We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a peaceful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
“Such a peaceful place!”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I spent out 18th wedding anniversary at That Pretty Place.
It was amazing! The cabin was simple, clean, well decorated, comfy and very peaceful. Our bed was so comfortable and the sheets incredibly soft! The hottub for 2 was really nice with some cool features such as wave pulse for the water and heated backrests.
The grounds were amazing. Wonderful walking paths, a beautiful pond. It's set off the road and back in the woods so don't be deterred by it being off a main road. We even got to sit at breakfast, look over the pond and watch a beautiful blue Heron.
The food was out of this world! My only regret was that it wasn't a bed & breakfast - and lunch - and dinner!! The hostesses were friendly and easy to talk with.
We will return to That Pretty Place again. I can't wait! Our weekend was just what we needed - time away, time to soak in 18 wonderful years of marriage in a peaceful place with beautiful surroundings. I HIGHLY recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morenomtej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2010

To say that we were satisfied with our experience would be a gross understatement. Dave and Debi were gracious hosts, and accomodated our late arrival without a hitch. Even being late for breakfast was no problem. We were able to spend some time visiting and sharing with both of them at breakfast as well - a treat for sure. I would absolutely recommend That Pretty Place to anyone who might ask - and likely some people who didn't even ask.......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw_totalpkg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The perfect place to relax and get away. We loved the quiet country setting. It was very peacfull. The breakfasts were the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just a quick getaway with my spouse, enjoyed relaxing together and enjoying the beautiful spring weather. Nice walking trails and lovely pond. Breakfast was tasty! We definitely recommend to others and hope to return.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank warriorpoet633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

When I first arrived at That Pretty Place, I was a bit nervous, because it's off a fairly busy road. But the house and cabin are set back far enough away from the road that once you're in the woods, you don't notice it.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which was in the basement. It didn't feel like the basement because it had big windows overlooking the pond. A beautiful view!

Dave & Debi are gracious hosts, warm & welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious, and served to us at the tables on china. I felt so special.

I would highly recommend a stay at That Pretty Place. It's a great place for a crafting weekend with girlfriends, a family reunion or a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellejsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, IN
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This place is a very beautifully hidden treasure about a quarter mile of the road. We went only expecting to stay one night, but found out at breakfast in the morning that they had a buy one night get one night free special Sundays through Wednesdays. That was an awesome treat. The Jaccuzi tub was very comfortable and relaxing. We also opted for the massage. My wife really enjoyed that :-) I've already recommended That Pretty Place to several people, and recommend it to you as well. The room we stayed in wasn't to amish/country style with all the quilts and stuff; it was actually more modern. The building itself is only three years old.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronorr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw, in
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We were welcomed warmly by Dave and showed our room and everything explained well. A hot breakfast served every morning with great conversation with the other guests. Debie was helpful with directions to local attractions. Overall a great stay, the room was nice and the wirlpool was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlnesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.7 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
6.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
810 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
17.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
207 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast

Property: That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Address: 212 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peaceful lodging in the seclusion of our quiet, country setting. Enjoy our spacious 37-acre grounds, with walking trails through the woods and meadow along the old Pumpkin Vine Nature bike trail, and through the woods. Ourpond is stocked and ready for your fishing pole.Our Bed & Breakfast is perfectly sized for small group events and intimate romantic getaways! We cater to couples on a romantic getaway as well as to corporate retreats, spiritual retreats, church retreats, and golf retreat groups. Our large meeting room is perfect for scrap-booking, reunions, and meetings.We have 9 rooms - 6 of which are honeymoon suites with heart-shaped whirlpool tubs for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing