We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
102
77
28
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
77
28
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkgus grissomnature centerfried chickenhuge fireplaceindoor outdoor poolair hockeydvd playergrist millrocking chairsstep back in timeping pongrustic furniturepersimmon puddingdouble queenhoosier hospitalitysmall lake
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 226 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We always enjoy staying at the state park inns. The rooms are cozy and it is quiet. Be sure to check for specials online before booking. Breakfast in the dining room is nice if you can sit by the window and watch the birds at the bird feeders.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaloja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, in OCT., 2010, while visiting friends, who live in Mitchell. It was very comfortable, friendly staff, great dining room with very nice waitresses and food was good, every time we ate a meal there. They have 3 meals a day, mostly buffets, but still very good variety, and cooked good.

Our room was on an upper floor, elevator was conveniently located; small room, but ample for just the two of us; Even had "wi-fi", TV. Nice and clean, too, no bed bugs!!

Lobby was large and cozy, with a fireplace, lots of comfy chairs, including rocking chairs, had a pool, banquet facilities, and a gift shop. Also had rocking chairs on front porch! Parking was free, but in a "parking garage" located next to Inn.

We enjoyed our visit very much, and will stay here again, next time we are in MITCHELL. The state park also has a "Pioneer Village" plus a nice memorial of Virgil "GUS" Grissom, one of our deceased astronauts. We learned that this was his hometown!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRehbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed one night at the Spring Mill Inn on a weekend getaway. Rooms appear to have been recently refurbished - very nice and very clean with handsome mission-style furnishings. King bed was comfortable and the decor featured several charming nature-inspired touches. Cons: our room was on the "1st Floor", which is partially below grade (like a basement would be) and due to that there was no cellphone reception in our room - only a minor problem, and reception was fine on other floors. Our room lacked accessible electrical connections for charging camera, phones, etc. Also the room thermostat was located in a spot which was not accessible. Still a nice stay, and would definitely go there again - but would request a room on one of the other floors. We enjoyed the hotel restauruant, and the park does an outstanding job of curating a village of historically significant buildings and of course the mill where you can buy freshly ground cornmeal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I cannot say enough about this State Park Inn. It is rustic, clean, friendly and in a beautiful location. I have attended receptions here in the Lakeview Room, which were beautiful. This Inn is a good value in a perfect location for hiking, picnics and just enjoying the view. It is definitely worth a stay if you are thinking about heading to Southern Indiana.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyTravelerMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Had a wonderful time staying at the Spring Mill Inn. It's very cozy and back-woodsy. All of the employees were very friendly and genuine from the Inn manager right down to the housekeeping staff. I couldn't say enough about how nice they were. We had some time to explore the local area, while there's not much too see of it, there are several antique shops in the "town" part of Mitchell, IN. It's just a small friendly town full of great people. We loved Spring Mill Inn and State Park. Plans for a return visit are under way!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reg_Joe_detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews