We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
265
77
20
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
265
77
20
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jardin malanga infinity pool the main house basse terre drinks cold service provided small fridge small hotel exploring the island magnificent view a great vacation recommend le each evening peace and tranquility banana plantation la soufriere the cottages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 376 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2019

This is the most amazing place - it's small, intimate, relaxed, has stunning views, fantastic food , real character and individuality, and the most helpful and welcoming host in Clare. We've travelled a lot but this was a very different experience. Forget your usual hotel type of holiday - it's not that - it's just different and far more rewarding. The bungalows are simple, basic and a pleasure to be in. The jungle is in really close proximity so you hear and see frogs, birds and lizards constantly. (No spiders, thankfully!!!) There's a lovely infinity pool where you just sit and gaze at the stunning view. No bar, no music, no distractions - just peace. There's no choice at dinner - simply a beautifully cooked and unique three course experience by a very talented cook, French trained and Guadeloupian inspired.

It's a long way from home - in more ways than one - and we might never be able to go back, but it's one of the best holidays we've ever had.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 3wed567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip advisor following your stay with us. Best Regards, Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Chose this hotel for a surprise proposal and could not be happier with my decision. Maybe I’m biased because she said yes, but this hotel was beautiful and the service was top notch.

Amazing intimate experience, perfect for couples who want an authentic tropical retreat with 5 star dining on site. Claire is an incredible host and Laurent’s food is exceptional. Many great places to visit in Basse-Terre but really no reason to ever leave this magical property!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jkapp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our establishment for this special event. We look forward to welcoming you another time in Jardin Malanga ! Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

The setting the rooms within the garden and the food were all excellent
The food is either fish or meat every other night but that is all that is predictable
The mix of flavours and textures are amazing
Lauren’s cooking is sublime worth a few stars
The husband and wife team look after everyone you feel you are at a dinner party where nothing is too much trouble
The cocktails and wine are also great
Finally the breakfast is as innovative as dinner
Not to be missed would gladly have stayed longer but not possible

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank annavO5277GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for this feedback. We are so happy to see that you enjoy our food, our service and landscape. See you soon, Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

We were a party of 4 that stayed here 3 nights. We arrived late on 1st night as our flight was delayed . We just missed the evening meal but Claire and Laurent soon sorted out a fantastic meal which was served on the decking outside our room! Fantastic meal and great wine . Thank you both . The rooms are lovely situated on the hill with a fantastic view! The room was everything we wanted . No tv which was even better as far as we were concerned! WiFi did work in our room as well as the dining area and pool! Pool was just lovely with a great view over to the Saints ! Perfect !

Breakfast was everything we wanted continental style , lots of fruit plus eggs scrambled or fried .

We dined in on all 3 nights and the food was fantastic . It’s a set meal and in our opinion fine dining ! Laurent is a superb chef !

Claire and Laurent are perfect hosts ! Outstanding service . This couple manage the hotel for the owners! All I can say is the owner has some real gems here and he should do whatever necessary to keep them ! They make this place what it it and that’s very very very good.

The location was ok to find and felt very safe to us.

This part of the island is great for walking and hiking . Claire was able to provide great suggested walks to water falls or volcano if you are up to it. We did the volcano on our previous visit to the island . Worth the hike but pick a clear day for good views!

Only a few beaches in south of the island . Not great area for beaches but Claire did recommend a fairly good one !

Overall we would highly recommend this place! Thank you Claire and Laurent you are just fantastic

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank steveglenn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our establishment. We had a really great time with you. We look forward to welcoming you another time in Jardin Malanga ! Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

Returned from a thoroughly relaxing battery recharging stay in this comfortable quiet hotel. After days spent at the beach or exploring the island we returned to attentive warm service and some very good meals cooked by Laurent each evening. Claire who wears many hats does the most fantastic job ensuring all the gets needs are attended to. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you another time in Jardin Malanga ! Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews