We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for Fitness Junkies!”

Kokoda Trail Memorial Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome for Fitness Junkies!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The 1000 steps trail is steep, long and very tiring. But beautiful scenery, lovely fresh air and great for fitness junkies! Highly recommend for a day with your friends of fitness followed by a BBQ at the base. Beautiful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“1000 steps”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We love this! A great walk. Not for the unfit! Its a bit of a hike from the carpark! Lovely scenery and a great tribute

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great walk and as challenging as you make it”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Affectionally known as the 1000 steps, the Kokoda Trail Memorial Walk is dedicated to those forces who served in Kokoda during the war. The 1000 steps represent the harsh conditions they faced and provides a fantastic perspective to anyone that walks it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlinandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great cardiovascular workout”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Once you get past half way it gets easier, my third time going up gets easier the more you do it pack light and dress appropriate to the weather, I recommend not wearing to many jackets if cold you'll warm up pretty quickly, bring some food and drinks bbq area in park.

Helpful?
Thank moonstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"1,000 Steps"”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Kokoda Trail Memorial Walk is a challenging yet rewarding experience..

We took the stair trail on the way up and down, a challenging track to walk but totally amazing at the same time.
The small memorial statues and plaques along the way help give you a glimpse and put it into perspective of the struggles our soldiers had to overcome when walking Kokoda.

I did the 1,000 step trail with a friend who was twice as fit as what I am, which made our competency levels completely different and she was able to complete it faster than what I could. I recommend an iPod so you can do the trail at your own pace, don't try and keep up with other people or you will tire yourself out twice as fast.

Be mindful there are two small hills on the way up from the carpark to the start or the trail, if you think these are daunting, think again!

1,000 steps cafe located near the top carpark, toilet facilities available as well as BBQ areas and playgrounds for the kids.

Recommended - Comfortable walking clothes & shoes, water bottle (don't forget yours like I did!).

A truly amazing experience to be able to walk this trail, something you must do and definitely a bucket list item for me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sharnz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokoda Trail Memorial Walk also viewed

Dandenong, Greater Melbourne
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Kokoda Trail Memorial Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing