We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
103
79
32
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
79
32
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state park gus grissom fried chicken persimmon pudding nature center huge fireplace indoor outdoor pool air hockey dvd player grist mill boat tour rocking chairs step back in time ping pong bird feeders small lake double queen
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 236 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This time of the year is especially a good time to go there. Its very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are showing a bit of wear but that is expected from a place as old as this. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food on the buffet is OK. We were on the third floor and our view was very nice. The fall colors were in peak the weekend we were there. We go there several times a year. The park has a lot to offer through the summer with a pioneer village and a working grist mill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and on the back side. The view is much nicer on that side.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spankie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks you for taking the time to write to us
about your experience here at the Spring Mill Inn and
Park. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward
to your return. We do the best wee can do to make your
stay a pleasant one. Thank you again.
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Inn is located on a ridge in the heart of Spring Mill State Park just outside Mitchell, Indiana. It is that kind of that old lodge like property but with a new indoor/outdoor pool. It provides a lovely view of the park and we were there as the Fall colors were really coming on. The view from our room and the view from the inn's patio were glorious. There is plenty of free parking but one has to pay $5 to get into the park unless he/she has an annual state park pass. Our room was $106 per night and was quite roomy with a king sized bed, a desk and chair and a rocking chair.The bathroom was large and handicap accessible. In fact, it had one of those handicap sort of toilets and my feet barely touched the floor. The food is all buffet but one can get sandwiches for lunch or dinner. Breakfast is 8.50, lunch is 9 dinner is 12.50. But prices for seniors (65+) and children (5-10) are less. The fried chicken is wonderful and there is that old fashioned creamy kind of gravy like my mom used to make. There is usually a choice of three entrees on the buffet with one of them being fish and one chicken. It was all real down home comfort food that we really enjoyed. However, they ran out of some of the desserts so it that is important you may want to eat early. The cornbread was wonderful. The gravy at breakfast doesn't have any sausage in it so I got extra sausage and cut it up for my gravy. They have trouble keeping up with the demand for biscuits. If you are looking for gourmet this isn't it but it is good hearty food.
The inn is very convenient for hiking but because it sits on a ridge the climb back up to the inn after hiking is pretty rigorous (but thankfully short). There is a pioneer village a short hike from the inn that is really worth visiting and includes a still operating grist mill which is operated for a short time every hour. The trails aren't overly rigorous. However, if you are walking to the pioneer village from the inn when you leave trail one from the inn to trail four, go counterclockwise to the right to go to the village. If you go the other way you will have a lot of climbing. There is another nice hike around a small lake that is close to the inn. Just inside the entrance to the park there is nice little museum dedicated to Gus Grissom, one of the original seven astronauts who was born in nearby Mitchell, IN. it doesn't take long to go through it and has a nice short film about him.
There is no coffee in the room but free coffee is available in the game room on the ground floor. The game room is a nice place for the kids. There is no alcohol if that is important to you.
The park has some caves but they were closed due to the fear of white nose syndrome for the bats. However, it was a really lovely spot for leisurely hikes and viewing the beautiful Fall colors of southern Indiana.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best views out the window.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotcha1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for visiting the Spring Mill State Park and staying with us at our Inn.
We are pleased to know you were pleased with your experience during your
visit. We are happy to know you enjoyed our buffet's whether for breakfast,
lunch or dinner. And yes our fried chicken is a favorite for our guests and
we are glad you enjoyed the biscuits and gravy even though you had to
add sausage to the gravy which made it more to your liking. The trails and the village
are very popular and yes some of the trails are more challenging than others. The colors
of the trees this time of year our beautiful. Thank you again for taking the time
to write to Trip Advisor to describe your visit to the Spring Mill Park and Inn and of
course the Gus Grissom Museum.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Each year we take our grandson, who is now eleven, on a mini vacation. This year we booked the 2 queen bedroom in the Inn. It was a perfect get-away! We hiked to all the caves and then spent time in the pool, playing ping pong, and cards in the lower level. The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good and the staff at the Inn was so kind and gracious. My husband and I will return for a quiet weekend ourselves!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the woods.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckettlisttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review
of your experience here at the Spring Mill Park and Inn.
It sounds like you and your grandson had a great time
enjoying the features with-in the Park and the queen
size room and the restaurant buffets. We look forward to your
return and really appreciate your wanting to spend some
time here relaxing and enjoying the Inn and Park again.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and his family has been going to the Spring Mill Inn since he was s boy, and his father's family has been going back to when it was first bult. It is so quiet, and a special place tostay.
Great for family reunions or just a family filled weekend. They have history and the orginial corn mill, you can go and visit.
They still use real keys for their rooms and the windows open so you can enjoy all the fresh air. We will be back time and time again. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Bring your bicycles so you can ridge aroung the park!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We can't thank you enough for coming to the Spring Mill Inn
located inside the Spring Mill State Park. We are happy that
you enjoyed your stay with us and want to make sure we keep
it that way for your return visit. The village is a special place to
visit especially with an operating Mill.
Best personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the inn over Columbus Day weekend. The Inn is situated on a rise inside a forested state park, up from a man made pond. The main structure of the Inn, including the common areas are very well maintained and take you back to a quieter time. Rooms are quaint and rustic, clean and barely showing signs of wear. Perhaps dated, but where is the line between choice of decor and "dated"?

Dining room was just OK. Brightly lit, helpful staff. The buffet, though, had that "high school cafeteria" taste and feel.

We enjoyed the state park--the hiking trails around the inn, the Pioneer Village, the Twin Caves boat ride, and the Grissom Memorial. A bit of a stretch to call the Pioneer Village a "working village", at least on our visit. The Grist Mill was open and "working"--you could buy cornmeal ground on site; there was a blacksmith working, but most of the other buildings were static displays that provided an interesting local history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoVaEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for visiting the Spring Mill State Park and staying with us
at the Inn. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your
experience here at the Inn and Park. Sorry you felt the buffet had a
high school cafeteria feel to it. Good but lacked some creativity. We
look forward to your return to stay at the Inn and enjoy the Park and
hopefully we will make the buffet even better,
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews