We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacful wooded grounds in a quiet setting gave us a great getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Auburn, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacful wooded grounds in a quiet setting gave us a great getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Delightful managers, beautiful peaceful wooded grounds with walking trails, delicious full breakfast, two person whirlpool tub made this a wonderful getaway experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windmereparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Three sisters and a mother stayed at THAT PRETTY PLACE. We traveled from Michigan and Central Indiana to spend time in Middlebury, Indiana. Even before we arrived, through correspondence from Debi (Debi and Dave are the Innkeepers) we knew this trip would be special. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, our beds very comfortable, the atmosphere was so relaxing and the breakfast in the morning was amazing - so delicious! This B & B is very quiet, nestled deep in the woods. It's truly a place to unwind and relax. Thanks, Dave and Debi. We have already made reservations to return next year.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JanieIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

My best friend and I needed a girls get-a-away and wanted to go to the flea market in Shipshewana and after looking at several choices picked That Pretty Place Bed and Breakfast and what a great choice. The place was beautiful and peaceful and close to everything but yet secluded and private. Everyone was nice and helpful.The room was large and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We will be back! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveandlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We traveled over 2.5 hours & upon arrival my hubby asked to use the restroom. Debi stated, "We don't have pubic restrooms." Our room wasn't available yet, but be real - we were paying guests, not just someone off the street. & she reflects as a Christian~but didn't have a restroom to accomadate an out of town guest. Yes, the grounds are beautiful! Dave was pleasant to talk with. Breakfast was good, not outstanding! Debi had her favorites to communicate with. This is one place that we won't be making reservations at again! Room was stuffy! If you sat in the great room you could hear people walking around upstairs. Awoke to Debi slamming cupboard doors in the kitchen. Not what we could call a "peaceful relaxing experience".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

First day, staying in room inside house. Felt like being at home with family. Didn't have a DVD player, they found one and hooked it up. Sausage for breakfast, my spouse loves bacon. Told Debi and the next day for breakfast we had bacon, as much as she wanted. Moved to the Cabin the next day.. Quite and relaxing, had our own kitchen downstairs. Talking at breakfast with other guests both days. Had a in room massage for the 2 of us, and other B & B's offer that, but this was very affordable..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piranha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

A friend had previously stayed here & booked a trip for our group of 8 ladies. We scrapbooked in the spacious lower level & shopped in Shipshewana. Deb & Dave are excellent hosts. She had us wondering what our next breakfast was going to entail all day long. It was that good. I took the virtual tour before we arrived. When we arrived It was much more than I expected. I was pleased with every aspect of my stay.. the grounds, food, bed, hospitality, cleanliness, and even the decor. I'm glad we opted to book the entire building for the weekend. I didn't want to go home!
I would love to see this place in the winter. It's got to be amazing. The homemade cinnamon rolls & quiche were to die for. Dave continue to thank God for the best job in Indiana! I truly felt like you both welcomed us into your home. I'll see you next year!!!!!!!
Tina in Bolingbrook

  • Liked — The atmosphere was very peaceful.
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mamabr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

First the good points: My wife and I had a very nice, clean room in the main building. The managers were very nice, and the grounds really live up to the name. There were trails, a large pond, and they even had a bonfire while we were there. The food at breakfast was excellent.

Now the bad: When we got to breakfast with the 4 or 5 other couples staying at the B&B, the manager said that the food would be served after a prayer. The blessing was long and rambling, and VERY demoninational. Since it was right before the 4th of July, the blessing specifically thanked God for granting us freedom that allowed us all to choose Christ. Since my wife and I are Jewish, and have exercised our freedom to not choose Christ, we felt EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Obviously, this is not the feeling we wished to have while enjoying our rare time alone as a couple.

Unfortunately, this moment of discomfort was enough to discourage us from returning to . If the establishment wants to cater only to Christians, that is certainly their right. They should, however, make it clear in their advertising and on their web site. I respect their beliefs, but they should be aware that not everybody shares those beliefs.

  • Liked — The grounds.
  • Disliked — The very demoninational prayer at breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uilaw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
17.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast

Property: That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Address: 212 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peaceful lodging in the seclusion of our quiet, country setting. Enjoy our spacious 37-acre grounds, with walking trails through the woods and meadow along the old Pumpkin Vine Nature bike trail, and through the woods. Ourpond is stocked and ready for your fishing pole.Our Bed & Breakfast is perfectly sized for small group events and intimate romantic getaways! We cater to couples on a romantic getaway as well as to corporate retreats, spiritual retreats, church retreats, and golf retreat groups. Our large meeting room is perfect for scrap-booking, reunions, and meetings.We have 9 rooms - 6 of which are honeymoon suites with heart-shaped whirlpool tubs for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing