We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The sound of silence”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Vio, Province of Huesca, Aragon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Iwanttoge...
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The sound of silence”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Out of the city and into complete full screen nature. The retreat united everything I love: pure nature, silence, yoga, meditation, hiking and a wonderful self conscience international company (a nice surprise, I expected more Spanish).

PROs:
- Living the yogi way in a relaxed way. Nothing is a must. Well, maybe the karma yoga, but that's normal, as this influences others.
- Good accommodation. Details have been very well considered.
- The entire retreat was very deliberate: a balance between rest and a built up to the main two days trek (not everyone went).
- The owners & facilitators Dani, Katya & their staff, share their passion, so this makes it overall very genuine
- Affordable for a wide public.
- No masses. Dani said he would like to keep it small scale.
- Good veggie/vegan food, wide variation. Even the crackers during the two days trek in combination with the egg and the wonderful goat cheese, were tasty.

CONs:
- From Barcelona getting there completely independently is not possible. You'll need to ask Casa Cuadrau's help (they organize transport from Barbastro) or one of your fellow retreat'ers who has a car. Pick-up points can be: Aisna, Barbastro, Huesca or Zaragoza.
- For me personally I hoped for more in-depth yoga. It seems that this is offered more on their other retreats
- Coming from my fellow dorm mates (I had not troubles at all -on the contrary- Most of them did not sleep very well/very little/not at all..... Could be their monkey mind, but I guess a snoring fellow dorm mate does not help either....earplugs do :-) Hopefully for the non-sleepers available at their boutique soon :-))

Overall I had a great week with highlight to stand top of a mountain, 1200 meters/3840 feet up in one day. Our hiking group - 7 plus 2 staff - was supportive and good company. We had lots of laughs and talks.

A very recommendable experience!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrponsfor...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Danny and Katya have created a truly wonderful experience in the stunning mountains of the Pyrenees. They, and their yogi helpers, are friendly, kind, full of happy energy and thoughtful as they guide you through yoga, hikes and meditation with the perfect balance of information and enjoyment. I enjoyed my stay immensely, feel refreshed and with new knowledge and smiles. Plus, the fresh food from their garden and those of the neighbors is so so good. A perfect week

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattiburt...
Anchorage, AK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magnificent feast in a magical valley!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't stay at Casa Caudrau (we rented a villa in the village of VIO) but enjoyed dinner at the Casa Cuadrau restaurant. Every course was over the top magnificent. And the setting... Highly recommended!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaz C
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Casa Cuadrau, Out of the Box and into the Great Unknown”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How to possibly share the magic that is Casa Cuadrau?!

Though its name suggests a square house, it is far from the boxes we associate with modern living. Owner Daniel Benito Po traded in a box of an apartment in Zaragoza, for a dream to create a center for yoga, nature and art. It took 5 years and a lot of love from friends and volunteers to raise the ruins of Casa Cuadrau into the retreat house that it is today.

The four walls that make up Casa Cuadrau serve as a container for the loving intentions of Danny and his wife Kalyani, for the massive potential of transformation that comes with personal exploration, for the expansiveness of the valley of Vio and of the epic landscape of Ordesa y Monte Perdido National Park.

In August 2012, I was blessed to attend a couple of one-week retreats by guest teacher James Boag as well as be able to teach some yoga classes and facilitate inner dance at Casa Cuadrau. Bolstered by its peaceful surrounds and by the loving attention of the owners and the karma yogis, which run it with so much love, it is conducive to deep meditation, contemplation and creativity.

Its breath-taking vistas lend much to the inner journey, which is vast, infinite. Casa Cuadrau knows how to support this journey beautifully, with thoughtful programs, deliciously nourishing meals (the kind that just has you savoring each bite), amazing day treks, comfortable accommodations, topped with heart-warming courtesy and attention that makes the whose experience just precious. I cannot recommend it enough!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magui J
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Visit was for: Placer
Traveling group: En solitario
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jm-Castro...
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En solitario
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria M
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En pareja
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing