We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, wonderful hot tub, excellent food, peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed there for our Anniv. and it was very peaceful and quiet. We had the honeymoon suite in the main house. This was our first experience in a B&B and I'm glad we chose this place. Our only complaint is that there is a strong animal urine? smell when you first walk into the house on the main floor. Since our room was downstairs it wasn't so bad but I'm glad we brought candles and would bring them again in the future. The only reason I write about this, is that we were dumbfounded that with so many reviews no one else had mentioned it. The hosts are very religious which is ok but sometimes it felt uneasy esp. at breakfast. There is also no bathroom door just a shower curtain so not alot of privacy when you use the bathroom. We were surprised though how comfy the beds were and the breakfast was AWESOME

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbleslenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

We have enjoyed our stays at That Pretty Place. Debi is always so sweet and accommodating, she feels like family. Her Stuffed French Toast is amazing for breakfast. If you are looking for things to do- she has plenty of helpful ideas. The room is spotless, and very quiet. The grounds are very peaceful and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and fresh, smelled like it was dried out on the line. They are located next to Essenhaus-and not far from Shipshewana. Shopping and Food is all around you, yet you are back in the woods away from traffic. The thing that I did not like was that we had to go back to "reality"- work, home, and kids. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-YOUNG-Family-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Nice location
excellent service
Clean, Clean Clean!!!!
quiet, restful beautiful
HOt tub in room, enough said on that !
very very friendly

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyMEdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Wonderful visit~hosts were friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Room was pleasant (could have used a door on the bathroom though LOL) and the bed was comfortable and we slept well. Everything was thought of: movies in the drawer, fireplace and tea/coffee/pop/water right outside our door and the tub was superb. We had our privacy and yet the hosts made great conversation at breakfast time (by the way the food was excellent and served to us, felt like kings and queens!)
Excellent Visit!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

After a series of bad experiences in B&Bs I had vowed never to stay in one again. Our visit to "That Pretty Place B&B" has completely reversed my attitude. My wife and I have stayed here twice in the past three months and without a doubt will return again when in Northern Indiana. The hostess delivers a marvelous breakfast, and she is a joy to visit with. The accommodations are clean and very adequate. Located in a very pretty setting in the woods, overlooking a small lake. Just far enough off the main road to be quiet, but not so far that you can't occasionally hear the Amish Carriage horses clip clopping in the distance. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwest55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Debi & Dave are the friendliest people you would ever want to meet.
We loved there Christian values and the stories we shared.
They helped us with finding things in the area to do and experience.
The room was clean and accommodating.
And the breakfast was unbelievable!
Thanks Debi and Dave!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveandchris318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I was given a great blessing!
My staff got together and wanted to something special for my 50th birthday. They knew that I had been putting in a lot of hours over the last several months and that I needed a break. They puchased an overnight stay at That Pretty Place Bed and Breakfast and dinner at a nearby restaurant for dinner.
It was a wonderful experience of hospitality from the moment we arrived..
Dave and Debi are the best. We were greeted by name and treated with kindness and care. Explanations, collecting fees and information were shared quickly and clearly. The room was very well kept and clean and yes it came with a jacuzzi! Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We were served a carmal apple upside down french toast with bacoon, eggs, and a fruit cup.
Because the bed and breakfast is in Middlebury there are many opportunities for fun and activity near by (Did I mention shopping?).
We plan to go back only next time were staying longer!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twyla797210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.7 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
7.1 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn - Shipshewana
Farmstead Inn - Shipshewana
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
940 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast

Address: 212 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peaceful lodging in the seclusion of our quiet, country setting. Enjoy our spacious 37-acre grounds, with walking trails through the woods and meadow along the old Pumpkin Vine Nature bike trail, and through the woods. Ourpond is stocked and ready for your fishing pole.Our Bed & Breakfast is perfectly sized for small group events and intimate romantic getaways! We cater to couples on a romantic getaway as well as to corporate retreats, spiritual retreats, church retreats, and golf retreat groups. Our large meeting room is perfect for scrap-booking, reunions, and meetings.We have 9 rooms - 6 of which are honeymoon suites with heart-shaped whirlpool tubs for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing