We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food in Indiana”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #12 of 201 Restaurants in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Description: might be part of a same name restaurant in Chicago, IL
Restaurant details
Description: might be part of a same name restaurant in Chicago, IL
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Indiana”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like Indian food, you will love India Garden. The buffet at lunch is a great way to try new dishes, or just gorge yourself on the regular favorites. I am a vegetarian, and there are plenty of options to choose from. The Naan is incredible. I eat here at least 2-3 times per month, if not more. Great food for a good price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian cuisine!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've been here a few times, and this is quickly becoming our favorite restaurant in Mishawaka. The lunch buffet is awesome, with a nice variety of vegetarian and meat curries, as well as yummy desserts. Haven't been disappointed yet!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FontanaBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food in South Bend”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hands down, this is my favorite restaurant in South Bend. I'm convinced they lace their food with crack because it has developed into quite the addiction for me. My 10 year-old son grew up on Indian food going to this place 2-3 times a week after pre-school (and that's only because I refused to go to the buffet every single day like he wanted.) He even had his 2nd birthday party there. (I know! What a weirdo!) No, we're not Indian, just your run of the mill crackers.

If you're new to Indian food, I'd recommend checking out their buffet lunch ($8.99 per person) so you can try a little of everything and learn what you like. The buffet is a nice mix of vegetarian and meat dishes, with everything clearly labeled.

In the evening, try their Thali. That's a sampler platter. It's available in both vegetarian and carnivore versions.

Be sure to order Indian tea. It's the pre-cursor to your chai latte and has a few fewer calories. There's a good dose of caffeine in there, so watch out. For the kiddies, or if you're sensitive to spices, order a mango juice to wash down your food.

Regarding the spiciness, the buffet is pretty mild, but if you order off the menu, they'll spice it to your liking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoddessOGeekdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in michiana, period!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I have been going here since they opened. Good people, great food. Unfamiliar with Indian? Try the lunch buffet, it will not disappoint you. Also great for vegetarians, weird bunch that you are. Never will you leave hungry or not satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ordered the authentic Indian dinner. Service was quick, and food was excellent. No regrets!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypsyKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Garden also viewed

 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing