat at Savage's Alehouse”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Despite what the name implies, Savage's Alehouse is not at all a savage place to visit. In fact, for a neighborhood bar in downtown Muncie, Indiana it is very civilized. Good beer, bottle or on tap, is served chilled and with warm smile. The food is typical bar food. A short, varied menu, nothing really costs more than about $10.00. We have eaten there for under $25.00 beers included. Having said that I want you to know that this is our favorite place to go out for a casual meal. We have even gone there for dessert, imbibing in good beer and fried pickles. Let me tell you, their fried pickles are some of the best I have had, and I've had fried pickles from local fairs to 4-star restaurants.
I will admit that parking is sometimes a crap shoot. It is downtown and parking is always a crap shoot. When students from the various colleges and the university come out it may be difficult to get a table, but I'll wait. The atmosphere is worth the wait.
With it's ever changing art on the walls (they showcase a different new local artist each month), the colorful staff, the happy voices raised in laughter over someone's misdeeds, how can you not be happy and satisfied for the time you are there?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShiningTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Muncie”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place has become the must visit bar when I'm in Muncie and now one of my all-time favorites ! Great beer selection and tremendous burgers. Get the patty melt... Only possible improvement would be a few more non deep fried apps ...... visit this place!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, average burger”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The vibe in this place is good. The heavily tattooed wait staff is courteous. I like the decorative homage to PBR. I ate lunch here for a second time 9/13/13. Tried the Classic Cheeseburger and mozzarella sticks. The service was average. The meat didn't have much flavor and was overwhelmed by the bun. No special sauces. Just a burger with cheese, commercial grade mayo, chopped onion pieces, lettuce, tomato, and pickle. It was good, but didn't stand out in any way. I was not asked how the burger should be cooked. Given the quality and thickness (or lack thereof) of the patty, it looks like a 1/4 pound frozen patty was thrown on the grill. The cheese sticks were clearly a deep fried, commercially obtained product. I was not expecting much, but the cold marinara sauce was a disappointment.

Given the lack of choices downtown, I still consider this a good option for lunch. It serves cheap food--the quality matches the prices--but that is okay if that is what you go in expecting. The beer list looks great, and I hope to get the opportunity to try a few.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JajaAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
313 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good prices, ok food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall a good place. Not sure I'd give it five stars like many of the other writers, but still good. We had a party of nine, and I don't think anyone walked away overwhelmingly impressed by the quality of the food. It was good, but not five star good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savage's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing