We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Le Jardin Malanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Jardin Malanga
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from Guadeloupe and I take 5 minutes to recommend a stay in Le jardin Malanga. The hotel is in the middle of a nice garden, and the bungalows are simple but very clean, with a fantastic view to Les Saintes Islands. It is the best place to discover the south of Guadeloupe and Les Saintes you can reach in 40 minutes by boat from the city. The guest is full of attention, and provide in the evening a diner with the product of the market.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Le Jardin Malanga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 308 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed two nights and overall we enjoyed our time here. The nicest part is the grounds and the distant view out towards the ocean. The host was very friendly and helpful, but he did not have a lot of staff given there are only a few rooms available. He greeted us, check Ed us in, provided information on things to do, and even cooked our dinner, which was very tasty. Overall I can recommend Le Jardin Malanga, however it is a bit pricy for what you get.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Over two weeks, we sampled four of the top hotels in Guadeloupe, and this tops them all. Malanga is set on a lush rain forest hillside on Basse Terre, on a 12 hectare property that is wonderfully managed and maintained. We were lodged in a colonial house built ca. 1920, beautifully restored with shiny wooden floors. The food is great, the service personal and unequaled, and the atmosphere is relaxing. One can take this as a starting point to discover the La Soufriere vulcano, just a few kilometers away, or just waste the day away at the perfect infinity pool, from which one can admire several islands in the distance while sipping a ti-punch.

We slept well in modern beds, and for the techies, the internet connection is quite good and hassle-free.

It is not cheap, but a paradise like this should not be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We arrived at new years eve to an astonishing night with champagne by the pool, at least 9 courses, rum and sigars at the end!

Talk to Simon and he will make your stay unique with tips of rainforest lagoons, island adventure, wave surfing, great restaurants+++.

The location is great if you like to see the real Guadeloupe!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Considering the destination I think probably the best hotel you can find.

What makes the difference:
- garden
- view
- location to visit south of Guadeloupe
- authenticity

and certainly on top of that: Simon (Hotel Director)

He gives really everything's he can to make your stay
the best you can.

I am wondering how this hotel can exist without him!

Thks again !

Marc & Babara

ps: a small tip/ idea maybe install a "moustiquiaire' it can add some charm in the room and help the ones mosquitos like too much
hello to the rest of the team and the family !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

In sum, we were wowed by the beauty of this hotel and the service provided, but ultimately, it was more than we needed, especially for the price.

First, perhaps we're more sensitive to the price since we're coming with a dollar that's weaker than the euro, making everything just that much more expensive. That said, we spent so much time driving through the rest of the island -- up to see the nearby volcanoes and waterfalls, but also much further up the coast to Deshais and such -- that we were hardly ever in the hotel. Since it was a bit cool and oftentimes rainy, we never partook in the infinity pool and never walked the gardens.

Though it was a bit expensive for our taste (and we splurged, given that it was our honeymoon!) the view is superb. The rooms are lovely and come with their own air conditioning unit and at least a modicum of privacy - you split the quaint cabin with one other set of guests, and the cabins I saw were all set up on a hill, just a short ways from the main building with the pool. Simon, who runs the place, actually offered us the suite in the historical main building, which typically costs more since it has two bedrooms, but since we had no need for a second room and wanted our privacy, we stayed up top. Even so, this was not the secluded honeymoon experience I imagined, as most of the guests appeared to have kids in tow. I was imagining gardens and rainforest so thick that your entire cabin would be surrounded, but alas, not the case.

Speaking of management, Simon was usually on hand to answer questions, was pleasant to speak with and gave good recommendations. Once or twice he was a bit elusive in the morning, where he seemed to have somewhere to be while we had a million questions that we wanted answered in detail .... but then again, he runs the place! Of course he's busy. Thankfully, he spoke English, so there was no threat of miscommunication. His assistant (I cannot recall his name) was also friendly and competent, making us restaurant reservations elsewhere when we needed him (though there definitely was a bit of a language barrier here, since he's just learning English and we only know a bit of French!)

As far as food goes, they cook up a nice breakfast of either eggs and ham (or at least some pig product) or French toast (HIGHLY recommend), and lay out a spread of fruit cups, fresh juice, bread, butter, jam, Nutella and coffee. Dinner is pretty good and convenient, which is why we opted for it twice in three nights. However, though it IS good, it also is a bit on the expensive side. I suppose they can charge that amount when there are so few options in town, and it is so nice to be able to simply walk from dinner back to your room. The two nights we were there they served fish as the main course, and fish as the starter (sushi one night, sashimi the next). Dessert on the second night was my favorite - so layered French pastry that I got the feeling was prepared in a great big casserole dish and then cut into pieces.

Bottom line is that I would not return again, as it was too much for the value we got out of it. Perhaps great for families (with well-behaved children!), but as a honeymoon couple, it simply wasn't as romantic as I'd hoped.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlovelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived in the dark of night, so, in the morning were stunned by the abundant tropical gardens and breath taking ocean views. We couldn't have imagined a more beautiful spot for a get-away. Simon, the host, is gracious, talented, smart, and funny. And every meal he served was absolutely delicious, a wonderful combination of island and French cuisine. And though we forgot to warn him we were vegetarians, at the last minute he created beautiful and delicious alternatives to the menu that even the carinvores envied! Our room was also perfection, an extremely large comfortable bed, ceiling fan, optional ac, beautiful bathrooms, and gorgeous window views. We can not wait to return again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaMDalrymple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois Rivieres
17.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
934 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
477 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
24.6 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Malanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Malanga

Address: 60 Route de L Hermitage, Trois Rivieres 97114, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Trois Rivieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Price Range: $263 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin Malanga 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is composed by a renovated authentic colonial “mansion”, built in 1927 and 3 cottages:Colonial mansion : 1 suite with 2 bedrooms and one bathroom at the ground floor (with a part of the terrace which goes around the colonial mansion call a “varangue”). At the first floor two triple rooms with independant shower.Occupation SUITE : 2 adults + 2 children + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 60sqmOccupation triple rooms : 3 adults + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 28sqmThe cottages : 2 independant rooms with terrace for each cottage, children’s bedroom on upper level, which can be communicated with one of each rooms.Occupation : 2 adults + 1 infant. Suraface area ≈ 17sqmEvery room including: Bathroom with Bath (or shower), hair-drier, air-conditioner, phone, IPOD system, one king size bed (maximum 2 persons in a room, possibility to add a baby cot), terrasse with panoramic view overlooking “Les Saintes” and deck chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Jardin Malanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Malanga Hotel Guadeloupe
Le Jardin Malanga Basse Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing