We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenswood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ravenswood B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
929 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,212 helpful votes
“Great views, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of 6 friends went to the Ravenswood Hotel for a Sunday lunch and had a very average experience.
The views are great but the meals are large and tasteless not one of our group enjoyed or finished their meal.
The seafood chowder was average and the chicken snitzel, fish and chips were tasteless.
My grilled barramundi was unedible.
All in all a very underated food experience in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Capel, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group in April. The pub is situated in a perfect location right on the river. The accommodation next to the hotel is being used as a cash cow by the owner (who introduced himself at 11:30 at night asking us to stop talking outside our hotel room). It is obvious that no money has been put back into the units. We stayed in room 4 which is right at the front. The bathroom door doesn't fit properly and makes a loud noise when you close it, the plumbing in the shower and toilet are shared and we found this out when flushing the toilet - poo came up into the shower. The shower wouldn't drain properly either and out the back of our room on the walking path was sewerage.

We had family staying in the back units which look modern and very nice. On closer inspection, again it is clear no money has been spent on maintenance and upkeep. The carpets were trashed and furniture damaged. The most disappointing part of our stay was the owners attitude to us. We had booked a number of the front rooms on the river but on our arrival found we all had to shuffle around. We found out that room one wasn't available (even though friends had booked it) when the owner waltzed out of that very room and told us to be quiet (but not in so many nice words).

On the upside, the staff are friendly and hospitable. I just hope the owner is looking after them better than he is looking after the accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 6 are at the front and look straight onto the river. They are outdated but haven't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twistie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ravenswood hotels

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic location right on the riverbank, but the hotel is very old and in bad need of a spruce up. It's a real shame that this gorgeous location has turned into a bit of a dive.
The meals are huge but they lack quality. We got burnt chips and overcooked fish for $24 and help yourself to the salad bar. There were a lot of flies in the dining room. The waitstaff were scruffy and acted like they really couldn't care less whether you enjoyed your time there or not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have lived in Perth all my life and have never made it to the Ravenswood Hotel but heard alot about it.What a find.Travelling back from Bunbury we turned off the Highway and 5 mins down the road came to the Hotel.It is an old place situated on the river.Plenty of seating inside the pub, restaurant and outside all around the river with tables and grassed areas.Kids paradise.We ordered a meal from the restaurant and it came within 15 mins.You collect your own meal when your number alights on the black box and helped yourself to the salad bar.I have never had a meal that size in my life.It was massive and of great quality.I had the salt & pepper squis and my husband had a T bone.I will definately be having the steak next time and asking for no chips otherwise it is just too much to eat.Staff were friendly,attentive and were working hard.It was a Sunday afternoon and was packed but you were still able to find a table.Sitting in the sun and watching all the boats come and go down the river was perfect.Ducks & seagulls everywhere but it was extremly clean around the eating areas.Great place to stop on a cruise and there were lots of vintage cars in the car park.Couldnt recommend this place highly enough and will be making a return trip very soon

Room Tip: Make a day of it and take fishing rods for the kids or a dingy.Perfect spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here in a riverside motel room. Its a brilliant place to visit when you're out on your boat or touring around. Good atmosphere, live music, good food, huge portions. All good. And then there's the accommodation. Two bedroomed chalets are what you'd expect but the motel rooms...... Pretty disgraceful to charge full price with the excuse that they're being upgraded. So, how can you charge full price? They certainly needed upgrading. The bed was good, comfortable and clean. The rest was pretty disgusting. Inside was mostly clean but everywhere was bashed, damaged and scratched. Very depressing. The wardrobe door had a large piece of the 'veneer' torn off exposing the chipboard underneath in sharp contrast to the dark 'veneer' of the rest. The fridge looked like it had been picked up off a tip. The side facing the room was rusty and horrible. It did work however. It was very disappointing. Apart from the accommodation the rest of our stay was good. In the words of a previous reviewer 'Great place for a beer on the Murray River. A place to unwind and enjoy life' but in my words, don't expect too much of the riverside motel rooms!!

Room Tip: Avoid riverside motel rooms unless they have been upgraded!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolklady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the river front rooms for a Saturday night. To start we were given the wrong keys to a room that was already occupied, upon entering the room there was a very strong smell of air fresher which wasnt very pleasant. Trying to watch the footy on the tv which required constant banging as the screen kept turning yellow, very poor water pressure and not adequate hot water, has tea/coffee provided but no little milks in the fridge. The double bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab. Not a place for kids as its not a nice sight to see drunks staggering back to the caravan park at 4pm! and urinating anywhere like dogs right in front of the motel rooms once the sun was down. Not a pleasant stay at all, value for money is poor for the condition of the rooms but in a beautiful location which is why they can probably charge $110 per night. Get better for your $ and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnRach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I live down the road.

This is a place for locals to unwind and enjoy life, tie up the boat have a beer listen to a local band and maybe grab a feed. All good.

A pint of lcal beer $7.50

Room Tip: Accomodation better ring but there pretty helpful here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenswood
7.5 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
7.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pinjarra Motel
Pinjarra Motel
#1 of 1 in Pinjarra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Lakeside Holiday Apartments
#1 of 1 in South Yunderup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Resort Villas
River Resort Villas
#1 of 1 in South Yunderup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Hotel

Property: Ravenswood Hotel
Address: Lot 65 Lloyd Ave, Ravenswood, Western Australia 6208, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Ravenswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ravenswood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Murray River WA, the Ravenswood Hotel is renowned for its idyllic setting, live entertainment, great food and friendly atmosphere. Offering a truly unique experience for visitors anytime of year, the Ravenswood Hotel is only a 50 minute drive from Perth (turn left at Pinjarra Road freeway exit). From humble beginnings as a wheat farm in 1838, the Ravenswood Hotel is now a historic slice of Australiana. Ravenswood Hotel is your traditional pub, offering pool tables, regular live entertainment and pub-style accommodation with 14 rooms in a relaxed setting. Ravenswood Hotel offers rooms that cater to all travellers whether it be for singles, couples, groups or families. The rooms we offer include double rooms, triple rooms and 2 bedroom suites which all come equipped with ensuite bathrooms, air conditioning, television, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and disabled access. The charming riverside Restaurant and Lounge Bar provides hearty, affordable bistro dining, seven days a week for lunch and dinner. With the natural presence and old world charm of this majestic property coupled with adjacent motel and chalet accommodation it is the perfect venue for weddings, functions or any celebration. We look forward to welcoming you at the Ravenswood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ravenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing