We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Get away from it all”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
the bathroom
cooking a delicious meal over the bonfire
games for the outside
games for the inside
the surroundings
the treehouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brad, Hunedoara County, Western Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mike M
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Such a wonderful relaxing week in Codrin's newly renovated cottage. Codrin could not have been more helpful both before and during our stay. There was snow around when we arrived but plenty of wood for the fires and it was easy to settle into a very peaceful routine based around warmth and good food and dog walks! And it is so quite up there. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants respite from the noise and busyness of daily life and a chance to see a beautiful, more remote part of Europe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: remote location, meeting Codrin
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
symonel
Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect escape to nature”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We didn’t read the description properly when we booked this cottage, so it came as a bit of a surprise how remote and isolated it is. A really pleasant surprise that kept exceeding our expectations again and again as time passed. We spent visiting the Romanian mountains for 2 weeks and by far our main highlight has been our 3 day stay in this amazing house!

The house is decorated in a beautiful mix of traditional and rustic with modern and comfortable. Windows cleverly positioned through the house at eye level will give you postcard-perfect views of the surroundings, but you can always step outside into the garden and have drop-dead gorgeous views of the mountains. The location, at around 800m altitude, is superb. There’s just no words for how beautiful it is, and being so isolated, it means we had the perfect escape to nature.

Among our group, the most popular was the fire camp outside, which became the centre of our evenings. We’d barbecue, or otherwise just hang out around the fire, drinking, talking and generally enjoying the place.

Our host was amazing. It felt less like a host and more like an old friend, who’d drop by and help us with things, making sure we’re comfortable, telling us the story of the renovation of the house and answering all our questions about the place, the customs, the mountains, the neighbours, everything. He made sure we had everything, he made the most delicious stew one evening, as well, and even arranged for us to buy homemade Romanian liquor (palinca - made of plums, and visinata - made of sour cherries), both delicious and reasonably priced.

We rarely go to the same place twice, but this house is worth going there almost every year. I highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the views of the mountains
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi P
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location with stunning views”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at Carpathian Cottage for 3 nights and it was the best part of our trip in in Transilvania. The 100+ old house was renovated beautifully by Codrin. He kept all the rustic elements that tell the history of the place, used locally sourced materials and integrated tastefully modern amenities that you would find in a high end hotel.

The location is extraordinary and the views from garden, fireplace, bedroom and dining room are simply stunning.

Codrin was extremely helpful and friendly and he did made sure we have everything we need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning views of the mountains
Liked least: everything was great
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarAway40...
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C G
Eichstatt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derzwanzi...
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ausstattung, Landschaft, Leute
Liked least: Der Aufstieg nach dem Einkauf für eine Woche, aber man kann sich auch fahren lassen.
Traveling group: Freunden
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing