We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to Notre Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. I arrived a little before check-in, but the lady at the front desk allowed me to check-in. She also asked why I was in the area and I mentioned just to look around campus at Notre Dame. She immediately mentioned they offer public tours at 10am and 3pm. Since it was about 2pm when I checked in...she suggested I try the 3pm tour. She supplied a map of the location of the tour and other useful local information.

As far as the room goes..I had a one bedroom suite. The living area was separate from the bedroom and there was a door that actually would allow it to be totally separated out. There was a pull-out couch in the living room as well as a flat screen tv and then also the kitchen area which included a stove, microwave, fridge, etc. The bedroom was good size and also had a flat screen on the wall.

The hotel was a short drive to campus (10 minutes maybe) and also close to shopping and restaurants. Couldn't ask for a more convenient location.

My only small complaint is the $250 deposit on the room. They place a hold on your credit card until it is verified no damage was done to the room. This is done for protection for the hotel as I am sure there have been room parties during Notre Dame game weekends and probably damage done! Either way...just a small inconvenience for such a great hotel. I also really liked the sports theme and the lobby area was great. I wasn't there on a game weekend...but I can imagine it is a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: No continental breakfast is supplied. There is a Meijer grocery store just to the north of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for the lovely response. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

We are currently working on providing breakfast in the near future.

Have a great week and we appreciate your loyalty to Varsity Clubs/Diamond Resorts.

Sincerely,

Anne Lederer, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had the best time. My wife and I wanted a do nothing vacation, and we found it here in Mishawaka. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty of shopping, places to eat, fun things to do and sem but the pace is your own, from a trip to the Amish Shipshawana area, to a day trip to Chicago, a stroll through Notre Dame campus (beautiful campus full of history) or local movie theaters, skating rinks and ice cream parlors, or just a relaxing trip to the resort's pool and spa.

We can't wait to go next spring and will be taking people with us, The staff is friendly ans the room touch ups are nice, it was Greg to come back to your room to have your bed made, fresh towels and dishes washed....I give them a A+ in the customer service department.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm responsible for booking the rooms for my son's sports team and we recently all stayed at the Varsity Club for two nights. I've never had so many parents approach me to rave about the hotel I had found for the team. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe that was very spacious and immaculately clean. The kitchen was stocked with cuisanart appliances. The bathroom area has a double vanity and an extra large bathtub. Everything from check-in to check-out was fantastic. The weather was very warm when we were there so they had the retractable roof open above the pool. The hot tub and pool were both great. Ken, the bartender, was a delight and bent over backwards to make sure our group was happy. The front desk staff were very helpful with local restaurant information. If I return to South Bend I will definitely be staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

we are here now, and the room is awesome, best hotel room we have ever stayed at, the only problem was we were told the swimming pool was going to be open today and we seen a sign that said they were not opening it today, that was why we brought the kids. So kinda upset about that. Will still recommend to friends and family though. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel was great! The location of the hotel is great and it is a short drive to wherever you need to go. The lounge inside the hotel is fun, pool table, TV. Staff was amazing and helpful. Bar tender was very nice. The Notre Dame stuff around the entire hotel was amazing! Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dweb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Hello Awesome,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts with us and other travels. Your opion of your expierence is very important us. We will keep up the good job!

Thank you for your loyalty to Varsity Clubs of America & Diamond Resorts International.

Sincerely,
Anne Lederer
anne.lederer@diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The indoor pool is heated, very large with a large deck and is scheduled for a remodel in February 2010.

Varsity Club was purchased by Diamond Resorts Intl in September 2010. They are in the process of remaking the facility.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. There's a great members lounge with a pool table, a card table, awesome couches and a tv just off the lobby that we were able to use for a family get together.

We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theAmishWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Great Rate,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments with other travelers about the Varsity Cubs. We strive to make all of our comfortable with simplicity.

You are correct about Diamond Resorts wanting to make all of their (over 200 properties world wide) properties a wonderful place to stay! The Varsity Clubs is redoing the bottom of the pool this month and will be done by end of February amongst other 2012 projects.

Thank you for your loyalty to Varsity Clubs and Diamond Resorts International.

Sincerely,
Anne Lederer
anne.lederer@diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011. Simply a lovely place. We had a suite (with a deck) that was bigger than some apartments I have lived in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally_in_Cincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Great Hotel, Great Value,

I couldn't agree more with your comments.

Varsity Clubs is an 86 all suite hotel. I have never seen a hotel where each room had it's own character and did not look like an average hotel square room, but as you stated like an apartment.

Thank you for your loyalty to Varsity Clubs and Diamond Resorts International.

Sincerely,
Anne Lederer
anne.lederer@diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Mishawaka South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: $92 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing