We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Door Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monticello Inn(Monticello)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine View Resort(Monticello)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(West Lafayette)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
68
19
5
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
19
5
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfire pitsee you next yeartheir websiteother guestsfamily gatheringsunday morninglarge familycabanatowelsboatdocksikeaweekendindianasummerbedding
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Steve is so nice and accommodating. LOved our Big Cabana 7 for the 7 of us. Boat access right across the street was great along with JAKES family restaurant/bar & grill to grab a bite if we didn't feel like cooking. We like trying different places and we give this 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

After coming to Monticello for many, many years we thought we would try the new "Blue Door Cottages". Although they were clean and new, they were not very comfortable. There was no closet OR drawers of any type in the room with 2 beds. We stacked our clothes on a bedside (drawerless) side table. No place for anything in the bathroom and the same for the small kitchen. It was almost as if they got started and then didn't finish. We were disappointed and are returning to one of mainstays.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallysmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Just returned from a family vacation to Monticello, IN. A great family location. We have a 15, 12 and 1 year old and all enjoyed!

The Blue Door Cottages are reasonably priced and updated cottages. The linens are quality and the beds are comfortable. It is a cozy environment in which it is easy to get to know other families staying as well. We stayed in a single bungalow and had just enough room for our family of 5. There is a nice selection of lawn games, DVDs, board games, etc. to check out.

A few cons... the water is hard and has a high iron content. It smells and stains fixtures, etc. easily. I am sure it is due to the lake and nothing they can control. The amenities in the kitchen were lacking a bit. There were dishes to eat off of, but not much to prep or store food. The pool is not heated, so if it is cooler out, it is cold!!

We lost our key and have to pay a $70 fee which is a bit steep.

We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expressions76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We rented Bungalow Cottage #8 for the Memorial Day Weekend. As one of the kids said, it was magical! The cottage was very clean, cute and comfortable. The beds were also amazingly comfortable! The cottages are new, with none of the musty- mildew smell of older cottages. We were able to enjoy docking the boat nearby, playing "bags" or cornhole, having a campfire complete with s'mores, grilling out, etc.

The only suggestion I might have for someone planning on a stay is to check out what stuff you need to bring. tiny things like salt and pepper for the corn on the cob. Although the host was more than gracious enough to allow us to borrow his salt.

The owners are very helpful via email, and as I said the host was a delight. We, as a family, enjoyed our stay and really did not want to leave and have it be over. That is the marking of a great vacation.

We would definitely recommend Blue Door Cottages to anyone, and I have over 100 pictures to prove our good time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaDChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My family of 4 (6 & 3 year old) shared the Big Cabana with my brother & sister in law and their 6 & 5 year olds. It was perfect! The cabana is split down the middle with the full kitchen and living space. We each had our own bathroom, king & queen size beds. Everything was immaculate and refreshing. The beds and bedding were amazing and you just fell into them at night.

They are minutes from Indiana Beach where we spent the first day. We ate across the street at the Shafer Yacht Club, which was delicious. The smothered fries are fantastic!

The next day we decided to stay at the resort. There was so much to do! They have beanbags/cornhole, swimming in the pool, and we borrowed their badminton set for the day. There was plenty for us to do that we never left the resort & never were bored.

Blue Door Cottages is the place to go for a relaxing family friendly vacation

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank meb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews