We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Dutchman Essenhaus

Das Dutchman Essenhaus
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had not eaten here in years so we stopped in for dinner and it is as good as it used to be. We had the buffet and they have a nice selection of food. I tried the steak and it was so tender that I could cut it with my fork. We had a 20 minute wait but it was worth the wait. The service was excellent also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank granof03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    252
    113
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Amish cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ate at the Das Dutchman Essenhaus on July 4th. We were staying at the Essenhaus Inn, and were glad that the front desk can call in a reservation. We were seated immediately and opted for the buffet, instead of the family style serving. The food was delicious, though my husband said he was disappointed, only in the fact that he didn't have room for more of it! Love their noodles and their dressing. Nice selection on the salad bar as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLM47374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious ,the fried chicken was awesome crispy outside and very moist. The mashed potatoes really good, we had a great time. The gift shop has a lot of baked goods and also sells jams and apple butter yummmm. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank 8634w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakarusa, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amish cooking at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The family style, the buffet or the regular menu are all good choices. The pies are wonderful. Stop by the bakery to pick up a treat to take home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteland, IN
Level Contributor
218 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent food and a wonderful selection. I love their baked steak but the broasted chicken is excellent too. We ate there twice on our last trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank missqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Dutchman Essenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Das Dutchman Essenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing