We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Cosy Open fire
Inside Living area looking back towards sleeping area.
Kitchen set up
View from sleeping area towards open fire
Full bathroom with separate bath and shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gibbston, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueD58_12
Llangollen, North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has been restored very nicely. The bathroom was especially good with a bath as well as a separate shower and all very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Small kitchen but adequate for what we needed. The garden in front of the cottage is private and you have lovely views of the mountains. The main road at the top of the drive is busy and you do get a certain amount of traffic noise. We did want to do some cycling whilst we stayed but one of the bikes on offer wasn't in good order, we did mention this to the owner. We did enjoy our stay and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage & views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2015
Thanks for your comments. I am sorry that one of the bikes had an issue on the day that you wanted to use it, I had 'tuned' it up the night before and I must have accidentally knocked something out of alignment etc, all sorted out now. Cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picture perfect.”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a few nights in this gorgeous cottage, hosted brilliantly by Matt and Lisa. The location is perfect for Queenstown and surrounding areas as long as you don't mind a short drive. It was lovely to come back from the surrounding towns to the cottage, stoke up the BBQ then the open fire, and enjoy the peace of the Gibbston Valley (stunning Pinot noir vineyards surround the cottage). We would really recommend this for those with a car who want somewhere gorgeous to stay with bags of character in a picturesque spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandA54
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RandA54. Cosy quaint stone cottage in country setting”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this cosy quaint stone cottage for 3 nights.
The setting of the cottage is in farmland with vineyards close by.
Beautiful scenery. Quiet location. Very relaxing.
The log fire was delightful, giving warmth and ambience.
The kitchen facilities were adequate. A suggestion that a tray be available to go under the dish rack would be so helpful and prevent any water covering the bench area.
A BBQ is also available. We used this for 2 nights which was great.
The bathroom was great- Roomy, heater and with heated towel rails.
Unfortunately the wifi didn't work very well when we stayed. Moving outside only helped a little. Can cause frustration.
The photos that are on trip advisor and on another site are very accurate.
Enjoy your stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stone cottage appeal
Liked least: Frustration with wifi and the pillows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you had a lovely stay.
We are sorry the Wifi signal was poor! We have now fixed this with a device to ensure good Wifi so this will not happen again. Many thanks and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiggletag...
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored cottage but welcome was a bit cold.”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Aug 2014. We arrived from Wanaka direction and inadvertantly turned into the wrong driveway. The cottage does have it's own signpost but only if you approach from Queenstown direction. We could see by the printed directions that we were in the right place and so made our way down a shared driveway. When we couldn't see anyone we turned back and headed toward the road. Slightly confused we spied a lady tending her horses and went to ask her directions. She stayed in the field until my husband approached her and it turns out that she was the owner. After my husband talking to her for about 5 mins her husband Matt came out of the main house. Instead of a warm welcome we kept being told that they didn't how we had found this driveway.
Not really our fault. The lack of a warm welcome was a little off putting to be honest but we paid the owners and were given directions to the cottage. We made our way there and parked our car. The cottage is probably 20 meters away from the house, not secluded or terribly private.
The owners had had left a small jug of milk and fresh eggs and jam for us but we didn't see a compendium until we dug through the magazine pile.
The cottage is advertised as with broadband and wifi BUT the owners told us that this is available but won't really work within the stone cottage, in winter this was an inconvenience to us as we needed to contact our family in Australia. We didn't see the owners for the entire time of our stay so we cannot comment on them anymore.
The cooking area is well equipped but very small but overall the cottage is very cosy and comfortable and the bathroom is gloriously warm! It is magnificently restored and very pretty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cottage is beautiful
Liked least: Wifi advertised which was almost impossible to use. Also was implied as secluded location when is not.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. We are sorry the Wifi was an issue for you. We have now fixed this so good Wifi is available in the cottage.
We were very sad to hear your comment regarding your welcome and we apologise for this. It was never our intention. You mentioned you had forgotten your travel directions and we were amazed, you did a fantastic job at finding us without the directions.
We hope you enjoyed your holiday and had fun exploring our part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl G
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect piece of paradise.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our ideal escape from everything. No phones, no internet, just us and the peace of this gorgeous cottage. We didn't need for anything, the cottage provides it all. We were able to relax from a busy lifestyle and a week of snowboarding down the slopes. With some great winery's surrounding it and a cheesery just down the road, provisions weren't hard to find. And why cook when you can do lunch at some amazing winery restaurants and then chill at the cottage with a bottle of great Pinot from the winery next door. Thank you for restoring this amazing little gem for us to come and enjoy. And if we had organised it before hand it snowed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage that's near perfect”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This cottage is a bit off the beaten path, but in the heart of wine country. It's a quaint, comfortable cottage with a nice bathroom. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace on those cool, rainy nights. Matt provided us with a basket of fresh plums and eggs. Although we would have liked an introduction on our arrival, Matt and Lisa did answer all of our needs during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Internet was very spotty
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhodyCaye
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Wonderful Escape”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The restored miner's cottage is absolutely lovely-a little piece of heaven far enough from town to feel away from it all, set amidst vineyards and working farms. Impeccably designed, friendly hosts, wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing