We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
from $127.12
More Info
from $160.79
More Info
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
84
21
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
84
21
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine farm our waiter red wine champagne wines restaurant lunch tasting setting stupendous dish franschhoek
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 116 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Superb service, food and ambiance. We had the local winepairing menu and had an excellent lunch. The wines went very well with the three small dishes on one plate. Recommended

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank U9919DFpetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

I am a big fan of Rupert & Rothschild's red blends, so we booked lunch on this elegant estate. Wifi not really working is not a good start. Then we could pick from a local wine pairing or an international package. We picked the international package which included champagne. We didnt think the food was on par with the standard of the wines. I would therefore suggest only to do wine tasting for this stop.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Tor_Malmros
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

I don;t even know where to start. The stunning vineyard, the elegantly decor of the tasting room, the brilliant service from our sommelier Dale to the exquisite wine. Rupert & Rothschild gets my vote for best wine in South Africa. The wines are out of this world! The moment I thought Baroness Nadine was my favourite we were treated to the Classique and then my mind was just blown by Baron Edmund. Each wine perfectly rounded with a unique nose and a pallet that is something poets can write about. We were treated to Rimapere Sauvignon Blanc which is one of the best white wines of the cultivar I have ever tasted. I am still in awe about our experience at Rupert & Rothschild and I am certainly saving up to do the food and wine pairing in the near future!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank bytjie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

The last time we visited this exquisite farm we didn't have time for lunch. On Sunday we made sure we did.

We opted for the local wine pairing menu. We were served three wines and three dishes - on one plate. The food was ample and simply delicious. The wines were lovely!

We will most definitely be back to enjoy the farm and the hospitality. It certainly is top class!

Thanks Team!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank BronwynStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017

This was a excellent experience. People are friendly and attentive. Beautiful setting.

Duck liver pate and porcini mushroom with smoked salt... no words.

We chose the Wines of the world tasting option. I am sensitive to wooded and red wines and they accomodated me with Champagne and Savignon Blanc. The champagne was a bubbling bliss of joy. SB fruity and fresh. The prawns was amazing - poached, juicy and plump. The potato with the curry at the end might have been a bit smaller. Duck - delish.

Many might say the portions are small but it was just enough to save some space for the smooth Creme Brulee.

Excellent choice for a special occasion.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank wwil2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews