We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Location - Good Value”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was on business for 3 nights and stayed at this hotel. It was very clean, room was comfortable, had a nice breakfast and in the evening a small bar for coctails and snacks out in the lobby. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkgal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    141
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
249
55
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I stayed one night to ring in the new year. The TV was enormous (which was great for what we were there for) and the room was spacious and clean.
If I had one complaint, it would be that the pool was EXTREMELY cold. My children (who usually will swim in anything) were even in and out in under 10 minutes.
Breakfast was fancy and very tasty.
Definately a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Traveled to Mishawaka for a wedding. This hotel was very nice. We requested a room on the 4th floor and it was quiet. Check in was super fast, and the staff very helpful - they even helped with my request for a cold beer, after the long drive. :) Thanks, Andrew!

The beds were super comfortable - and as a germaphobe, I was glad to see the duvet is fresh and clean with each new guest - no sitting on scanky bed-spreads. The TV was huge, and it swiveled so that we could see it from the sofa, or from in bed. And the best - drum...roll....was the shower! Loved the rain - shower head.

Would recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are a bit smaller - but the set up - I think they call it the "efficency" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recall-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped at the Hyatt Place during a cross country journey to Rhode Island. The Hyatt is tucked back among restaurants and stores, so it wasn't the easiest to find, but my GPS got us there. Check in was quick and efficient. Our hotel room was clean and nice with a king size bed, queen sleeper sofa and large flat screen TV. Air conditioner kept the room comfortable. One minor inconvenience was that I could not locate any information about the hotel and surrounding restaurants in the room. However, the front desk was helpful in locating a good nearby restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was good with breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal, cereals, fruit and beverages. Check out was also quick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited this hotel while taking my daughter to Notre Dame. It's only a couple of miles from the university with a direct route there. Although partial to Marriott properties we though we would this hotel a try since the rates were about $50 less than the Residence Inn. I have to note that the Hyatt Place rooms do not have a kitchenettes but we rarely use them anyway. In general the hotel was well designed and has a modern flare. They could use some additional seating for breakfast (included) although there is an outside terrace that can be used during the warm months. The breakfast was rather disappointing for a Hyatt property. I had Eggs Benedict one morning and although they were on a warming plate they were cold and dry with the muffin not being toasted. My wife had the oatmeal and it wasn't fully cooked. Another morning I had a blueberry muffin and it was ice cold and there really wasn't anywhere to warm it up except the toaster. It didn't seem like they were prepared for a parents weekend.
As for the rooms I thought they were great. Excellent lighting, walkin large shower, large sectional sofa, hughmongus flat screen TV. The windows didn't open which I liked because I was on the first floor. The PTAC (A/C) was a little noisy and the thermostats control for it was in a inconvenient location. The bedding was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
There was a girls college soccer team staying there over parents weekend which I thought was a bit strange, but they were well behaved.
The hotel is located in a commercial area, convient to restaurants and places like Bed, Bath & Beyond and WalMart that you need for all those college dorm accessories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Northern Michigan. The decor was typical Hyatt, however, there was definite wear and tear evident, which I attributed to the college town location. This is located in a nice part of South Bend, but be warned everything around the hotel closes early (at least in the Summer) so your only dining option if arriving late (and beware the time change) is the hotel dining. Strangely, when I asked for a recommendation where to eat, I was directed to the local McDonald's some distance away, but later realized they were serving hot meals at the hotel. Go figure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuO639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Stu0639,

Thank you for your candid comments and for giving us this training opportunity! We can always find something for our late arrivals to munch on and are grateful to you for highlighting this need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Yes, the breakfast is first rate. Yes, the Staff are courteous and eager to serve. Yes, the hotel location is convenient to just about any dining/shopping experience you'd desire. Yes, the housekeeping "attendants" were attentive to our needs. Yes, the building has a modern vibe and the Lobby the same (the professional photos do make rooms look much larger than they really are though) but once you step off the elevator on your floor you feel as if you are in a refurbished hotel; better lighting could brighten those hallways. Our room had a smell of bleach and we had no windows to open on a cool day to air it out; maybe the HVAC unit should be cleaned. When we first entered the room, I went immediately to get the AC going and nothing worked; called the desk; he said to ignore it and just use the newer thermostat on the wall. I told him to tell Mgt. to clearly say that on the old unit; he said that they get this type of call all the time! A recent Tripadvisor reviewer who stayed here said that she'd like to take the Hyatt mattress home with her - I wish she had; these are not comfortably firm. We were on the 3rd floor and the sound-proofing wasn't good; we had a hotel guest pacing in the room above us and even could hear him coughing. Our friends asked to have their room moved further down the hallway as they heard a dog barking loudly in the room next to where they had been assigned. The desk clerk called us right after 11 p.m. on our first night, when we had just gone to sleep, to check to see if we were really in Room 303 as the records showed us in Room 311; (we requested a room closer to the elevator at check in; apparently the change wasn't recorded). We were then awakened at 5:30 a.m. the following morning by the bedside alarm clock (which we had not set); the housekeeping staff should look to make sure that the alarm is set to the OFF position when they make ready the room for the next guest. We had not stayed in a Hyatt hotel in many years and had very positive experiences at Hyatts in the past. As retirees, we stay at other hotel brands at least monthly and we know quality hospitality; we had an enjoyable stay with our friends at this Hyatt but it did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Get a 4th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnie T, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear AAsenior,

Thank you for your honest and insightful review. Your comments provide us with an opportunity to improve! We are glad that you were able to enjoy your time with friends and hope to provide an outstanding experience in the future, should you choose to return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
3.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varsity Clubs of America
Varsity Clubs of America
#3 of 16 in Mishawaka
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
584 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka

Property: Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
Address: 215 W Day Rd, Mishawaka, IN 46545-1401
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mishawaka
#2 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
#4 Business Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka is ideally located in the heart of the "Golden Corridor", which boasts premium shopping and dining enjoyment. Also within five miles of the hotel are several prestigious attractions such as Notre Dame University and the Studebaker Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place South Bend Hotel Mishawaka
Hyatt Place Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing