We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired accommodation and tired service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundowner Tiona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundowner Tiona
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tired accommodation and tired service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

A real disappointment. We chose to stay here as a family member married at the Green Cathedral and was holding the wedding reception at the conference centre. The wedding itself was spectacular, but it was such a disappointment to stay in overpriced, dirty accommodation that we had to book for a minimum of two nights.

With so many lovely beach houses to rent in the area (also for a 2 night minimum), the only reason why you would stay here would be if you were to be attending a wedding and had no designated driver.

Our cabin clearly had not been used in some time as the floor was very dirty on arrival, there were cobwebs everywhere and smelt very musty. It was budget accommodation, without the budget price tag.

Our cabin, a lakeside ensusite cabin ($155 per night) was in desperate need of a revamp. Very grotty vinyl floors and a fridge with a very strange thermostat ... froze our milk, fruit and champagne overnight (so much for a champagne breakfast to top off a lovely wedding weekend). When I politely mentioned this to the staff this at check-out, the issue was almost shrugged off.

This venue knows they will get a decent number of guests due to the weddings held here. I doubt they get many repeat guests staying here, certainly not those who have stayed in the lakeside cabins).

Room Tip: The beach side of the park appears to have newer accommodation than the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    8
    13
    49
See reviews for
43
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Where to begin? Since we were attending a friends wedding, the prices more than doubled over that weekend for a very ordinary cabin.
The 'Sand Dune' cabin itself was damp, dusty, mouldy and full of sand (to be expected in a beach locale, but in the bed before we have even stayed a night?)
No fly screens, so hassled by mozzies constantly. Every surface dirty and sticky. Mildew permeates the air. Just generally a very dark, dirty and depressing cabin at an exorbitant price.
Couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Avoid the Sand Dune cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BowerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blueys Beach hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I recently had my Wedding at Sundowner Tiona Tourist Park.
I had 100 guests who all stayed at the park and everyone was so happy with their accommodation. The wedding Co-ordinator that I dealt with leading up to my wedding was extremely helpful in all of the planning-she literally went over and beyond her call of duty! All staff were friendly and helpful over the week that I stayed there. It was so nice to go into the Reception and be greeted with a friendly smile.
I stayed in the Lake House for a week. The Lake House has a huge balcony overlooking the lake and the conference centre, a beautiful kitchen to cook in 2 bedrooms upstairs and a bunk room downstairs. I can't say anything negative about Sundowner Tiona-I had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I had a wonderful experience at Sundowner Tiona. My partner and I love the beach, and Sundowner is in the perfect location - so close to Seven mile beach. The local cafes and restaurants proved to be a great place for us to enjoy our meals, whilst the staff at Sundowner were so friendly and helpful. It was altogether a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I went to Sundowner Tiona for the autumn long weekend for a couple of nights. It was a delight to be there. We were just camping to save some money and the people there made our experience. The camp site provided a great way to meet other couples and families, all keen to mingle and have a drink. The staff were also a delight and extremely helpful.

It was my first camping experience and after that I would happily go again and return to the site also. ANZAC Day proved extra special too, with the friendly staff advising us the hot spot in town which was a blast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luci321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Have just returned home (thankfully) from a two night stay at the Sundowner Park at Tiona.
Well all I can say is that was the worst accomodation I have ever seen in any park, EVER!!!!
We stayed in the Beachside ensuite cabins, $115/night.
I know this was a budget stay for a wedding but this had to be the dirtiest place. Thank GOD for disinfectant wipes. I have pics if anyone doubts my authenticity.
The table, for eating at, you couldn't even buy at an OP shop... They wouldn't accept it. Bathroom was an absolute disgrace.... Glad to be home for a nice shower and get clean.... OH, the water was hot and the pressure was good...That's the best to be said... Our neighbours bathroom was leaking in the rain, water pouring in over the light switch.... response.... Here are some extra towels!!!
First time there and last time, that's for sure. Notice their website doesn't have a comments section.... Very telling!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank befrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blueys Beach
1.1 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Studios Beach Villas
Aqua Studios Beach Villas
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blueys by the Beach Motel
Blueys by the Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Blueys Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Tiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Tiona

Property: Sundowner Tiona
Address: The Lakes Way, Tiona, Blueys Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blueys Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blueys Beach
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sundowner Tiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing