We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“piece of relaxed paradise”
Review of Hostel Anton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Anton
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
“piece of relaxed paradise”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was glad to found one of not very many hostels in Montenegroare. On the outskirts of the city welcomed me nicely decorated hoste. In fact, it is a pleasant family hotel run by a young couple. Both were among the musicians, and so it is no wonder that stay is combined with the numerous musical events in the outdoor garden, which can be closed with glass windows. I liked the relaxed atmosphere and hospitality. Owners are glad to advise where it is worthwhile to go. Among other things, the environment is suitable for biking and hiking. You can specify the short tour to the abandoned villages or over the mountains to four hours walk away town of Kotor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
11
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good team, good atmosphere, relaxing and cosy, well situated nearby the city center and not too far from the beach. You can have a dinner prepared by the staff for only 4 €/ pers.
We had a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I took the advice of the hostel and got a taxi from Tivat bus station. It is a fair way away, and not easy to find! As others have said, it's not a posh place, and it does look a little worn, but the rooms / bedding were clean, as were the many bathrooms.

The staff were all really friendly, and there were loads of people around to chat with in the evening. I ate dinner there, and had a few drinks. It was really cheap, and tasty. All drinks are 1E, to keep it easy to work out! You just have a tally against your name and I paid the next day when I was checking out. It's a really chilled place. A little way out of town, but it wasn't a horrid walk. I imagine it wouldn't be much fun if it had been any hotter, though - it was low 30's when I was there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel_hutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blois, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We staid in this Hostel for 1 night only, because we had no time to stay more, but it was a very pleasant stay.
The hostel is quite hard to find (don't forget to take an accurate map to find it), but it is worth it :
- the view of the sunset was one of our best souvenirs
- the garden is very relaxing and makes you feel out of time
- the diner (if you also have the opportunity to enjoy one of David's meals) was excellent
- Ivan and Maya are very friendly

It definitely was a good choice to stay there during our visit of Kotor's Bay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoit_Elodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for 7 days at Hostel Anton. They say the have AC, but they DON'T (on our second night we did get a small fan, but when it's over 35C....well, it dosn't do the trick). The wireless isn't really working. It's really worn down. And don't trust the owners friends!

We were talked into driving with one of Ivan's friends, from the ferry to Zabljak. It would cost us 10€ each, and it would be much faster than the bus. Well.. for starters we payed 5€ for the cab he ordered us, and then we waited for an hour (!) by the ferry, before his "friend" came and picked us up. He didn't speak a single word english -or wait, he kept going on about "rafting", so he did know one word in enlgish. When we got to Niksic (about halfway), he stopped at the busstation, pointed at it and said "Zabljak". He then asked for his 20€ and took off.

We were lucky to catch a bus, just as it was leaving, so in total, it just took about 40minutes LONGER than the bus, and costed us about 10-15€ more.

Hostel Anton, was a big disappoiontment for us. But the staff is friendly and they have a nice garden to hang out with others guests in.. but that is the only posetive thing I have to say about our stay..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tivat Municipality
1.2 mi away
Eco Hotel Carrubba
Eco Hotel Carrubba
#1 of 1 in Donja Lastva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Magnolia
Hotel Magnolia
#6 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Roche Hotel
La Roche Hotel
#4 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
D&D Apartments
D&D Apartments
#36 of 90 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Anton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Anton

Property: Hostel Anton
Address: Mazina bb, Tivat Municipality 85320, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Tivat Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Tivat Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Anton is a place to relax, have fun and meet creative people. Settled in a beautiful coastal town of Tivat, it`s a perfect base for a traveler, surrounded by nature, gorgeous views, home cooking and live music and art events. We have a huge garden and a bar, music instruments, dorms and private rooms with sea view, roof top terrace, banana trees and most of the info you might need while visiting Montenegro. Musicians and BBH guests get 10%off ;-) Hostel Anton is above all a place to have fun, meet interesting people, rest and relax. It is also an ideal starting point for exploration of Montenegro and its neighboring countries. Our main goal is to attract young (at heart), creative, open-minded people whose stay at the Hostel would make a difference in their and our lives. Somehow, the unique atmosphere of the Adriatic coast, and our position on it attracts musicians, painters, writers, traveling theater groups, jewelry makers and all kinds of unique people. This atmosphere is partly provided by the geographic position of our house, which has a huge, breathtaking sea view and a green garden. Our oriental-style gazebo, the full bar and banana, orange and fig-trees probably help to create this small, hidden paradise (at least we think so). Also, we prefer to make things on our own and we collect antique stuff. The Hostel was also built from the bricks of the hundred-year-old house that belonged to my grandfather Anton (yes, therefore the name). If you appreciate a unique, creative atmosphere and people, you will enjoy our Hostel, for sure. You will have an opportunity to hear a variety of bands and solo musicians play at the Hostel, see people painting or making jewelry this is a living place! You can always get plenty of rest, of course, and silence too, when needed. The staff is artistic, helpful, friendly, open-minded, and efficient. Artists and musicians get 10% off (better learn to play guitar or something ;-). We are a proud member of Balkans Best Hostels Association, which gives you 10 % off your stay at any of the Hostels from the Association. Our prices are - 11 euros per person in dorm bed, 13.50 per person in private rooms. These prices include free breakfast, tourist tax, free internet/wi-fi use, safety lockers, big screen/projector movie nights, free parking, free towels, hairdryer/iron, iron and small kitchen (with a toaster, microwave and kettle.) GEOGRAPHICAL POSITION & SIGHTSEEING Hostel Anton is placed in Montenegro - Tivat, a town situated in the middle of Boka Kotorska bay, (Boka Bay/ Bocca di Cattaro) the largest and the only fjord in the Mediterranean Sea. Tivat has a convenient position (at the heart of the bay), which is quite important because it allows easy and quick transfer to all interesting locations and important cities (Kotor, Budva, Podgorica, Herceg Novi, Dubrovnik, etc.) Hostel Anton is situated just 7 km from Kotor (a part of UNESCO world heritage), 20 km from Budva, and 18 km from Herceg Novi. Hostel Anton is just 3 km from the airport which is located in Tivat and 2 km from the bus station. The Railway station is located in Sutomore and that is 60 km from Tivat. The capital city of Montenegro, Podgorica is 88 km away. 60 km away is gorgeous Dubrovnik (Croatia), 25 km away is Croatian border, 30 km away is the border with Bosnia and Herzegovina, 100 km - the border with Albania and 180 km - the border with Serbia. Our Hostel is situated 500 meters from the sea. Public transportation is reliable and cheap, but we can always provide you with a rent a car, rent a bike, or a taxi. Tivat Bay has great beaches and beach bars some of which are in a walking distance from our Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Anton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing