We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Varsity Clubs South Bend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place looks nice from the outside but don't be fooled, queen sofa bed is a joke, might work for a 3 year old. Springs were broken, mattress was incredibly worn out, the floor is by far more comfortable. furniture was dirty and the bathroom faucet was the worst quality, it would hardly turn on/off, and the toilet was so loud it was ridiculous, the shower head had such a strong blast it hurt, a gas station bathroom is far better. Overall it was pretty bad, dirty and old. Definately look somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you are desperate enough to stay here bring ear plugs for the loud plumbing and a/c units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We regret that you had concerns with your stay at Varsity Club of America- South Bend. We can assure you that we are currently evaluating our opportunities for improvement with our new management company. Our team members are dedicated to the quality of your stay so we hope that you notified them of your concerns while you were here. Our housekeeping and maintenance team have been notified of the cleanliness of the unit and the specifics of your review.

It is unfortunate that you had some issues, but we are confident if you choose to stay with us in the future you will have a much better experience. The feedback you have provided is used to help improve our overall guest experience, and we appreciate you taking the time to share it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Slow to check in. Had to wait while we watched another staff walk around hoping they wouldn't have to engage with us. The room stinks of mildew!! Air conditioners can't keep up. After taking a shower it seems like the whole room is under siege!! No maid service... they came when we were getting ready to go out the door and asked them to come back in a hour. When we came back to our room later in the night they had not been there. Tried to call the front desk but they would not pick up. We went down and talked to the front desk and asked about the maid service. Nick at the front desk said he had no one on staff or on call to take care of the situation. He did offer to get us clean towels. When we asked who was the manager in the morning he said they come in at 9 or 10 am. Did not want to give us the name of the manager in the morning... Just wanted us to go away!! When I told him bulls***t go get me the name off the schedule in your back room so I know who to talk to in the morning he told me he didnt have to listen to me and he would call the police and have me removed!!! Just because i asked for the name of the manager in the morning!!! Do not stay here!!

Room Tip: Try not to come in at break time by the pool, the staff will be smoking out there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamacita1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for posting your concerns. We regret that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Please be aware that our normal daily check in time is 4:00pm. While we will try and see if early check in is available for our guests, we do allow our guests to put their bags in storage and walk around to use the pool, Jacuzzi, billiard room, or putting green, if their room isn’t available. The treatment you received from a staff member at check in is not typical for the level of Customer Service we expect from our staff. This will be addressed internally. As it was unusually hot in Indiana for this time of year, this may have had an effect on the internal smell in your unit. Our housekeeping staff did try and come up to your unit twice during the day in question, only to be told to come up when requested. We apologize for any mix-up in regard to this situation, as our housekeeping staff was not available to service your room after normal working hours. Our front desk team member policy is to contact the proper authorities if they feel the situation calls for it. However, this is only used in an extreme circumstance, when the team member feels their safety may be compromised. The safety and well being of our guests and team members alike is one of our utmost priorities and concerns, and we hope that you will understand why this was advised to you by one of our team members. We hope that you will you give our resort and staff another chance to make up for this recent visit as we are confident that you will have a much more pleasurable experience the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My son's 16U baseball team invaded this hotel for 3 nights. The staff and the accomodations could not have been more accomodating. The rooms had refrigerators which was very helpful. We had a 2-bedroom suite with a full kitchen which was fantastic. Big bedrooms, big bathrooms, nicely furnished....great price!! Although the bar was rarely opened, their was no problem with us creating our own bar. We also used the bar area for a pizza party - without issue. There is a nice gameroom for the kids with pool and big screen. Close to Notre Dame and other fields that we played on and close to many appropriate restaurants and services. We couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: The two bedrooms suites are a great deal. They are away from the elevators and noise and have laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great place! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Close to South Bend and all it has to offer. Restaurants, grocery stores, and a shopping mall are nearby. There are no sidewalks, so a car is recommended. The pool and hot tub are located in different areas of the building, and the bar is seldom open. We had a wonderful time and will be back. We had a one bedroom unit with a small kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. We suggest a day trip to the southern MI wineries. Don't miss the Studebaker museum.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3leggeddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We needed multiple rooms for family members for our Notre Dame graduation and in looking at the options in South Bend and Mishawaka, this place seemed perfect. We were able to get multiple 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom suites, which worked out perfectly for our families. All of our guests were impressed with how nice the place was. The little kids were able to swim in the pool, and the rest of us enjoyed having a nice living area to relax in between events. Tammy at the front desk was wonderful! Everything from recommending restaurants to helping us get everyone checked in and out with the craziness that comes with trying to get grandparents and others taken care of. We would highly recommend this place, not only for graduation but for other Notre Dame events. It's very convenient to campus (a very short drive). Although they don't have breakfast, there is a Meijer about a block away with everything you need. I'd also recommend Indulgence bakery which is just down the street on Edison and has great coffee cakes/monkey bread!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies. If you'd like one, you can request one in advance although they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. I arrived a little before check-in, but the lady at the front desk allowed me to check-in. She also asked why I was in the area and I mentioned just to look around campus at Notre Dame. She immediately mentioned they offer public tours at 10am and 3pm. Since it was about 2pm when I checked in...she suggested I try the 3pm tour. She supplied a map of the location of the tour and other useful local information.

As far as the room goes..I had a one bedroom suite. The living area was separate from the bedroom and there was a door that actually would allow it to be totally separated out. There was a pull-out couch in the living room as well as a flat screen tv and then also the kitchen area which included a stove, microwave, fridge, etc. The bedroom was good size and also had a flat screen on the wall.

The hotel was a short drive to campus (10 minutes maybe) and also close to shopping and restaurants. Couldn't ask for a more convenient location.

My only small complaint is the $250 deposit on the room. They place a hold on your credit card until it is verified no damage was done to the room. This is done for protection for the hotel as I am sure there have been room parties during Notre Dame game weekends and probably damage done! Either way...just a small inconvenience for such a great hotel. I also really liked the sports theme and the lobby area was great. I wasn't there on a game weekend...but I can imagine it is a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: No continental breakfast is supplied. There is a Meijer grocery store just to the north of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for the lovely response. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

We are currently working on providing breakfast in the near future.

Have a great week and we appreciate your loyalty to Varsity Clubs/Diamond Resorts.

Sincerely,

Anne Lederer, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had the best time. My wife and I wanted a do nothing vacation, and we found it here in Mishawaka. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty of shopping, places to eat, fun things to do and sem but the pace is your own, from a trip to the Amish Shipshawana area, to a day trip to Chicago, a stroll through Notre Dame campus (beautiful campus full of history) or local movie theaters, skating rinks and ice cream parlors, or just a relaxing trip to the resort's pool and spa.

We can't wait to go next spring and will be taking people with us, The staff is friendly ans the room touch ups are nice, it was Greg to come back to your room to have your bed made, fresh towels and dishes washed....I give them a A+ in the customer service department.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Mishawaka South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: $92 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing