We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Varsity Club Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms very nice. The kitchenette has full sized refrig/freezer. Two burner stove, apt sized dishwasher. It had new fixtures, flat screen tv. The tub had a higher side which would be difficult for somebody with handicap to step over and the hot water wasn't real quick in reaching the showerhead. Rooms clean, housekeeping very quick in response when called to advise short a set of various towels. The next day was checked on to see if needed to exchange towels, or needed anything. Hotel manager reported after football season the facility was going to start replacing all counter tops and the tiles in the hot tub. There is already a new pump and mechanics in the hottub.

There is no food available on site, however, no problems if meet people and bring foods of any type to the public area to visit. Many restaurants in area. The bar was only open from 5P on Friday and Sat of ballgame weekend. During this period one cannot take any of their own alcohol to the bar area, however when the bar is not open, guests may enjoy their own person al alcohol while viewing the wide screen television.

During the mornings the Skillet Restaurant in South Bend caters in a fine breakfast buffet.

The town has a bus running to the ND Stadium on a schedule. For $7.00 per person people can be picked up transported to the stadium, enjoy the festivities, and be deposited back to the hotel. It is more cost effective than parking near stadium and fighting traffic (and now construction in the area)

Staff was all very friendly.

The fitness area needs updated. Very minimal, no treadmill. Hopefully it on the list of items to be updated.

There is a laundry area availalbl.

Room Tip: During Notre Dame Football Games, and possibly during other activities, there is a minimum of three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel, big lobby with a bar. Gigantic rooms. Our room had a pullout sofa in a living room with a small kitchen and a huge bedroom. The hotel is a bit old, but it is very clean and they do a good job at trying to keep it fresh despite the age. It's not luxurious by any means but it's a step up from some of the other hotels in the area. I'd definitely stay here again. It is only about a 10 minute drive from the Notre Dame campus.

They have a breakfast buffet you can pay for. I didn't try it since I had to check out very early in the morning. My one complaint was that check in was kind of slow. They had one person working the desk on a very busy weekend. Not so smart in planning that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you would stay here again, and that our accommodations, amenities, location met, if not exceeded your expectations. It is of great concern to us that your check in was delayed due lack of staff. There were extenuating circumstances beyond our control that led to only one person being available at our front desk the day you checked in. We have taken the necessary steps needed to ensure this is not repeated again in the future, especially during a busy time of the year for our resort. We can’t wait to see you again, and hope you are able to try out our breakfast buffet next time you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place was great. It was expensive, but all of the hotels in the surrounding area are during ND football games. I've stayed in a few hotels in the area, and this was by far one of the best. Spacious and clean room, great lobby, comfortable bed and enough room for the entire family. They recently started serving breakfast, which was very good. Our overall experience was great. We will a absolutely stay there when we go out for another game - and so should you!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Costello3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Varsity Clubs of America at South Bend, and that you’re planning to return here – we look forward to serving your vacation needs on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

With all the offerings on Main Street in Mishawaka Indiana it was difficult to decide but the Varsity Club was worth it. I was there for a family funeral, quick in & out & they accommodated my needs perfectly. Even had a plant in the room for me to take extending condolences...great touch! I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your review! We’re sorry that you didn’t have a happier cause to visit Mishawaka on this occasion, but we’re really glad that you chose to stay at the Varsity Clubs of America at South Bend. We strive to deliver excellent service to all our guests, and we’re really delighted that we were able to meet with your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place looks nice from the outside but don't be fooled, queen sofa bed is a joke, might work for a 3 year old. Springs were broken, mattress was incredibly worn out, the floor is by far more comfortable. furniture was dirty and the bathroom faucet was the worst quality, it would hardly turn on/off, and the toilet was so loud it was ridiculous, the shower head had such a strong blast it hurt, a gas station bathroom is far better. Overall it was pretty bad, dirty and old. Definately look somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you are desperate enough to stay here bring ear plugs for the loud plumbing and a/c units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We regret that you had concerns with your stay at Varsity Club of America- South Bend. We can assure you that we are currently evaluating our opportunities for improvement with our new management company. Our team members are dedicated to the quality of your stay so we hope that you notified them of your concerns while you were here. Our housekeeping and maintenance team have been notified of the cleanliness of the unit and the specifics of your review.

It is unfortunate that you had some issues, but we are confident if you choose to stay with us in the future you will have a much better experience. The feedback you have provided is used to help improve our overall guest experience, and we appreciate you taking the time to share it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Slow to check in. Had to wait while we watched another staff walk around hoping they wouldn't have to engage with us. The room stinks of mildew!! Air conditioners can't keep up. After taking a shower it seems like the whole room is under siege!! No maid service... they came when we were getting ready to go out the door and asked them to come back in a hour. When we came back to our room later in the night they had not been there. Tried to call the front desk but they would not pick up. We went down and talked to the front desk and asked about the maid service. Nick at the front desk said he had no one on staff or on call to take care of the situation. He did offer to get us clean towels. When we asked who was the manager in the morning he said they come in at 9 or 10 am. Did not want to give us the name of the manager in the morning... Just wanted us to go away!! When I told him bulls***t go get me the name off the schedule in your back room so I know who to talk to in the morning he told me he didnt have to listen to me and he would call the police and have me removed!!! Just because i asked for the name of the manager in the morning!!! Do not stay here!!

Room Tip: Try not to come in at break time by the pool, the staff will be smoking out there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamacita1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for posting your concerns. We regret that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Please be aware that our normal daily check in time is 4:00pm. While we will try and see if early check in is available for our guests, we do allow our guests to put their bags in storage and walk around to use the pool, Jacuzzi, billiard room, or putting green, if their room isn’t available. The treatment you received from a staff member at check in is not typical for the level of Customer Service we expect from our staff. This will be addressed internally. As it was unusually hot in Indiana for this time of year, this may have had an effect on the internal smell in your unit. Our housekeeping staff did try and come up to your unit twice during the day in question, only to be told to come up when requested. We apologize for any mix-up in regard to this situation, as our housekeeping staff was not available to service your room after normal working hours. Our front desk team member policy is to contact the proper authorities if they feel the situation calls for it. However, this is only used in an extreme circumstance, when the team member feels their safety may be compromised. The safety and well being of our guests and team members alike is one of our utmost priorities and concerns, and we hope that you will understand why this was advised to you by one of our team members. We hope that you will you give our resort and staff another chance to make up for this recent visit as we are confident that you will have a much more pleasurable experience the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My son's 16U baseball team invaded this hotel for 3 nights. The staff and the accomodations could not have been more accomodating. The rooms had refrigerators which was very helpful. We had a 2-bedroom suite with a full kitchen which was fantastic. Big bedrooms, big bathrooms, nicely furnished....great price!! Although the bar was rarely opened, their was no problem with us creating our own bar. We also used the bar area for a pizza party - without issue. There is a nice gameroom for the kids with pool and big screen. Close to Notre Dame and other fields that we played on and close to many appropriate restaurants and services. We couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: The two bedrooms suites are a great deal. They are away from the elevators and noise and have laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Mishawaka South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: $92 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing