We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varsity Clubs of America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
port huron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at this "resort". The first stay was much better. We stayed here the week of Nov 9 2012. An started off bad, the entire first floor was frigin hockey kids. Checked in around 930 pm, there was a couple dozen kids standing an playing with there skate boards on the curbs. Walked in the lobby, dozens of kids an parents walking around the sitting area. I asked when they will be gone an she said sunday, otherwise i would have went someplace else. Friday night i took a shower an left the bathroom door open an the smoke alarm went off!! After the first day it did get better after I went an bought some pillows. The ones they have are huge an very uncomfortable able. The first night i used the couch pillows. I would stay there again i suppose for the price, 230 ish for a week for a 1 bed suite. The area is great, if you like to eat, every restaurant is around there. Had some great ribs there. The local zoo there is nice little getaway, an the studabaker museum was nice as well

Room Tip: i would for sure avoid the first floor. i would have been really mad if we had to stay on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    53
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
43
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

really feel like we got a great value - clean, spacious suite with comfortable bed, huge soaking tub, lots of fluffy towels , without even asking for extra! while their prices did certainly go up for game weekend, not as astronomical as others. liked having the breakfast option right there as the bar for a nitecap. if we had planned more ahead would have taken advantage of the fridge/micro/kitchen for drinks and snacks. had a shuttle van that was a nice feature we did not use but thought about for a trip back to campus. had a lot of amenities we did not have time to use, like indoor pool spa bocce courts shuttle van. we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We traded one of our weeks for this property,maybe that was the first mistake because we were not treated like a guest should be. Keep in mind that Diamond is very inflexible. Since we couldn't check in on the Friday, we tried to work with Diamond to give them 4 days on the back end for 2 days on the front. Smart management would see this as a great deal for them but not here so we had to pay full price for our first two nights. (we left the room empty for the last 4 days, since they wouldn't work with us we didn't want them to rent it) The problem here is that our room was not cleaned until the day we left! We had to track down our own kleenex and toilet paper. As a reg paying guest the first two nights it should have been cleaned, staff here seemed confused (night shift was worthless - a man) We were told on Friday night that we couldn't get help until Monday when "management was in". The male employee was rude and clueless.
Sofa mattress a joke, two people slept on the floor instead. The room was dirty and musty when we checked in. Mgmt in these reviews will say they are fixing it up but be aware that rooms are dirty, musty and old. Don't ever buy a Diamond timeshare, very inflexible!! I would only stay here if you have absolutely no other choice. There are a LOT of other choices in this area.

Room Tip: Be prepared to get your own towels and paper products when needed. Staff is only able to help with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alltraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
As exchange availability is based on an owner depositing their week with specific dates, our team is not always able to offer alternative dates. We will do whatever is possible, subject to the availability of our rooms, to provide flexibility with a guest’s reservation or exchange.

Generally, vacation ownership properties do not offer daily housekeeping services. Our property offers a midweek cleaning for stays of a week or more, which explains why our housekeeping team arrived when they did. We regret that our night staff wasn’t able to assist you with your concerns about housekeeping as all guests should receive the same exceptional customer service from our team members. Your experience is atypical for what we strive to provide and we will be sure to address your concerns with the front desk team.

We have acknowledged in the past that we are currently evaluating options for refurbishment. As these projects tend to be very extensive, we want to ensure that every aspect is factored in prior to moving forward with any changes.

While it is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy your stay, we do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We use feedback like yours to shape the guest experience for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms very nice. The kitchenette has full sized refrig/freezer. Two burner stove, apt sized dishwasher. It had new fixtures, flat screen tv. The tub had a higher side which would be difficult for somebody with handicap to step over and the hot water wasn't real quick in reaching the showerhead. Rooms clean, housekeeping very quick in response when called to advise short a set of various towels. The next day was checked on to see if needed to exchange towels, or needed anything. Hotel manager reported after football season the facility was going to start replacing all counter tops and the tiles in the hot tub. There is already a new pump and mechanics in the hottub.

There is no food available on site, however, no problems if meet people and bring foods of any type to the public area to visit. Many restaurants in area. The bar was only open from 5P on Friday and Sat of ballgame weekend. During this period one cannot take any of their own alcohol to the bar area, however when the bar is not open, guests may enjoy their own person al alcohol while viewing the wide screen television.

During the mornings the Skillet Restaurant in South Bend caters in a fine breakfast buffet.

The town has a bus running to the ND Stadium on a schedule. For $7.00 per person people can be picked up transported to the stadium, enjoy the festivities, and be deposited back to the hotel. It is more cost effective than parking near stadium and fighting traffic (and now construction in the area)

Staff was all very friendly.

The fitness area needs updated. Very minimal, no treadmill. Hopefully it on the list of items to be updated.

There is a laundry area availalbl.

Room Tip: During Notre Dame Football Games, and possibly during other activities, there is a minimum of three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel, big lobby with a bar. Gigantic rooms. Our room had a pullout sofa in a living room with a small kitchen and a huge bedroom. The hotel is a bit old, but it is very clean and they do a good job at trying to keep it fresh despite the age. It's not luxurious by any means but it's a step up from some of the other hotels in the area. I'd definitely stay here again. It is only about a 10 minute drive from the Notre Dame campus.

They have a breakfast buffet you can pay for. I didn't try it since I had to check out very early in the morning. My one complaint was that check in was kind of slow. They had one person working the desk on a very busy weekend. Not so smart in planning that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you would stay here again, and that our accommodations, amenities, location met, if not exceeded your expectations. It is of great concern to us that your check in was delayed due lack of staff. There were extenuating circumstances beyond our control that led to only one person being available at our front desk the day you checked in. We have taken the necessary steps needed to ensure this is not repeated again in the future, especially during a busy time of the year for our resort. We can’t wait to see you again, and hope you are able to try out our breakfast buffet next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This place was great. It was expensive, but all of the hotels in the surrounding area are during ND football games. I've stayed in a few hotels in the area, and this was by far one of the best. Spacious and clean room, great lobby, comfortable bed and enough room for the entire family. They recently started serving breakfast, which was very good. Our overall experience was great. We will a absolutely stay there when we go out for another game - and so should you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Costello3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Varsity Clubs of America at South Bend, and that you’re planning to return here – we look forward to serving your vacation needs on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

With all the offerings on Main Street in Mishawaka Indiana it was difficult to decide but the Varsity Club was worth it. I was there for a family funeral, quick in & out & they accommodated my needs perfectly. Even had a plant in the room for me to take extending condolences...great touch! I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We’re sorry that you didn’t have a happier cause to visit Mishawaka on this occasion, but we’re really glad that you chose to stay at the Varsity Clubs of America at South Bend. We strive to deliver excellent service to all our guests, and we’re really delighted that we were able to meet with your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mishawaka South Bend Area
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Property: Varsity Clubs of America
Address: 3800 N. Main St., Mishawaka, IN 46545
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing