We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Luna - a triumph”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Myrrhee B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The setting and accommodation at Casa Luna is excellent. We enjoyed two nights there mid week. Gwenda and David are relaxed, helpful and provided us with lovely, well cooked food. We enjoyed our stay immensely and had a wonderful time exploring the King Valley and beyond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

David and I so pleased we were able to make your recent stay at Casa Luna so enjoyable. Its our 10th birthday this year, so we will be letting you know of a few birthday parties we have in mind. Keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the lovely king bed units. The accommodation was roomy with plenty of storage and stylishly decorated. The private decks gave a relaxing outlook over the fields and hills, with plenty of farm animals and bird life to take away the stresses of city living.
Gwenda and David were wonderful hosts and each morning served up a different breakfast menu, using fresh local produce. We enjoyed a wine matched dinner on the first night and on short notice a two course meal on the second night. Both beautifully cooked.
Cassa Luna is quite a drive from dining places in Milawa and Whitfield so it was a treat to be able to sample high quality food and wine on the same property as the accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Good food experiences make Casa Luna a unique accommodation option in the area, and we find our guests, like you, enjoy relaxing after a day touring the King Valley, and tasting in the in the family-operated wineries, without having to drive anywhere for dinner. We love cooking for and serving our guests. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did plan to stay here but getting in touch with or getting responses from Casa Luna was a protracted process at best. The phone generally went to an answering machine and when you did get through promises of responses were generally not followed through. In addition the web site was misleading, with room descriptions and photographs being mixed. We sought advice and confirmation on a room and it took numerous requests for this - by phone and email - and it took a month before we finally had any sort of confirmation of our booking; even then we were not told which room we had been allocated. Finally, just after we had received this incomplete confirmation our plans changed - still over six weeks before our booking date - and we were charged a $30 cancellation fee. Given the time we had to waste chasing responses to some simple questions, which were never fully answered, and the notice we gave, we felt it a cheek they charged any fee - and the fee was above that quoted in their booking section ($25). You would expect better customer service, we will not be re-booking.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

I'm really sorry that you did not check the Casa Luna cancellation policy detailed on our website, in spite of my recommendation to do so in all my communication with you, including my confirmation letter. I will ensure that I amplify this even more, to avoid any confusion to other guests in the future. Mostly I am sorry that you will not be enjoying the Casa Luna experience, as have other guests, including the Trip Advisor reviewers, who actually stayed here. Hopefully, we can welcome you on another occasion, and show you the pleasures of the Casa Luna experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is one of our most favourite places to stay in Regional Victoria. Gwenda and David are fantastic hosts and the food and accommodation doesn't get much better than is. The food is fabulous and definitely worth a drive.....the nightly menu is printed and put on the table as is the breakfast of the day, not many accommodation places have food as good as this ...definitely recommended for a romantic get away , whilst children are welcome I'm sure they could get terribly bored whilst you sit and drink in the view with Proseco in hand!!

Room Tip: Go for the King suites....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBZCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we are so happy that your experience was enjoyable. We look forward to another return visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just came back from King Valley where we spent the weekend, we stayed at Casa Luna and I'm glad for my choice, I couldn't ask for a better place.
The view is absolutely beautiful, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful.
The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed and the hosts Gwenda and David are really nice people and very hospitable.
The food Gweda cooks is delicious and fresh and the collection of cookbooks is amazing.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiklaYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thanks you for your great comments on Casa Luna. Glad you enjoyed our "wall of cookbooks", my addiction, especially those on the regional foods of Italy. I look forward to the opportunity to cook for you again - perhaps at one of our special events?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I went for the weekend. Gwenda and David are easy going congenial hosts. You get a generous glass of local wine on arrival.

The dining room has an open fire. The bookshelves have the best collection of French and Italian cookbooks and travel books I have seen.

Breakfast was really good. it varied. On Saturday it was a traditional big breakfast. On Sunday there was the choice of eggs, mushrooms with parmesan.

Dinner was excellent. A 3 course set menu. Mushroom and ricotta soup. Pork and fennell. Then pistachio tart.

There was a great view from the room. Vines growing on the sides of the hills.

Television was a bit small.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Lovely that you both enjoyed your stay at Casa Luna. Just a note - the TVs have since been replaced with digital ones. However, next visit you might choose to stay in one of our newer King Suites - everything there is bigger and roomier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I used Casa Luna as a base for exploring the King Valley & Alpine Valley regions. It's a lovely place, well hosted and with good food. We found it to be located very conveniently for visiting local wineries, restaurants and other food places like the cheese factory in Milawa and EV Olives in Markwood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation

Address: 1569 Boggy Creek Rd, Myrrhee, Victoria 3732, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Myrrhee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Myrrhee
Price Range: $140 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing