We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place you can feel at home”
other travelers have booked this property
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Your bedroom with a double bed. Our terrace in summertime. Live like a modern hermit on top of the Romanian mountains! Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Your bedroom with a double bed.
Our terrace in summertime. Live like a modern hermit on top of the Romanian mountains! Retreat
You can choose to stay in our guest house/one room summer house for 2 persons (optional).
View from the top. Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain. Wild nature, breath-taking scenery!
Small seasonal waterfalls on the White Cris river, near its secondary spring (11-13 km away).
View from our terrace in wintertime. Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain. Wild nature retreats!
Terrace
Very old stable in the neighbourhood
This is us, your hosts Lidia & Flaviu
Wall painting in progress
Cherry blossoms in springtime.
Terrace
Wooden logs footpath in the garden.
The Cave of Strâmba Mountain - a 3 hours hike on a wild foot path with breathtaking scenery.
Edible coral shaped mushrooms.
Scenery - view point: 12 minutes walking distance from our home.
This is Stramba mountain. The cave is exactly on the middle, 30 meters down from the top (3 h away)
Our house - remote, quiet, peaceful, surrounded by nature!
detail - living room
detail - kitchen
detail - conservatory
detail - Lidia's painted wall in the conservatory
detail - living room
detail - kitchen
paintings painted by our guest Karine - the neighbourhood with our dog and our kitchen
detail - garden
detail - fairy garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brad, Hunedoara County, Western Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sarika S
2 reviews
“A place you can feel at home”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I never thought I could find a place so homely so far away from my original home. Flaviu & Llydia treated me like a family member. With them, I experienced traditional Romanian pre-Christmas celebration in the neighbor's house up on the snowy mountains. We enjoyed our meals and laughter together. We had long hours of conversation about meditation and searching for self from which I gathered a new perspective on life. I want to apply those further in my life and I hope to see them again to create some new memories together. Wish you well, Flaviu & Llydia! :)

Date of stay: December 2016
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
May your life be a celebration, dear Sarika! What a pleasure sharing our home with you and having you around! Looking forward to your visit together your friends ;) Tihna Crisului is always open to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toto L
Canacona, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I visited Flaviu as WWOOFers. At that time he was building this dream project. I know his dreams, I know this space and even though we were there only for 2 days, just the way we were treated and the beauty of the area combined with the walks around makes it very very special. This is a place I would recommend to all my friends and I am delighted to write this review.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Thank you Toto! Much appreciated! Our hosting conditions improved dramatically since 2014. Now we can welcome people also during winter time in "city like" conditions with all the modern comfort. Wish you all the best and thank you for your visit and your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omega T
Brad, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“dark sky”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I spent very nice, peaceful few days in Flaviu's place. It feels a bit like on a another planet, when you cross the stream through a narrow bridge and then climb the mountain to get there. It was a very peaceful place, quiet, where you can escape from the stresses of civilization, go at night to watch stars, play with the cat, and watch beautiful sunrise over the mountain from the front porch.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Very nice and accurate description! Many, many thanks! It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you will honor us again in the future with your presence!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudiaan...
1 review
“Sound of silance”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A peaceful place, with a wonderful view. You can hear the birds singing and see many beautiful places. The hosts are very nice and warm people.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you! Much appreciated! See you at tihna crisului next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurentiu...
1 review
“Peaceful and green!”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Tihna Crisului is the most quite and relaxing place we have ever stayed. It is the perfect place to read a book, drink a tea and enjoy the view. Or if you have the legs and lungs for a 10 hours hiking, ask Flaviu(the host) to be your gide to Stramba Cave (it is a great experience).
Thank you Flaviu and Lidia for your ideea to create Tihna Crisului

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Hosting you, was a total pleasure! Thank you! See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GellerGab...
1 review
“the most beutifull place in the world”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Apuseni mountains are full of time and history. Great people are living around, great landscapes, great place to be.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Thank you for visiting us two times! It was a pleasure having you here at tihna crisului! Looking forward for your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uca_Iancu
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“The world at your feet”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There are no actual words to describe this heavenly place. It is just a feeling of fulfillment, you and the nature and... nothing else.
Of course the house itself, the flowers, the surroundings, the dogs and the cat are all part of this experience, and it is quite nice you also have WiFi and lots of amenties, but in the end the experience is about you and the nature. And the fact that you want to move there. :)
Thank you for this wonderful place!

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Always our pleasure! Thank you for your appreciation words and hope to see you again at "tihna crisului" sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing