We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our family of four recently stayed at the Varsity Club in Mishawaka when we were in the area for a Notre Dame football game. Someone called us earlier in the week before our arrival to verify we were still coming (most hotels are sold out on home football weekends) and to see if there was anything else we needed. They also verified that we had requested a roll-away. We weren't able to check in until almost 9 p.m., so we were very happy that everything was just as we had requested. Using both the sofa sleeper and the roll-away made the living room a little tight, but no one seemed to mind. It was nice to have the large vanity outside of the shower and toilet area so that more than one person could be getting ready at once. We also appreciated having a refrigerator and microwave in the the unit. The breakfast buffet in the mornings, with made to order omelets, potatoes, bacon, sausage, rolls, fruit, and many other things was very good and replenished frequently. We definitely enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scsagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write about your great experience at the Varsity Clubs by Diamond Resorts. We strive to make each guest comfortable with a relaxing stay. It is great to hear we provided you with the "excellent service" we strive to give. We appreciate your loyalty. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you next time.
Sincerely,
Anne Lederer, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Varsity Clubs of America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really enjoy staying here when we want to visit Amish/Mennonite locations in the area, when we have a sports event at Notre Dame and when we want a quick getaway to visit museums, theater and restaurants in the South Bend area.
There are hundreds of restaurants and shopping within just a few miles.
The Club is clean, quiet, and comfortable and has amenities like an exercise room and a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the one bedroom deluxe.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melaney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The only reason this isn’t a five is because of a mix up in our reservations when we first arrived and the reason it isn’t a 3 or lower is because of the excellent way they handled the mix up. As everyone knows, it’s not the mistakes that leave an impression, but the way the mistakes are handled – and they handled it very well. We arrived around 9PM and had to wait while rooms were readied, which after 12+ hours on the road was not a very welcome beginning to our stay. It was doubly annoying because I’d called earlier in the week to reconfirm our reservation. After the first night in two separate rooms, the next day we moved to the suite that was originally reserved. We were given some compensation for our inconvenience, everyone was apologetic and helpful, and the rooms were well kept and clean, with all the expected amenities. If I were in the area, I'd give them a second chance since it is a nice facility, location, and the people were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We would like to once again apologise for the issue you have encountered o your arrival. We strive to provide excellent service every time and to every guest and we are happy to know that this has not left a lasting bad impression and that the rest of your stay continued undisturbed. We sincerely appreciate your custom and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rebecca at the desk and on the phone was wonderful and was concerned about my issues when asking about the rooms. The suite was huge. It was great to have dishes in the room and the kitchen. I used the pool which was heated and the hot tub which was clean. They provided huge towels for the pool. I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast cost $6.37 plus tip and that was very reasonable. I used the sauna and it is a one to two person sauna which was adequate for me. Two TVs in the room, one in bedroom and one in living room. Jet tub which I did not use. I used the blow dryer and it worked. They have a small food center open 24/7 which was convenient. I thought the money I spent that night was worth it. Huge space for one person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we will ensure that Rebecca is aware of your appreciation. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Property was just a few miles from Notre Dame and anywhere from 20-35 minutes to the various Amish communites ranging from Elkhart to Shipshewana. As part of timeshare trade I found this site to be clean, with our room including a fully equipped limited kitchen. Staff was friendly and efficient. Only served a continental breakfast for an additional charge but eating establishments (fast food and sit-down) were nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had never stayed there before and found it very inviting, lots of room, desk clerks very friendly!! Everything was very comfortable! We used points with Interval International from our Hyatt Vacation Club timeshare and can report it was every bit the 5 star treatment we have become used to with Hyatt.
Our functional, yet spacious and clean room was top-notch and being on the ground floor with porch facilities was a plus, with nary a noise from outside and surrounding rooms. Loved being able to sit out on the porch relaxing, while watching other guests playing in the Bocci Ball pitch and using the Putting Green, while being just across from the pool, which was not loud even with all the youngsters swimming.
On one day I had to turn away the Housekeeping gal because we had stayed in, due to my Wife experiencing a debilitating Migraine, and only an hour later the Front Desk delivered a lovely miniature Mum planting with a Get Well card, to our room. Such attention to guests would rate a 6 on a scale of 1 to 5 in my book.
We never took advantage of the low cost breakfast offerings, or the bar (which was closed on weekends) but the lovely grounds, jacuzzi, workout facilities and pool were greatly appreciated. The WiFi worked quite well at any hour, except it was definitely lacking in staying power between 8 and 11 pm, possibly due to all the folks retreating indoors and jumping online at those times.
All in all, this was a wonderfully relaxing vacation, split between nearby SB relatives, shopping, dining out and cloistered in this lovely establishment. VCA~Mishawaka, you are first rate!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was nice but the bathroom had mold on the ceiling and the shower curtain made me feel very uncomfortable everytime I walked in...At first I thought the service was good until I called down to the front desk to see if my friend needed a parking pass but before I could get all the words out the girl cut me off answered the question and hung up the phone...rude...another thing I wasn't to happy about is they charge tax on snacks and pop like damn are you that broke you have to tax 50 cent peanuts and $1.50 pop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adarling304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experiences and we are very disappointed to read that on this occasion we have not been successful and that you were not pleased with our level of customer service we offer. We would like to assure you this is not the standard of care we strive to achieve every day and this issue will be addressed. We hope you will give us the opportunity to amend the impression given. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
866 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - South Bend - Mishawaka - North
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: $82 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing