We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and relaxation in Guadeloupe”
Review of Le Jardin Malanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Jardin Malanga
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for five nights last month and had a very relaxing stay.

The location of the hotel means that the views from the small but beautiful pool are absolutely stunning. The expansive gardens are filled with tropical trees and flowers. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but it is worth the extra travelling for the peace and quiet and the views. It is a small hotel with only a few facilities so not the place to go if you want all-day pampering but for those like us who prefer a low-key experience it is perfect.

The managers Patrick and Stephanie were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate at the hotel twice (we wanted to eat there more often but one night was Patrick's one night off and on the first night we arrived too late for dinner)and the table d'hote menu prepared and cooked by Patrick was outstanding on each occasion. The cooking really was 'of the highest quality', as they say on Masterchef. There were 24 people eating there one night and every single plate of each of the three courses was cleared completely by everyone. The breakfasts were also excellent.

Our room was simply but comfortably furnished, with views from the front deck across the water to Les Saintes. We could hear some noise from the adjoining room but this did not bother us. We just played music on our iPod using the speakers provided. We would have liked a refrigerator in the room and a facility to make tea in the mornings but Guadeloupe is a French-influenced island and therefore this is not really to be expected.

We wanted to take some cheese to friends in Dominica on the next stage of our holiday and Patrick lent us a cold box to keep the cheese in our room overnight (we had to leave before breakfast to catch the ferry) and gave us an ice block to take on the journey. That is what we call service.

The hotel is ideally placed to visit Les Saintes on a day trip and to reach walks/hikes on Basse Terre. The hotel is regularly used by the British walking holiday provider Headwater, which is in itself a recommendation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetdynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

We booked the hotel based on past reviews read on trip advisor, should have paid greater attention to the reviews. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, but the hotel rooms are in need of great repair. The prices of room are not based on what you get while staying there but what could be or should be available. Anyone who has any walking problems should not book this hotel due to steep hills to get to your room and no handrails anywhere (porches, steps, etc). The security gates which open/shut auto, malfunctioned and bent the back fender of our rental car. Rain is abt daily with a slight mist that leaves wet wood steps, my husband fell and was taken to hospital for large cut across knee and leg abrasions. The staff husband and wife were not very nice during this time, afraid of lawsuit I am sure, but husband was rude stating we would have to find another room if husband refused to go to hospital, we were trying to find local Md close to resort. Very kind MD's at hospital who stitched knee and wrote script for antibotics. With the price at pharmacy being amazingly high, after low hospital costs, we returned to resort. We had dinner the next night at the hotel and the food was very good but lack of choice was problem for my husband who does not eat fish. One entree is prepared and that is what you get , lovely food if it is what you eat. Breakfast was good in the morning. The view from the hotel is wonderful, the drive thru the rain forrest is very beautiful, but never would we return to this hotel, The couple manager team is not able to fix the problems due to the owner, who should be held responsible for the poor condition of the property which created the problems we encountered.

.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Jardin Malanga in late January. the strike had started, but things were still fairly normal. Although we initially had difficulty finding the hotel (our fault), once we got there we quickly fell in love with our room and teh grounds. We stayed in a cottage up the hill with incredible views from our porch (which included the requisite hammock for lazing about). The room was good sized and the bathroom very well appointed. The hosts, Patrick and Stephanie, were very helpful during our stay, guiding us to all the right spots. We ate dinner at the Jardin Malanga two of the nights and Patrick took very good care of us with fresh fish and delicious desserts. Trois Riverie is a great jumping off point for the Saintes, but we enjoyed relaxing in the grounds of the Malanga so much, we would have been fine just looking across the bay at the islands. It's not on the well-trod tourist route, but we highly recommend a stop here. Relaxing grounds with beautiful views and knockout dinners.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonatoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this simple, small hotel which is located in a beautiful jungly garden. The flowers and fruit trees were delightful as was the sound of frogs at night times. Stephanie and her husband Patrick, who manage the hotel at present, were very attentive and welcoming. Patrick is from the Caribbean but trained as a chef at the Savoy and Waldorf hotels in London. He is great fun, a real character and a complete food enthusiast. Each night (apart from the one they had off) Patrick and Stephanie cooked a delicious dinner, mostly with an emphasis on Creole cookery. Breakfasts were very good too with a fresh fruit plate, cheese and ham, croissants, baguettes and excellent coffee. We stayed in one of the lodge type rooms which were simple but comfortable and clean. Towelling bathrobes, toiletries, hair dryer and even an i-pod player were supplied. The only improvement I would make if running the hotel would be to supply more comfortable furniture for the outdoor area of the lodges. The chairs weren't very comfortable and we didn't feel up to trying the hammock. A couple of sun loungers would be good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

we've been there for 9 days with our 2 kids (10 and 3) and it was a very pleasant stay !
Beautifull view, fairly spacious rooms (European standard), clean and above all, very nice welcoming from Stephanie and Patrick (in particular with our kids : personnalized food). The food is really tremendous (by far the best in Basse Terre, according to our experience). The food is a mix between European and carribean style with Patrcik's own touch! (Try his "gratin de papaye verte" and his "velouté de celeri au foie gras").
The swimming pool (with marvelous view of the Saintes islands) was clean.
A very luxury bed and breakfast for those who like charming places outside well beaten tracks.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank samfloalexlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here only one night after spending 5 nights on Ile de Saintes. The ferry service from the small islands was uncertain so we played it safe and stayed at Jardin to be ready for our flight home the next day. I had prior to our trip considered stayed here for more nights and for us that would have been a disaster.

Be prepared for:

Beautiful view in jungle like setting with lovely pool (not cleaned the morning we were there).

Fairly spartan rooms (we were in cottage not main bldg.) but pretty clean...not well maintained.

The current manager (seems like they have had many many couples over the last years. Probably a very tough job in that they do everything including preparing the meal in the evening.) The couple currently there are Stephanie and Patrick. Stephanie is very nice and welcoming. Patrick much less so. He did greet us upon arrival and told us to get our luggage and come to the office. He did not help with anything. He was offended when I indicated we did not wish to have welcome drink and would just like to go to the room. It was late in the day and I hoped to get some photos in before sunset. I will just say I don't think he is happy there (he told me as much) and he is confrontational.

The dinner is cooked by Patrick and be prepared to account for every thing that you either don't want or do not finish and anything else you do. It is not the prettiest dining room either. The people there were different and the dinner was served very very slowly and I imagine most liked it that way...the atmosphere was sort of boring so it seems longer. I am sure the cooking is good just not our style. If you do not want what they serve be prepared to take a drive to somewhere else and frankly I don't know where.

You will need a car as everyone leaves during the day. No drinks or lunch there and nothing really to do at all. Everyone took off. We had adriver picking us up for the airport and really were excited to leave.

In general it was a bed and breakfast at more hotel prices. If you like to be constantly watched (the pool right there at the office etc.) then you may like it there.The setting is very nice.

I could not recommend this to most American travelers that I know....even ones very used to traveling in out of the way places..it just left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

My husband and I booked a room over the American Thanksgiving holiday in 2006. Arriving in Guadeloupe was amazing. Compared to some of the other Caribbean islands, Guadeloupe is very well developed--smooth 4 lane highways in many places--and less poverty-stricken in general. However, the island is VERY FRENCH. Very few individuals speak any English at all. As is the case at La Jardin Malanga.

The property itself is gorgeous. Built on the grounds of an old coffee plantation, there are numerous citrus trees, lots of wild orchids, spice trees, and lovely tended lawns. The rooms are somewhat small, particularly those in the little cabins ("chalets") and not in as quite as good of service as one would expect given the cost. Our shower leaked and would soak our bathroom floor every time we showered.

The couple who run the place speak little English, so it was very difficult to communicate with them since I speak no French. I realize that this is a typical American complaint, but I will say that if the proprietors don't speak English, perhaps there should be written information available in English. For example, I think that there was an open honor bar at the main house. However, no one was ever around to ask about it and I didn't want to just help myself without knowing for sure. When I did catch one of the managers about and attempted to ask about a drink, they seemed a bit put off, so I gave up.

If you are staying at the hotel, I would recommend eating dinner there as well. The husband prepares a wonderful home-cooked meals from local island produce and meats each evening--the setting is very romantic. Plus, it's quite a drive to other towns and navagating the winding roads at night can be difficult. When eating out be prepared for EXTREMELY SLOW service. Apparently this is in the French tradition.

All in all, it was a lovely stay but could have been better had I spoke more French.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mannekinpis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois Rivieres
17.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
936 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
479 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
24.6 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Malanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Malanga

Address: 60 Route de L Hermitage, Trois Rivieres 97114, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Trois Rivieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Price Range: $259 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin Malanga 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is composed by a renovated authentic colonial “mansion”, built in 1927 and 3 cottages:Colonial mansion : 1 suite with 2 bedrooms and one bathroom at the ground floor (with a part of the terrace which goes around the colonial mansion call a “varangue”). At the first floor two triple rooms with independant shower.Occupation SUITE : 2 adults + 2 children + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 60sqmOccupation triple rooms : 3 adults + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 28sqmThe cottages : 2 independant rooms with terrace for each cottage, children’s bedroom on upper level, which can be communicated with one of each rooms.Occupation : 2 adults + 1 infant. Suraface area ≈ 17sqmEvery room including: Bathroom with Bath (or shower), hair-drier, air-conditioner, phone, IPOD system, one king size bed (maximum 2 persons in a room, possibility to add a baby cot), terrasse with panoramic view overlooking “Les Saintes” and deck chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin Malanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Malanga Hotel Guadeloupe
Le Jardin Malanga Basse Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing