We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Village Inn

Gasthof Village Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Village Inn
Save
You added Gasthof Village Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having been in the area for business over the last 6 years I was unable to book into any of the chain hotels in the area. The Gasthof turned out to be a nice surprise. Clean and comfortable rooms with shops and a restaurant, this Inn is off the beaten path but still convenient for any business in the area. The continental breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebhunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    7
    0
See reviews for
8
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We often stay here when we are visiting family in the area. Over the last few years, they have not kept up the interior quite as well. The curtains are a little worn and the pillows are really lumpy. But the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. They keep the outside very nice, too. The continental-style breakfast is excellent, and include some of their home-baked coffee cakes (which are also available in the lobby around the clock). The staff is so friendly!

I would have given them a top rating, if it wasn't for the lumpy pillows and the rather worn curtains.

Their rates are very reasonable...a great value for the money!

Their restaurant on the property is superb!

Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from our International tractor convention, which completely filled the rooms at the Gasthof Village Inn. With special group pricing, the Inn was moderately priced however, the tired beds need to be replaced along with new towels, new carpet, etc. The staff we worked with from the complex was more than accommodating regarding the convention hall which more than made up for any inconvenience experienced with the Inn's rooms. The convention center building was great and included a big cooler to keep drinks, etc., easily accessible for our group members. The maintenance staff helped hang banners, flags, etc. and was always willing to go the extra mile. The flea market, antique store and restaurant were easily visited by walkways from one end to the other. The restaurant served the usual Amish fare and all our group members enjoyed the large selection of dishes offered on the buffet nightly. We give it a thumbs up and only due to the Inn needing updated did my review reflect a lower number.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you really need to be in the area it is ok.
REALLY needs some money to fix up the place.
It could be a wonderful place,nice area,lots of potential.just needs some TLC & MONEY.
Restaurant is good,people very friendly.Be hungry, so much to choose from,we had crab legs & shrimp on the buffet.
Motel was clean.
We stayed here about 15 years ago,it has really gone down hill.
If we were in area we would not stay unless it had had a complete overhall.I would be willing to pay more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcilwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montgomery hotels

franklin,in
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The inn is very run down is in need of repair interior and exterior. The beds are not comfortable. Floors dirty. All and all just a run down dirty inn. Staff fairly nice. Location was good right in amish area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheyinfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Gasthof Village Inn on 8/13/2012. We have stayed there before but were surprised it has become so run down. The beds were terrible (very old) The furnisings were also very old. There was not a comfortable chair in the room.(two desk chairs)Watch out for the tile in the shower room,when its wet its like walking on ice.
The best part of the stay was eating at the Amish restaurant. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.
I would not stay at the hotel again untill its complety updated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The village inn needs to spruce up it's image. It needs to clean up the front door, move the ironing board to the closet, provide larger bars of soap, and generally fix and repair its lobby area. An ok hotel that has slowly slipped downward in the three times that I have stayed there. For the price 79.00 per night I guess you get what you pay for. The Village Inn is suppose to be part of an Amish theme park it is located out in the middle of Indiana farm country. It seems to be popular with retirees, and weekly guests.. Since there is little in the form of recreation around it could be a real gem. Just needs some work. Not sure if I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
7.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana
20.9 mi away
Days Inn Jasper
Days Inn Jasper
#2 of 5 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Theroff's Motel
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Village Inn

Property: Gasthof Village Inn
Address: 6747 E Gasthof Village Rd, Montgomery, IN 47558-5608
Location: United States > Indiana > Montgomery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Number of rooms: 82

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing