We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall enjoyed our stay, but it is way closer to a three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall enjoyed our stay, but it is way closer to a three star hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My Husband and I went to the Club Maeva on March 22, 2010. We spent three nights there with the All-Incusive plan.
This was our first time in Tampico so we didn't really know what to expect. The Hotel was easy to find, we drove
in from Monterrey and the drive was not long. Check In was fast, we got two keys with a string, a TV remote, and two towel cards
for a max two towels a day at the pool. On this trip we decided to upgrade a little, we had a Jr Suite on the second floor right
infront of the stage in the main plaza.
Only the Jr suites have a full view of the ocean, which was blocked by trees.
The Hotel set up is old fashion to be nice and the elevators were extremely slow. It was faster to just climb the stairs to our
room, which was located at the top of staircase,
than take the elevator.
It may have been the location of our room, or maybe the fact that we had the lobby bar two floors down the open stairwell outside of it,
but we could hear everything that happened in the lobby till it closed at two.
In regards to the room, it was clean.
the furnuture did look a little worn but the sheets and towels were spotless. The balcony was roomy and comfy, and we were able to
watch the night shows right from it.
The food did not impress us very much. for the most part it was the same things for each meal every day.
We did get a complimentary dinner at the Juana Cata, the
fine Italin, Mexican resturant next door. The food there was impressive and original, very tasty.
Before I finish I must comment on the state of the rest of the facility. There are three pools: one for adults only, two for
everyone, and one of those is heated. ALL of them need to be replastered and painted. There are two hot tubs in the adult area,
but only one was working. The bar there was limited to coke, diet coke, mineral water. The liquors available were below bottom shelf
"El Charro" Tequila, give me a break. The tennis raquets should have been thrown away. one of them drew blood on my husband's forearm,
and the courts themselves were full of sand and water around the edges, and in need of a couple of patches.
Overall enjoyed our stay, but it is way closer to a three star hotel
than a five star resort. Would probably not go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sdhall2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    35
    26
    24
See reviews for
66
21
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The employees at the resort were very nice but very few spoke any English so there was a language problem. The adult pools are across a main drag street that you have to cross over to get to the beach. The entertainment at night was sooooooooo loud...it kept us awake. The food was same ol' stuff every day & night...pretty blah blah. The fancy restaurant on the property though had wonderful food. The place was 90% vacant and little to do...the weather was cold, cloudy & wet...no place to go sightseeing & feel safe. We changed rooms 3 times before we got an acceptable one but not the one we wanted...We also arrived late from being laid over in Mexico City for hours & hours, when we checked in it was almost midnight on Friday & they still insisted we pay in full for the hotel room for the night...it also supposedly included breakfast but the next morning we checked in for our exchange week & had to pay all inclusive anyway...we could have used that breakfast the day we left. Overall the beaches are pretty clean & the area is too. Oh yeah! the room we got had a "kitchenette" but that was it, no dishes, silverware, coffee pot, iron, etc. very strange to have a kitchenette but be unable to use it because you don't have any tools.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kghSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had an excellent time, facilities(four pools, plus great beach), food, and floor show was excellent--very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I am currently staying in this hotel and it is not very accomodating for a solo traveler. The staff makes u feel strange for being alone. Everything here is a 2nd rate version of a really nice beach resort.
It's a terrible stay for business. There is no wireless In your room only yht lobby and the supposed business
center closes at 5pm.
The staff is very friendly but only if you speak Spanish.
The standard rooms are hideous! They give a motel feel. I didn't want to upgrade to the other rooms becuase the linens are basically all the same. I chose to stay here because of the awesome beach location but realized that it's worth staying at a regular hotel and pay for a cab to the beach instead of feeling akward for my whole stay here. I wish someone couldve told me.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Femebiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Went to the hotel and hired the only meals plan. i dont regret it since it included the lunch from the all-inclusive plan, and the rest of the meals weren't really good at all. it is much better to eat-out.

that was pretty much the best part of the service we received, first of all, the beach houses from the hotel had rusty nails everywhere, and they were really really dangerous specially because we went with 3 young kids.

people from reception treated us really bad, specially the chief of reception. they didn't help us anytime we needed something from them, they only listened but did nothing.

the worst part of all was that after we stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, we checked out on-time on sunday 12:00pm, but our flight was not until 9:00pm, and people from reception said we couldn't stay there, unless we payed an extra night for everybody. otherwise we weren't allowed to use ANYTHING, couldn't go to the restaurant, to the pool, couldn't use the toilets or anything that wasn't the sofa at the loby.

I looked on the internet to place a complaint, but I could never find where.

For sure I will never attend to any Maeva.

Luis Flores Calderón
México City

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lflores41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ciudad Madero hotels

Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The staff (animators, maids and restaurant service ) are really good; the hotel is always clean, but really old, I had a Villa, the baths are olds, the furniture is really old,
they do have buffette price/performance is poor, If you do not look out for quality just quantity is ok.
Drinks are very entry level and only nationals are included, the nightly daily show is really good, I think is the best, beach club is nice, no people to take the drink or snack to your place.
So, even I like the people attending, I will not came back, I prefer to try something different.
A lot family and US senior people.

If you look for a great service with regular room facilities and average food, you will like this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Club Maeva was definitely worth the money. My husband, 9 yr old daughter, my sister and I wanted to relax on a beach for Spring break but didn't want all the crazy college kids around. He has family in Monterrey so we wanted a decent, quite, pretty beach to vacation at. I found Club Maeva online with Bestday.com. We paid $375 total for 3 days and 2 nights, which included all you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Alcoholic beverages were served all day, near the pool and lobby areas. It was relaxing and peaceful like we wanted and the beach was beautiful. The sand is brown but the water is clear. There were 2 things that I didn't like.....the food wasn't fabulous but decent and the beds were super hard, but what do you expect for an all inclusive resort at a cheap price!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Madero
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#13 of 29 in Tampico
8 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Posada de Tampico
Hotel Posada de Tampico
#5 of 29 in Tampico
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenas del Mar
Arenas del Mar
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Madero
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Tampico Aeropuerto
4.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal Tampico
Hotel Grand Royal Tampico
#23 of 29 in Tampico
31 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Tampico
Comfort Inn Tampico
#11 of 29 in Tampico
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Maeva Miramar Tampico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Maeva Miramar Tampico

Property: Club Maeva Miramar Tampico
Address: Boulevard Costero s/n | Playa Mirarmar, Ciudad Madero 89540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Tamaulipas > Ciudad Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Maeva Miramar Tampico 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Maeva Miramar Tampico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico Hotel Tampico
Hotel Maeva Miramar Tampico
Club Maeva Tampico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing