We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immoral practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immoral practices”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked my accommodation for a family wedding in the area 4 months in advance. I'm currently living overseas and due to unforeseen circumstances I was no longer able to attend the wedding so therefore had to cancel my booking. I contacted Moby's 3 months in advance of my date of stay however Moby's would not give me a full refund and proceeded to change me $50.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Sophie,

The $50.00 cancellation fee which you incurred for cancelling your booking is a standard policy as described in our terms and conditions which you receive when you make your booking.
We offer all guests a cooling off period within which we will refund your deposit in full if you do not agree to our terms and conditions.

We recommend that all guests, particularly international guests consider purchasing a travel insurance for their trip that will cover the cost of any cancellation fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Thx to Mobys -the perfect getaway weekend. The room/apartment we stayed in was so quiet and tucked in the bush down the back -loved it.
Beauty of Mobys is its location to the beach and accessible to shops etc.
The Buddha restaurant had delicious food -great staff -we dined there both nights it was so nice.
The staff were really delightful and nothing was too much trouble -thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: All are nice -ones down the back seem quieter -away from pool, court cafe etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Gaye,

It is our pleasure to have been able to provide you with a trouble free and relaxing getaway.
It is our aim to provide all of our guests with a perfect and memorable experience and based on your review I am happy to see that we ticked all of the boxes.
Please let us know next time you are travelling our way. We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We couldn't fault the entire team at Mobys at our son's wedding last weekend. The service was fantastic, the food was amazing - the guests all raved about it (particularly the scollops). The functions manager was tireless in her efforts to make this a wonderful day despite the terrible weather. All recommendations made for hairdressers, makeup artists, babysitters and florists turned out to be great. The rooms were lovely. We enjoyed our stay and will recommend Mobys to other.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bed apartment in a rather busy spot but it was a great location as it was close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Weddings are delightful but can be a stressful process so I am so happy that we were able to assist you and make the weekend a wonderful experience for all who stayed. I had the opportunity to speak with many of the guests when they checked out and every single person I spoke with had an amazing time. We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent a long weekend with the older kids. Really enjoyed. Facilities are good and beach houses are very modern and clean. Only gripe is that boomerang and Blueys beaches are not patrolled and a bit rough so everybody goes to nearby Elizabeth beach, somewhat defeats the purpose of a place right on the beach. Still Boomerang is good for surfers and a good beach walk. The other point re location is there is very little around so you need to drive to Forster for restaurants 30 mins each way. The restaurant at Mobys is good but if you want variety you need to drive.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and great scoring. Pacific Palms is a hidden gem that draws many visitors to our resort because of our quiet secluded location. Boomerang Beach is renowned by surfers as a hot spot for big waves, however on some occasions can resemble a crystal clear pond ideal for swimming. For added safety though Elizabeth Beach (3 minute drive) is patrolled on weekends and holidays over summer.
We hope to welcome you back to Mobys next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent location, 2 mins walk to the beach (although no beach/ocean views). Quality of cabins was excellent - well kept, clean, and well decorated and furnished. Ask for a room towards the back of the resort (2 mins walk from reception) as they are quieter. Kids should take scooters or bikes, as they often meet new friends and ride around the resort in the evenings.

Pool is a bit dated, but still ok. On Fridays there are horse-drawn cart rides ($5 each) which take about 15 minutes and leave from the resort - check with reception on dates and times. Well worth doing.

Make sure you book at the restaurant for dinner. If you don't, the locals (who did book) will take priority as the restaurant is run/managed by people from outside the resort. Good food (recommend the fish and chips), but limited menu. Would recommend a 10 minute drive to Pacific Palms Recreation Club - a quite dated place, but with wonderful views and "old school bowling club" menu.

When booking, check for specials. Don't pay rack rate. The specials generally give you around 50% off if you are booking 3 or 4 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back. If you are not happy with your room, ask for it to be changed imme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
We are definitely a hit with the kids! We are proud to be a family friendly resort and our location is ideal for family holidays.
We always recommend contacting Mobys directly for the best possible price. We do offer discounts off extended bookings (the nightly rate become cheaper the more nights you stay)

In regards to requesting a different beach house, our system automatically assigns the best available beach house for you based on availability and your bedding request and due to these factors it is not always possible to move you to a different beach house. I am glad that we were able to assist you but it is important to know that we are not always able to accommodate such requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The wife and I just got back from a little mid week 3 night break at Mobys. We had a 1 bedroom apartment and from the moment we walked in it was fantastic. We were lucky enough to be right down the back in unit 45, it was so quiet and peaceful. We really loved the court yard as it had a real relaxing feel about it. We ate one night at the restaurant for the $25 entree-main or main-desert deal. I had the fillet beef and wife had the chicken curry, both were fantastic. Also to note it's a nice walk over the hill to the cafes and pizza shop at Blueys Beach, both worth a visit. we loved our stay and will definitely return, thanks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nuttie710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.
We are so lucky to have such an amazing Restaurant onsite and I am glad you had the opportunity to dine with us and enjoy our food. Its also great to hear that you liked your beach house. All of our beach houses are enveloped by tropical gardens which provide great privacy. Sometimes you can feel like you're the only one staying in the resort. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had my wedding at Moby's on the 26th of October 2013 and it was an absolutely fantastic experience. Our wedding coordinator Bel was simply amazing with everything organised perfectly and nothing being a problem.
The whole team at Moby's is exceptional and made my wedding experience a wonderful one.
My wedding dress was locked in my mum’s room on the Saturday and the people with the keys were all an hour or so away but one simple call to reception fixed the problem in under 5 minutes. The lovely lady on reception happy closed the reception desk and came down and opened the room for me with a smile on her face the whole time.
The food at Moby’s is amazing as well with all my wedding guests raving about how nice everything was and how they all left full.
All my guested who stayed on site at Moby’s were very impressed with the accommodation as were my husband and I. The beds are ridiculously comfortable!
I cannot recommend Moby’s highly enough for anyone considering it as a wedding venue, a party venue or just a place to stay for a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keirenleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Mobys Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We were all so happy to welcome you and your guests to Mobys to celebrate your wedding and I am glad we were able to provide such an enjoyable experience for all.
All of our staff genuinely enjoy working at Mobys and we take pleasure in being able to provide great service for all our 'friends' who stay. I have passed on your thanks and kind words to Bel.
We would all like to congratulate you on your marriage and wish you the best of luck for the future. I am sure we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to back to Mobys many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blueys Beach
1.1 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
21.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#1 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blueys by the Beach Motel
Blueys by the Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Blueys Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.0 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
21.4 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mobys Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mobys Beachside Retreat

Property: Mobys Beachside Retreat
Address: Redgum Road | Boomerang Beach, Blueys Beach, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blueys Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mobys Beachside Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mobys Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mobys Beachside Retreat Hotel Pacific Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing