We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
102
77
29
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
77
29
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkgus grissomnature centerfried chickenhuge fireplaceindoor outdoor poolair hockeydvd playergrist millrocking chairsping pongstep back in timerustic furniturepersimmon puddingdouble queenhoosier hospitalitysmall lake
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 227 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

First off, the office staff was some of the friendliest we have ever met upon check in! This was our first time to Spring Mill and we were not disappointed. The Inn is cozy and comfortable and within walking or short driving distance to the beautiful spring and Pioneer Village. The room is a bit small, but you won't spend much time in there anyways. The restaurant buffet was delicious. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationerForLife13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Spring Mill Inn is located inside of Spring Mill State Park, so it's convenient for hiking, biking, star gazing, and caving within the park. The park itself is very nice, even in the winter when the trees have lost their leaves. The "inhabitants" of the pioneer village have temporarily closed their shops and homes, but it's still interesting to walk through the site.

Although the Inn is not fancy, it's cozy, quaint, and laid back. My room and all of the common areas were clean and comfortable. The indoor pool is small but well heated. Staff kept a fire going strong in the large fireplace near the registration desk, and visitors enjoyed reading books, meeting new friends, playing checkers, doing puzzles, and sipping hot drinks.

The dining room featured a tasty buffet and a sandwich menu. Tables near the fireplace or the windows with bird feeders were the most popular seats, but servers did their best to accommodate requests.

Internet access was slow but adequate for email. My room included a DVD player, and I rented an old favorite for $3 from the front desk. A very relaxing stay in the woods.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have the best view of the forest.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We just returned from a very enjoyable 2 night stay at the Spring Mill Inn! The Indiana state park inns winter season specials are a great value and we've made numerous trips to several of them. This was our 1st visit to Spring Mill and have to rank it as one of the best. The inn has such a warm and cozy atmosphere (we really liked the Christmas season decor) and has numerous places to sit in front of a fire, get comfy and read a good book. The weather was great and so were the hikes through the park, exploring and visiting the Gus Grissom memorial museum. Our room (338) was very large, comfortable, clean and quiet...but the bed was a bit soft for us firm lovers. The dining room was inviting and the food was very good. The inn staff was very helpful, friendly and service was great. This is just the kind of place we'd love to get snowed in for a week!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PaRlehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip
Advisor review for your stay at the Spring Mill Inn
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your
stay with us.. We appreciate your comments on our rooms,
food and staff. The trails are very interesting and we
are glad you enjoyed them as well. We look forward to
your return.
Warmest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

me and my husband james live a hour from spring mill in clarksville indiana. we stayed thanksgiving 2013 3 days and night. we loved it. we stayed in room 402. a special room upstairs, we have traveled this past summer 42 times to spring mill state park inn for the day on day trips. we have so loved coming to spring mill getting lollipops. the front desk staff is so nice, tom, nikki, devin,and joseph. they bend over backwards to help you. this place is so nice to come to. and it is a bit overpriced. one other thing i feel all the rooms should have fridges and microwaves. the rooms at clifty falls state park each room has a mini fridge and microwave. but its always so nice to come back to spring mill inn. and we are coming back for 3 nights christmas. staying in the lower level suite. so i can hardly wait to come back. ( love the game room) me and my husband played the game clue for hours in the quaint lower level. love it here.

Room Tip: choose either the suite or upper floors like 4th floor ask for it they will give you pretty much what room you like. ask to face the woods its so scenic
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your
visit to the Spring Mill Inn. We appreciate your thinking of us
as a place to stay and enjoy our Inn and Park. We also thank you for your
taking the time to visit our other Parks like Clifty Falls State Park.
We appreciate your recommendation for additional Microwave;s
and Refridgerators in our rooms. We look forward to your return
and you will enjoy the room you have requested. Happy Holiday's
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having recently suffered the loss of a family member, we needed to escape, to run away to somewhere peaceful and quiet for Thanksgiving, and the Spring Mill Inn fit the bill perfectly. Everything about our weekend stay was just exactly what we needed: beautiful setting; the solace of spending time in nature; cozy, comfortable, quiet rooms; good customer service; and a Thanksgiving dinner that I didn't have to cook.

By the time we booked our room in early November our only choice was a room with 2 double beds. Upon checking in we asked if any of the queen rooms were available; there were, but the man at the front desk informed us that the 2-dbls rooms were actually bigger than the queen rooms, so we chose to keep our 2-dbls. The room was comfortable, clean, and had good natural light from the multiple windows. There's a flat-screen tv and DVD player in each room. There are limited channels available (maybe 10?), but the front desk has a good selection of DVDs available for rent at $3 each if you want to spend an evening in your room. The lobby/public areas are wonderful - plenty of comfortable seating, a fire in the fireplace, lots of board games and puzzles available in addition to the ping pong table and arcade games - I enjoyed curling up with my book there in the evenings. Coffee and tea are available in the game room 24/7 - I really would have liked some hot chocolate there, but honestly that's my only "complaint" about our whole weekend - if that's the only improvement I can suggest, that's really saying something.

Buffet meals in the restaurant were definitely hearty, with lots of comfort food. There were always 2 or 3 entrees from which to choose, several vegetable choices, salad bar, hot rolls, and 5 or 6 different pie choices for dessert. Thanksgiving dinner was a zoo - the hostess said they had maxed out at 1000 reservations over the three seatings - but the waitstaff really handled everything well. There was always ample food on the buffet and the servers were always on top of keeping our glasses full and whisking away empty plates, remaining polite all the while... they had to have been exhausted by the time we arrived for the third seating, but they never let on.

The setting inside the state park is lovely, even in late fall when all the leaves are gone. There are miles of well-maintained hiking trails inside the park, including a trailhead right behind the Inn. The Gus Grissom Memorial Museum is small but well-done - as a Purdue grad and a native Houstonian I've always been interested in all things NASA, and even I learned a few new things there.

We've stayed at the inns at Turkey Run and Brown County state parks in the past, and I'm pleased to have added another good experience at another state park inn here at Spring Mill. It's just what a stay at a state park inn should be. The state parks are a wonderful asset in their own right, and the inns are a gem. Keep up the good work, Spring Mill Inn - we'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front of the building get lots of direct sunlight (something hard to come by in late fall), the rooms on the back side overlook the woods.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyAuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write
a Trip Advisor review. Thank you for all your
wonderful comments and we do have hot Chocolate
in the restaurant. I am sorry we did not tell you that
if you asked. We were very happy to have you stay with
us and that you enjoyed our restaurant and the
room you selected for your stay. We also thank you
for sharing your appreciation of all of our State Park Inns.
and that they provide a relaxing experience when you
stay with us. Wee all look forward to your return to
The Spring Mill Inn or any of our other State Park Inns.
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews