We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel, basic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The staff (animators, maids and restaurant service ) are really good; the hotel is always clean, but really old, I had a Villa, the baths are olds, the furniture is really old,
they do have buffette price/performance is poor, If you do not look out for quality just quantity is ok.
Drinks are very entry level and only nationals are included, the nightly daily show is really good, I think is the best, beach club is nice, no people to take the drink or snack to your place.
So, even I like the people attending, I will not came back, I prefer to try something different.
A lot family and US senior people.

If you look for a great service with regular room facilities and average food, you will like this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

Club Maeva was definitely worth the money. My husband, 9 yr old daughter, my sister and I wanted to relax on a beach for Spring break but didn't want all the crazy college kids around. He has family in Monterrey so we wanted a decent, quite, pretty beach to vacation at. I found Club Maeva online with Bestday.com. We paid $375 total for 3 days and 2 nights, which included all you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Alcoholic beverages were served all day, near the pool and lobby areas. It was relaxing and peaceful like we wanted and the beach was beautiful. The sand is brown but the water is clear. There were 2 things that I didn't like.....the food wasn't fabulous but decent and the beds were super hard, but what do you expect for an all inclusive resort at a cheap price!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrissey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We didn't pre-book and were travelling out of season. We were a party of 4 Britons who were made to feel very welcome. The staff were friendly and helpful and many of them spoke English. Those who didn't, enjoyed our attempts at Spanish. The facilities are good and the beach is wonderful. In-season it must be wonderful! The only down side was the live entertainment/music outside our window until the early hours, but if you are watching it, or at the disco, this would not be a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardiffBluesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We loved the Hotel. The Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay fun.
It is a Mexican Resort mostly Mexican families which makes going their perfect especially for the authentic food. There is quite a variety of food and all is very tastey.
The Hotel and surroundings looks just like in the brochure which sometimes is not always the case.
It is very clean, infact one day we saw Housekeeping Staff sweeping the road and sidewalk outside the Hotel gates.
The speciality restaurant is very posh and not at all expected.
The golf was marvelous, a great coarse surrounded by beautiful houses.
The beach is wonderful you can walk for miles, it is cleaned every morning and vendors come around and sell crab empanadas and shrimp which were delicious. We never go on the beach but this time we stayed on it the whole 2 weeks we were there.
The entertainment was good, sure it was mostly in Spanish but hello this is Mexico and when in Mexico do as the Mexicans do and Enjoy....is what we did.
We will go back again this year and many more years in the future.
MA Mississauga Ontario

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaryAnnMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

The hotel is a very good 3 star resort. It is certainly not a 5 star resort. It is very nice for a low price.

For the very low price that i paid i was very satisifed. The resort is kept very clean and security is very good. The beach is actually very beautiful and nice. The beach was much nicer than i had expected from some of these reviews. The pool and beach areas are kept in very nice condition. Very clean for Mexican resort standards.

Dont be fooled it is a very nice three star resort if you can get it cheap. I would certainly not pay anything over a three star price for it. Stay here if you can get it cheap like i did.

There is a very nice convenience store and subway in the pemex accross the street. They spoke no english please note.

Another note the hotel does have some staff that speak very good english. The only thing is that you need to ask for those people as only 25% of the staff speaks english. They do a very good job of making sure there are english speakers in the main spots such as the restaurant and check in but you need to ask for them. They do speak very good english but if you have no spanish speakers you might want to consider an american resort in cancun, puerto vallarta, or acapulco.

overall i would recommend it if you can get it cheap and like a relaxing vacation in somewhere a little more unique and fun than the american resort hotels. I really liked the fact that Tampico is much more unique and different than the American reosrt hotels of cancun, puerto vallarata etc where you only need to speak english etc. Here i really felt like i was on a unique and fun vacation. I enjoyed my stay very much and it was a great price for all inclusive

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skiutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

I spent two days at the Maeva and while the service was pleasant and the rooms clean, I found it to be terribly overpriced for what they offered. The rooms are what one might expect for around $50 U.S. in a more developed tourist area like Puerto Vallarta or Cancun: very basic, a little run down, but clean. The food was very repetitive and seemed like a lot of it was leftover reheated a few times too many. And this is unfortunate because there are not a lot of other places to eat in this area (except "El Pollo Marino" about 8 blocks up the beach for great shrimp cocktail). I also thought the hotel was understaffed - at the reception desk, the bell boys, pool bar, and dining area. Basically, it didn't live up to its price tag. I hope they get it together because Tampico's (really they are Ciudad Madero's) beaches are beautiful and it would be nice to have a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank xinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We just spent a week at Club Maeva Miramar which is situated on beautiful Miramar beach in Ciudad Madero-Tampico, Mexico. The Miramar beach area is a 10 km stretch of beautiful sandy beach giving the area great potential to be an international vacation destination. They may be moving in that direction as there were a couple of newer hotels as well as a lot of land preparation taking place while we were there—truckload after truckload of sand being moved as well as the ongoing drone of bulldozers and graters all day long. Club Maeva Miramar has seen better days but it would appear they are making efforts to restore it to its former glory as there were renovations underway during our stay. This is good for the future of the resort but did not make our stay as enjoyable as we were hoping.
Upon our arrival at the Tampico airport (after over 13 hours of travel with transfers at 2 airports), we were met unexpectedly by a non-English speaking representative from the resort. Luckily, I noticed the placard he was carrying had the name of the resort on it and with our names printed on a piece of paper we realized he was there to transport us to the resort. This was a nice surprise; however it would have been nice to know that a shuttle would be waiting for us because we had already solicited the services of a taxi…which we had to “undo”.
We had booked a 2 bedroom unit described as a “Villa”; which really turned out to be a very old cabana well away from the main resort buildings, pools and activities. After advising the front desk of our displeasure with the accommodation, we were moved to an “ordinary” hotel unit in the main building. We were happy with this room (although it had a rather unpleasant musty smell) but the next day we were upgraded to another larger 1 bedroom suite with an ocean view. We arrived on a Saturday night and the resort was fairly busy Sunday but it appeared to be just weekend guests—local Mexicans taking advantage of a special weekend offer. The next few days there were barely a dozen guests. This meant that it did not make sense to put on the large buffet meals that are the norm at most all-inclusive resorts. Instead we were seated, and then given few choices—as best translated as possible given the lack of English speaking servers. On the whole, all staff were friendly however, we did find the evening entertainment disappointing because there was no translation into English (with the exception of an attempt one show), or any other language for that matter--something that is normally done at other vacation destination all-inclusive resorts--a point Club Maeva Miramar may wish to take into consideration should they wish to draw vacationers from other countries. The lack of guests and thus the lack of food choices at meal times and the lack of activities as well as the constant noise of working being done on the resort premises as well as on the land surrounding the resort, made for a very disappointing vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babalui55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Madero
0.3 mi away
Arenas del Mar
Arenas del Mar
#3 of 7 in Ciudad Madero
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#19 of 29 in Tampico
10 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Posada de Tampico
Hotel Posada de Tampico
#5 of 29 in Tampico
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Tampico Aeropuerto
4.9 mi away
Rio Vista Inn
Rio Vista Inn
#4 of 29 in Tampico
67 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Tampico
Comfort Inn Tampico
#11 of 29 in Tampico
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Maeva Miramar Tampico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Maeva Miramar Tampico

Address: Boulevard Costero s/n | Playa Mirarmar, Ciudad Madero 89540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Tamaulipas > Ciudad Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
Price Range: $55 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Maeva Miramar Tampico 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Maeva Miramar Tampico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico Hotel Tampico
Hotel Maeva Miramar Tampico
Club Maeva Tampico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing