We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good for the price. If its not cheap you can do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good for the price. If its not cheap you can do better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

The hotel is a very good 3 star resort. It is certainly not a 5 star resort. It is very nice for a low price.

For the very low price that i paid i was very satisifed. The resort is kept very clean and security is very good. The beach is actually very beautiful and nice. The beach was much nicer than i had expected from some of these reviews. The pool and beach areas are kept in very nice condition. Very clean for Mexican resort standards.

Dont be fooled it is a very nice three star resort if you can get it cheap. I would certainly not pay anything over a three star price for it. Stay here if you can get it cheap like i did.

There is a very nice convenience store and subway in the pemex accross the street. They spoke no english please note.

Another note the hotel does have some staff that speak very good english. The only thing is that you need to ask for those people as only 25% of the staff speaks english. They do a very good job of making sure there are english speakers in the main spots such as the restaurant and check in but you need to ask for them. They do speak very good english but if you have no spanish speakers you might want to consider an american resort in cancun, puerto vallarta, or acapulco.

overall i would recommend it if you can get it cheap and like a relaxing vacation in somewhere a little more unique and fun than the american resort hotels. I really liked the fact that Tampico is much more unique and different than the American reosrt hotels of cancun, puerto vallarata etc where you only need to speak english etc. Here i really felt like i was on a unique and fun vacation. I enjoyed my stay very much and it was a great price for all inclusive

  • Liked — felt very safe. good security for mexico
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skiutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    32
    25
    24
See reviews for
64
20
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

I spent two days at the Maeva and while the service was pleasant and the rooms clean, I found it to be terribly overpriced for what they offered. The rooms are what one might expect for around $50 U.S. in a more developed tourist area like Puerto Vallarta or Cancun: very basic, a little run down, but clean. The food was very repetitive and seemed like a lot of it was leftover reheated a few times too many. And this is unfortunate because there are not a lot of other places to eat in this area (except "El Pollo Marino" about 8 blocks up the beach for great shrimp cocktail). I also thought the hotel was understaffed - at the reception desk, the bell boys, pool bar, and dining area. Basically, it didn't live up to its price tag. I hope they get it together because Tampico's (really they are Ciudad Madero's) beaches are beautiful and it would be nice to have a good place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank xinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

We just spent a week at Club Maeva Miramar which is situated on beautiful Miramar beach in Ciudad Madero-Tampico, Mexico. The Miramar beach area is a 10 km stretch of beautiful sandy beach giving the area great potential to be an international vacation destination. They may be moving in that direction as there were a couple of newer hotels as well as a lot of land preparation taking place while we were there—truckload after truckload of sand being moved as well as the ongoing drone of bulldozers and graters all day long. Club Maeva Miramar has seen better days but it would appear they are making efforts to restore it to its former glory as there were renovations underway during our stay. This is good for the future of the resort but did not make our stay as enjoyable as we were hoping.
Upon our arrival at the Tampico airport (after over 13 hours of travel with transfers at 2 airports), we were met unexpectedly by a non-English speaking representative from the resort. Luckily, I noticed the placard he was carrying had the name of the resort on it and with our names printed on a piece of paper we realized he was there to transport us to the resort. This was a nice surprise; however it would have been nice to know that a shuttle would be waiting for us because we had already solicited the services of a taxi…which we had to “undo”.
We had booked a 2 bedroom unit described as a “Villa”; which really turned out to be a very old cabana well away from the main resort buildings, pools and activities. After advising the front desk of our displeasure with the accommodation, we were moved to an “ordinary” hotel unit in the main building. We were happy with this room (although it had a rather unpleasant musty smell) but the next day we were upgraded to another larger 1 bedroom suite with an ocean view. We arrived on a Saturday night and the resort was fairly busy Sunday but it appeared to be just weekend guests—local Mexicans taking advantage of a special weekend offer. The next few days there were barely a dozen guests. This meant that it did not make sense to put on the large buffet meals that are the norm at most all-inclusive resorts. Instead we were seated, and then given few choices—as best translated as possible given the lack of English speaking servers. On the whole, all staff were friendly however, we did find the evening entertainment disappointing because there was no translation into English (with the exception of an attempt one show), or any other language for that matter--something that is normally done at other vacation destination all-inclusive resorts--a point Club Maeva Miramar may wish to take into consideration should they wish to draw vacationers from other countries. The lack of guests and thus the lack of food choices at meal times and the lack of activities as well as the constant noise of working being done on the resort premises as well as on the land surrounding the resort, made for a very disappointing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babalui55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ciudad Madero hotels

California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

The staff is friendly, and they will do everything to keep the guests happy, and I mean everything. We requested that our rooms be darkened because we like to sleep in absolute darkness, and we really said it half jokingly because we never thought they would do this, but they actually went to town and bought a piece of dark material to cover our windows. It didn't work too well, but the fact that they went the extra mile was truly amazing.
The food was delicious, and they had great variety. We found tons of activities, and their nightly talent shows were very much the highlight of the trip. We loved them, and so did our friends and the kids.
Their miniclub was outstanding, and our kids never wanted to leave, so we ended spending some couple time together, which was a definite added bonus to our vacation.
The rooms were clean, the pools very nicely maintained. They have a special pool for adults only called the Solarium. The Juana Cata Restaurant is like a Michelin five star, which is quiet unexpected for this place.
The beach was very nice, and the water was warm, and we loved it.
In short: Totally worth your time, and your buck!!!!!!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff, and their willingness to serve us in every way possible
  • Disliked — No complains.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldtraveler73_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Il. 60007
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

I loved it and want to come back. I enjoyed the staff and everyone was extremely friendly and I am still in contact with a few of the workers. I love to meet new people and stay in contact with them no matter how far away they may be. A few have had children and I have gotten pictures. It really was a an amazing experience to have such devoted employees and to become friends with them. Never have I stayed in a hotel were the employees were real and friendly. I would recommend to anyone to go there and have a great time eating, drinking and watching the shows each and every night. You get more for your money than any other tourist spot in Mexico I think. I will return for sure! I still have many nice photos of the employees and views. Thank you everyone there for showing what an excellent staff the hotel has hired! Muchas gracias! :)
Joseph Feret

Stayed February 2002
Helpful?
4 Thank Joeguerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stayed at the Club Maeva in April 2006. If you are a golfer, this was definitely the resort for you. Included in the price was four rounds of golf and transportation to the course. Although I don't golf myself, we heard nothing but good things about the course. The beach was private right in front of the resort but you were in the middle of a very popular beach zone for everyone. The Kite sufing national finals were there the weekend we visted and that was very entertaining. The best thing about the resort was that the bars served Bacardi Rum and not local stuff. It was great. The adult solarium was the best place to be and the swim up bar and view were great. The food was a little lacking as there was only one buffet and one a la carte restaurant. On the weekend there appeared to be local packages as many Mexicans visited and the food became more plentiful and varied. The rooms were clean and the service was just fine. Try if you can to visit some of the local areas in Tampico and the market is a must just to see the volume of vendors and people there. All in all we had a good time, but if you were a golfer, it was great. Wouldn't rush back as I like the more secluded lush and tropical settings, but all in all for the price (less than $1000 Cdn each) it was just fine.

Helpful?
7 Thank hlovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

First, let me say that "shawncocrane"'s review from 30 March 2006 is a very accurate review!

Second, let me say that my wife and I went here in December of 2005 for just three nights. We did not have any children with us, and we are not golfers. I'll be brief:

The Good:
-Cheap! Our stay was only around $90US each night.
-Very courteous, helpful staff
-All you can drink alcohol and bar snacks
-All you can eat food, although the quality is mediocre at best.
-The Solarium pool. No one under 21 allowed, with a swim-up bar and a couple of jacuzzis. Very relaxing.
-The beach. Pretty clean, so-so beach chairs and thatched huts available free of charge.
-Convenience store within walking distance (Oxxo) in case you forget essentials or want to buy alcohol.

The Bad:
-Hard beds. No boxsprings, just a wooden frame. Our backs started to hurt after a couple of nights
-Tile floors. Typical of Mexico, but somewhat uncomfortable for people used to carpet.
-Sparse rooms. Ours was a standard king. Room was quite large with vaulted ceiling, yet sparsely decorated. Just a small desk and chair, a small tv console, and a couple of end tables. Pretty basic.
-The Smell. Tampico is an industrial town (our ride from the bus station to the resort led us through very downtrodden environs), and early each morning a bothersome sulfurous odor permeates the resort. I suggest you turn the A/C on at night and close the windows.

In conclusion, if you're a 3-star kind of person, you'll probably consider this at or slightly above average.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank mek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Madero
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#12 of 31 in Tampico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Posada de Tampico
Hotel Posada de Tampico
#14 of 31 in Tampico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lorencillo Miramar
Hotel Lorencillo Miramar
#4 of 6 in Ciudad Madero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Tampico Aeropuerto
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Tampico
Comfort Inn Tampico
#13 of 31 in Tampico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampico Altamira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Maeva Miramar Tampico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Maeva Miramar Tampico

Property: Club Maeva Miramar Tampico
Address: Boulevard Costero s/n | Playa Mirarmar, Ciudad Madero 89540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Tamaulipas > Ciudad Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Madero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Maeva Miramar Tampico 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Maeva Miramar Tampico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Maeva Miramar Tampico Hotel Tampico
Hotel Maeva Miramar Tampico
Club Maeva Tampico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing