We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great manager!!”
Review of Papa Vino's

Papa Vino's
Ranked #3 of 198 Restaurants in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Bend, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great manager!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I had a great dinner there arond the Holidays and things were busy and the manager, Kevin took time to come and talk to us and check to make sure our meal were good, which they were. He was very personable and interacted with our kids too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    69
    35
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Loved the food. The staff was super friendly and I loved the atmosphere. It was a little more expensive than I had hoped, but it was still reasonable for the amount of food. I'd go back and I reccommend it for other Italian lovers

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethE837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“love the remodel”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've always enoyed the food. Great warm bread brought to the table with oil and spices, large delicios salads, wonderfl pasta dishes, and now the inside is gorgeous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvnnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Been going here for years”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been going here since they opened, I think, back in 1997 when it was known as Spagheddies. But this was the first time I've been back since they remodeled about a year and a half ago. It looks so different inside, but it's the same building. The appearance is more upscale, more formal, however, the menu still offers great value, and many of the patrons are still as casual as ever. It's common to see a nicely dressed couple maybe celebrating an anniversary, and the next table over will be people who looked like they just arrived from the gym. (Once, I saw a body builder who was dining after his workout, still wearing teeny tiny shorts with his thick body hair billowing out from his tight tank top.)

There are ten entrees under $10. And Monday through Thursday there are great value deals. Go on Tuesday for the Sizzleini, a meal that actually "sounds" as delicious as it tastes. Check the website for the other deals from meals to drinks. If you are really hungry, go for the Lasagna. It's a huge portion and very filling.

We always like to start with the Calamari appetizer - tender and served with a marinara dipping sauce. I usually go for my bland favorite, Spaghetti with Meat Balls, but this time I tried a new item on the menu, Spaghetti Calabrese (spicy Italian sausage with sauce), which was wonderful. My wife had the Eggplant Parmesan, which she thought was too greasy. We also love the roasted garlic olive oil dipping sauce with the bread, and we usually consume two loaves. And so, we never have any room for dessert!

Pleasant service as always, and overall, still an enjoyable evening. Although I have to admit, I might be one of the few that misses the old Papa Vino's decor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitanes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“busy place, good food and service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our first ever visit to Papa Vino's was in Mishawaka. We went with another couple who reccommended it. The food was very good. The service was very good, as well. the place was jumping on a Friday night but we were seated on time with a reservation. LOVE the oil with dried garlic for dipping the loaves of fresh bread. Italian wedding soup was chock full of meatballs. Lasagna was HUGE. Shrimp in spicy sauce with garlic was perfect. Veal marsala done to perfection. For a chain, it was a surprising find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_and_DebbieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papa Vino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing