We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a good one.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We've stayed in many Hamptons over the past 3 decades. This one was a disappointment. We had a problem with our room & the management was not at all helpful. A simple problem to fix, but rather than fix it, we were told to call the corporate 800#. Odd to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cattledog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    138
    40
    18
    14
See reviews for
213
62
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Went down to Muncie (4th time this year) to move my son out of the dorms and since we live in Chicago we always spend the night. We have stayed at several Muncie hotels and by far, Hampton is the best. Clean carpets, updated rooms, comfortable beds and great service. My son and daughter enjoyed a swim in the pool (not heated) but was refreshing after doing some packing in the dorm. Food area was spacious in the morning with lots of breakfast options including omelletes and potatoes, make your own waffle, bagels, etc. Plenty of supplies and neat and clean. No problems with internet and service was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stay in Muncie often as we have had family in the area for 35 years. We have stayed in just about every chaim hotel the town has to offer. The Hampton is a welcome addition to the choices. It is very welcoming with an upgraded lobby, very friendly desk staff, large rooms and comfortable beds. It is about $20more than any of the others but the beds were very comfortable and the usual breakfast offering was nicely presented with an attentive helper. We plan to make the Hampton our place of choice for our future visits to Muncie.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HeightsKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed on 4/19/11. Hotel was very comfortable. Cable TV had well over 75 channels, this is not usual in a hotel. Great breakfast with lots of room to sit even though hotel had a large group there it was not crowded. Now a few negatives. The internet was very slow and the shower pressure was low. Probably worth a few bucks less, but overall hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZF140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The rooms are nice and clean, but the service/facilities are poor, particulalrly as this is the most costly hotel in Muncie at $139 per night. I am *not* a high maintainance traveller, but a couple of things. As soon as I arrives I sat at the desk. The swivel chair is really low, so I can't comfortably reach the keyboard to type. I called down to reception and asked if I might swap out the chair. The lady was nice, but she said, that they were all broken in this way and had been since it opened!!!! ???
Started to get to work with laptop..... on my lap. Free internet, but it takes ages to connect and is reaaalllly sloooow! I mentioned it on my way out of the door to dinner. The response from a different person - oh yeah, we know, it's always been like that!!!!!
Last straw was I got a bottle of wine to drink with a movie, got some ice, ice bucket, looked around and there are only paper cups. I went down to reception to see if I could at least have a glass, even a tumbler.
Another different person, sorry sir we only have paper cups in the whole hotel.....
Most of the staff here are probably students and oaky with mediocraty. I'm guessing a lot of foks stay here in connection with the University, bt they simply don't get what makes a decent business hotel. The attitude has been an academic research project from the staff to investigate whether they could be *any* less interested in owning guest comments and complaints.

Give it a miss, there $50 more to stay here is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp3492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have been to several hotels in the Muncie area for parent weekends. This was by far the nicest hotel I've experienced. The rooms were fresh, clean and staff was very efficient. The breakfast was good, and even though it was a little more $ than surrounding hotels, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagomama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This Hampton Inn is, I have heard, one of the best accommodations in Muncie and I can see why. The property is very clean, comfortable and the staff tries very hard. When I checked in they upgraded me to a King suite as I'm a Hilton Hhonors gold member. It was very good size with a little frig, sofa, very comfortable bed and nice bath. The vanity was outside of the commode/shower area which was nice.

Every morning they have a hot breakfast and to-go bags with a muffin/Special K bar and water for those without time for the buffet. The manager made some wonderful recommendations for restaurants while we were in Muncie which was nice. Overall it was a nice hotel, with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSpike34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muncie
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Muncie at Horizon Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Muncie
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Muncie
Best Western Muncie
#4 of 13 in Muncie
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Muncie
Fairfield Inn Muncie
#7 of 13 in Muncie
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muncie Near Ball State University
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 13 in Anderson
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie
Address: 4220 W Bethel Ave, Muncie, IN 47304-5445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Muncie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the modern 4-story Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie Indiana hotel, you'll find exactly what you need. Whether your travel is business or pleasure in our spacious bedroom you'll enjoy all the extras our hotel has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie Hotel Muncie
Hampton Inn And Suites Muncie
Hampton Inn Muncie
Muncie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing