We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a place I would come to again with my family and grandchildren.
The restaurant within the resort was great.
The grounds were very family oriented . Pool & spa, tennis courts and childrens playground

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VERONICATURNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 219 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Was a good place to stay but wouldn't come back. To many little things not right.
Not the best customer service, just average.
Dishwasher didn't work so had to hand wash everything otherwise would get charge $25.
Didn't get shampoo and only small amounts of soap etc.
Would recommend to there's but maybe only families or older couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sim_in_the_box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Moby's provides a quiet place to stay, that is modern and very close to beautiful Boomerang beach.
The kids loved the pool, being able to ride their scooters around the quiet internal roads and making use of the sandpit and play area.
The rooms/cabins are well kept and fitted out and they aren't too close to each other.
We had a large gathering of friends and it was perfect for this, all being located within walking distance of each other.
Finally, the restaurant 'Buddha by the Beach' hosted a large function for us and the food and service were superb.
Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Feels like such a treat whenever we stay at Mobys (we try to book a weekend a couple of times a year). Super friendly, super fun.

Average day is spent with an early morning walk and swim at Boomerang Beach (a stones throw from the entrance to the resort), breaky by the pool, a hit of tennis (racquet and court hire are free!), some skating and scooting around the resort, dips in the saltwater lagoon pool and spa, salad sandwiches and fresh juices for a picnic lunch on the lawn (the gardens and landscaping are divine), sunset drinks back over at the beach, BBQ dinner on the deck at the beach house!

The kids love it... and so do we!

Saddest part is always leaving....

Room Tip: There's a cute little playground with diggers and slippery dips etc (if you have young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouieH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been coming to Mobys ever since it was a caravan park. Whilst the accommodation has been upgraded to contemporary beach shacks that just have you smiling from the time you walk into them, it hasn't lost that family friendly atmosphere of the old caravan park.

I surf and find that with so many places that have either North East or Southerly wind protection that I hardly ever go home disappointed ... The kids don't leave disappointed either with the pool, tennis court and great kid friendly beaches and a fun little skate park around the corner with a 2 x 3/4 pipes and fun rails.

Robyn, Chris and the team will go out of their way to make your family holiday an absolute treat.

We go back for weekends and long stays and always never want to come home...

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

After getting the recommendation to spend a few days at the beach in the Pacific Palms area on the North Coast of New South Wales from Australian acquantances as a break from Sydney, we booked 3 nights at Mobeys. Our stay was very enjoyable in a very comfortable and efficinet one bedroom "beach house" (the units are not on the beach and have no beach view). Mobys packs in a large number of units in a small space, but the "beach houses" are quite private and our stay was very quiet and peaceful (3 weeknights not in the school holiday season). The front desk staff were friendly and even found us some boogey boards and an extra beach towel to borrow. Wifi internet is free in the lobby, but not available in the units. We ate dinner at the Buddah by the Beach restaurant, and our meals were tasty, the portions were very generous, and the price for a nice restaurant in Australia was quite reasonable.

The main draw to come to this area is the fantastic beach choices. Boomerang Beach is about 100 meters across the road from Mobys. It is a long arc of golden sand with big, crashing surf. Blueys Beach on the other side of a headland is similar, but not as big. Elizabeth Beach a few kilometers north is much calmer. Shelleys Beach just around a promintory is picture postcard beautiful and caters to "naturalists", as we found once we hiked there.

Mobys was a great place for us to spend a few days at the beach as a getaway from the glitter and bustle of Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGLGCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at mobys after searching the nsw north coast long and hard for a nice resort with privacy, nice tropical gardens, a great pool and proximity to nice beaches at a reasonable price. Mobys ticks all the boxes.

Great friendly accommodating customer service from the time we booked til departure.
We fell in love with the little modern bungalow set in tropical gardens and with a beautiful little deck area. It was modernly furnished, very clean, and had all the appliances you could need for a beach holiday. It is BY NO MEANS tired or rundown.

The pool is lagoon style and equipped with ample deck chairs to relax the day away. It also had a large spa to help bubble out any tension you might still have. A lot of resort pools end up a bit like a concrete playground but this is beautifully landscaped so a nice place to be. The only downside may be that it is very popular, but there is a reason it's popular!

If you don't like pools, the nearby beaches of blueys, boomerang and Elizabeth are world class. Good waves for surfers but also a heap of areas suitable for swimming and the beach was almost empty! Just beautiful.

The onsite restaurant is popular with the locals which is always a good sign. Nice atmosphere and fantastic food and also reasonably priced, a luxury at secluded places like this as they tend to add a convenience surcharge to the prices.

Some comments I read on here complained of loud children and yes, this place looks very popular with young families. We didn't find this a problem at all and enjoyed a very peaceful couples getaway.

To be honest, I cannot understand how any of my fellow travellers could find fault with this place.

We would return in a flash!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MitchEmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blueys Beach
21.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#1 of 2 in Diamond Beach
299 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 2 in Blueys Beach
40 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Forster
Hotel Forster
#1 of 9 in Forster
165 reviews
10 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Forster
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mobys Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mobys Beachside Retreat

Address: Red Gum Road | Boomerang Beach, Blueys Beach, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blueys Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Price Range: $130 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mobys Beachside Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mobys Beachside Retreat is located in the quiet surf village of Pacific Palms, just 90 minutes North of Newcastle, or 3 hours from Sydney. A place where you can relax and escape the stresses of life, in self contained Beach Houses, allowing for self catering. We also have an onsite Restaurant and Pool side Bar, if you want to really relax and indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mobys Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mobys Beachside Retreat Hotel Pacific Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing